We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Rooms Apparently are Being Renovated”
Review of La Dolce Vita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Dolce Vita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2017

The top floor ocean view is by far the best room to book. This is much more private and has a small deck with an ocean view. It is in need of a renovation. It is very tired... stove-top that does not work, an old, dirty futon type couch, rusty stove top fan, very small bathroom. Watch out for a shower of iguana dung when in the parking area. Yes, a simple breakfast served with a smile.

Room Tip: I would recommend top floor ocean view room... hopefully it is slated for a renovation soon!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CowichanConnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladolcevita10, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Dolce Vita, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dearest guest, thank you for reviewing La Dolce Vita.
We really took care about any suggestion of our guest, as you lead us to improve day by day. In fact we just renewed the top floor and ocean view room!!
Now we can offer a new and large bathroom with a modern shower, refreshed also the futon and the kitchen fornitures with a new stove-top works really good!
On the other hand we can not do anything to the iguana, and all Costa Rica is proud to have free iguanas and parrots in our gardens, so we love them and we keep everything with the same smile we serving the breakfast! Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2017

We came here for 9 nights with our two small children. The room was great for what we needed. Breakfast was always filling and yummy!!!! Steps from the ocean which never had more than 50 people in eye view! The kids could find tons of amazing beautiful shells too. A few good restaurants we could walk to so you can stay here without a car. So many beautiful birds to see and the pool was great. Very quiet if that is what you are looking for, close to jaco. Coming back for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vanessa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We spent 3 nights here and loved it. The customer service was amazing, the room was very clean and everything worked as it was meant to, which is not always the case in Costa Rica. It is right on the beach and listening to the surf at night was wonderful. We will come again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladolcevita10, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Dolce Vita, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Kristy,
thank you very much for your great feedback.
It is a real pleasure when our guest felt the hard job we applied everyday, starting from the communication, up to the services on the place.
We are glad if you desire to come at Esterillos Oeste again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

The location was fantastic, a stones throw from the beach. Pool area was nice, with the option to take loungers and chairs onto the beach if you wanted. The apartment had everything we needed, 2 balconies, a kitchen area, living room, TV, air conditioning and a good shower. Breakfast was good, something different every day and delivered to our balcony at a time of our choosing between 7-9am. Staff were always around to ask for anything if needed. The wildlife that could be viewed from the balconies was great, all very peaceful. All in all I would highly recommend this accommodation for a stay in Costa Rica.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Blimey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Dear guest, thank you very much for spending your time to review back La Dolce Vita.
We are glad you had such a lovely stay, and furthermore we are glad you appreciated the amazing nature surrounding the hotel and Esterillos Oeste. I hope to have you again here for your next journey in Costa rica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Our family spent three days in this tiny and special hotel. We had a warm welcome and have been given an apartment that was freshly renovated with a brand new bath room. Our apartment had climatisation, TV, kitchen with a huge fridge, WiFi and hot water shower. Breakfast was good and well presented by the couple serving us in the morning.
Our kids enjoyed the swimming pool in front of the ocean and we made nice walks on a lovely beach. We saw many kind of birds, monkeys, iguanas.
In the village there are three restaurants/bars, we tried a couple of them and the food was fine (Recife and Los Almendros). Generally speaking we had a nice stay and we recommend this beach.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank jcprost11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladolcevita10, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Dolce Vita, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear guest,
thank you very much for sharing your opinion about La Dolce Vita with a such complete review. We are glad you felt the experience of a pure Costa Rican stay, fully immersed in the nature, with her animals and plants that only Costa rica can offer.
We hope you are bringing with you a nice memory of Esterillos Oeste!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esterillos Oeste
7.5 km away
Hotel Playa Bejuco
Hotel Playa Bejuco
#3 of 5 in Esterillos Este
244 reviews
8.1 km away
Hotel Delfin Playa Bejuco
Hotel Delfin Playa Bejuco
#1 of 1 in Playa Bejuco
153 reviews
10.6 km away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#18 of 40 in Jaco
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Encantada Ocean Cottages
Encantada Ocean Cottages
#1 of 5 in Esterillos Este
359 reviews
12.2 km away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
101 reviews
12.9 km away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita

Address: Esterillos Oeste, beach, 50 meters from Bus Stop, Esterillos Oeste 60901, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Oeste
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esterillos Oeste
Price Range: S$73 - S$126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Dolce Vita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "La Dolce Vita" is located on the beach in Esterillos Oeste, Jaco, facing the shore of the Pacific Ocean. The Hotel, with its seven apartments facing a wonderful garden, is a new, first class construction building offering all comforts. Each apartment has patio/deck, terrazzo-balcony and is smartly furnished, bathroom with hot water, air conditioning, fan, kitchen, fridge with up to 4 beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your La Dolce Vita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dolce Vita Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing