We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
73
35
13
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
35
13
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small bathroom comfortable apartment parking area small deck right next door ocean view patio jaco waves beach gate steps refrigerator tons cloudy couch sunrise
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2017

This is the worst hotel that we have ever seen. The pool was the size of a postage stamp. The rooms were dirty. The person that talked to us was the most miserable person Ive met. Not friendly at all. The whole hotel is a scam.DONT go there.......They also want you to cancel your room 3 days before getting there or no money back. Meaning they know you wont like the hotel.. Its also in the middle of nowhere with almost nothing to do.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Glen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladolcevita10, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear Sir,
We cannot call you “guest”, since you did not stay at the hotel and not at all a “friend”, since you insulted, with no reason, our employees and our hotel. We are sorry to receive, after three years, a very negative review (but perhaps It means we are doing well our work). We are sorry, because you wrote a review (and were allowed to publish it), without even visiting our hotel. This is demonstrated by the fact that you published only pictures of the surroundings of the hotel and not of the interiors, garden, pool, etc.. Furthermore, when invited to visit the rooms, you refused and went away, since you “did not like the town”. Why, in your review, use words such as “Scum”, for a place that you did not visit or “miserable”, referred to our employees, that are appreciated very much by our guests? This is natural location: no concrete, a lot of green, wild life, genuine Costa Rica and not artificial surroundings.
About our cancellation policy, 3 days before the check in, it is a standard policy: worldwide hotels have a similar cancellation policy, especially in high season or during the weekend; and overall when you count with only a few rooms. The "middle of nowhere" as you call Esterillos is rated with ones of the highest rates!
To end our answer we just want to specify we are well judged by Trip Advisor since more than 10 years and Lonely Planet (world n.1 travel guides) recommend us as first choice of Esterillos with this description: “The intimate La Dolce Vita hotel is just a few meters from the beach. The pool is small but here you will fall asleep from the waves and in the morning you will be served breakfast in your private terrace at the desired time. On the almond of the hotel lay the scarlet Macaws.” PURA VIDA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

The top floor ocean view is by far the best room to book. This is much more private and has a small deck with an ocean view. It is in need of a renovation. It is very tired... stove-top that does not work, an old, dirty futon type couch, rusty stove top fan, very small bathroom. Watch out for a shower of iguana dung when in the parking area. Yes, a simple breakfast served with a smile.

Room Tip: I would recommend top floor ocean view room... hopefully it is slated for a renovation soon!!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CowichanConnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladolcevita10, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Dolce Vita, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dearest guest, thank you for reviewing La Dolce Vita.
We really took care about any suggestion of our guest, as you lead us to improve day by day. In fact we just renewed the top floor and ocean view room!!
Now we can offer a new and large bathroom with a modern shower, refreshed also the futon and the kitchen fornitures with a new stove-top works really good!
On the other hand we can not do anything to the iguana, and all Costa Rica is proud to have free iguanas and parrots in our gardens, so we love them and we keep everything with the same smile we serving the breakfast! Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

We came here for 9 nights with our two small children. The room was great for what we needed. Breakfast was always filling and yummy!!!! Steps from the ocean which never had more than 50 people in eye view! The kids could find tons of amazing beautiful shells too. A few good restaurants we could walk to so you can stay here without a car. So many beautiful birds to see and the pool was great. Very quiet if that is what you are looking for, close to jaco. Coming back for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vanessa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We spent 3 nights here and loved it. The customer service was amazing, the room was very clean and everything worked as it was meant to, which is not always the case in Costa Rica. It is right on the beach and listening to the surf at night was wonderful. We will come again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladolcevita10, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Dolce Vita, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Kristy,
thank you very much for your great feedback.
It is a real pleasure when our guest felt the hard job we applied everyday, starting from the communication, up to the services on the place.
We are glad if you desire to come at Esterillos Oeste again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

The location was fantastic, a stones throw from the beach. Pool area was nice, with the option to take loungers and chairs onto the beach if you wanted. The apartment had everything we needed, 2 balconies, a kitchen area, living room, TV, air conditioning and a good shower. Breakfast was good, something different every day and delivered to our balcony at a time of our choosing between 7-9am. Staff were always around to ask for anything if needed. The wildlife that could be viewed from the balconies was great, all very peaceful. All in all I would highly recommend this accommodation for a stay in Costa Rica.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Blimey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Dear guest, thank you very much for spending your time to review back La Dolce Vita.
We are glad you had such a lovely stay, and furthermore we are glad you appreciated the amazing nature surrounding the hotel and Esterillos Oeste. I hope to have you again here for your next journey in Costa rica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews