We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of La Dolce Vita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Dolce Vita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2017

The place was quaint, clean, amazing bathroom with rain forest shower and tons of jets. Right on the beach with a pool and continental breakfast included. Small, well equipped kitchen with a full refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. I stayed in #1, the only one with an ocean view, upstairs over looking the pool, with a patio. Could have stayed there forever. The staff was warm and friendly, delivered the breakfast right to your room. There is one small but well stocked pulperia (store) about a block away. right next door is an amazing restaurant. I ate there for lunch one day and then went back the next night for dinner. Can not remember the name. Had the breakfast tacos, it was 12 noon and a mimosa. Waitress spoke English and was very kind. It was Fathers Day week-end so the other three restaurants were closed. The second night I had the Pargo filet with mashed potatoes and mixed veggies and an Imperial for 5000 c, less than $10. Really good, cooked perfectly. Hard to see the sunrise as it was behind a mountain and too cloudy to see the sunsets, though I heard they are amazing. Don't miss the Mermaid!!! Walk out the gate, turn to your right. It's a short walk but a long trek on slippery rocks to get to her. Skirt the water for as far as you can and then do the rocks. Take tennis shoes and be careful. Definitely worth it, for sure. The waves are trecherious, and powerful so please be careful. Not suitable for small children. I would not venture out past your waist unless you are an excellent swimmer, and be careful of the riptides. Gloriously Beautiful.....

Room Tip: #1 upstairs has ocean and pool view and a patio, or #6 has great bathroom and renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jewellsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladolcevita10, Public Relations Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear friend,
glad to receive such kind, complete, and detalled reviews from a very expert reviewer.
This made us proud of our work, and lead us to improve more.
We are happy you appreciated the renews at our bathrooms that now provides an added value to our Ocean and Superior rooms.
Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2017

This is the worst hotel that we have ever seen. The pool was the size of a postage stamp. The rooms were dirty. The person that talked to us was the most miserable person Ive met. Not friendly at all. The whole hotel is a scam.DONT go there.......They also want you to cancel your room 3 days before getting there or no money back. Meaning they know you wont like the hotel.. Its also in the middle of nowhere with almost nothing to do.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Glen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladolcevita10, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear Sir,
We cannot call you “guest”, since you did not stay at the hotel and not at all a “friend”, since you insulted, with no reason, our employees and our hotel. We are sorry to receive, after three years, a very negative review (but perhaps It means we are doing well our work). We are sorry, because you wrote a review (and were allowed to publish it), without even visiting our hotel. This is demonstrated by the fact that you published only pictures of the surroundings of the hotel and not of the interiors, garden, pool, etc.. Furthermore, when invited to visit the rooms, you refused and went away, since you “did not like the town”. Why, in your review, use words such as “Scum”, for a place that you did not visit or “miserable”, referred to our employees, that are appreciated very much by our guests? This is natural location: no concrete, a lot of green, wild life, genuine Costa Rica and not artificial surroundings.
About our cancellation policy, 3 days before the check in, it is a standard policy: worldwide hotels have a similar cancellation policy, especially in high season or during the weekend; and overall when you count with only a few rooms. The "middle of nowhere" as you call Esterillos is rated with ones of the highest rates!
To end our answer we just want to specify we are well judged by Trip Advisor since more than 10 years and Lonely Planet (world n.1 travel guides) recommend us as first choice of Esterillos with this description: “The intimate La Dolce Vita hotel is just a few meters from the beach. The pool is small but here you will fall asleep from the waves and in the morning you will be served breakfast in your private terrace at the desired time. On the almond of the hotel lay the scarlet Macaws.” PURA VIDA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

The top floor ocean view is by far the best room to book. This is much more private and has a small deck with an ocean view. It is in need of a renovation. It is very tired... stove-top that does not work, an old, dirty futon type couch, rusty stove top fan, very small bathroom. Watch out for a shower of iguana dung when in the parking area. Yes, a simple breakfast served with a smile.

Room Tip: I would recommend top floor ocean view room... hopefully it is slated for a renovation soon!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CowichanConnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladolcevita10, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Dolce Vita, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dearest guest, thank you for reviewing La Dolce Vita.
We really took care about any suggestion of our guest, as you lead us to improve day by day. In fact we just renewed the top floor and ocean view room!!
Now we can offer a new and large bathroom with a modern shower, refreshed also the futon and the kitchen fornitures with a new stove-top works really good!
On the other hand we can not do anything to the iguana, and all Costa Rica is proud to have free iguanas and parrots in our gardens, so we love them and we keep everything with the same smile we serving the breakfast! Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

We came here for 9 nights with our two small children. The room was great for what we needed. Breakfast was always filling and yummy!!!! Steps from the ocean which never had more than 50 people in eye view! The kids could find tons of amazing beautiful shells too. A few good restaurants we could walk to so you can stay here without a car. So many beautiful birds to see and the pool was great. Very quiet if that is what you are looking for, close to jaco. Coming back for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vanessa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We spent 3 nights here and loved it. The customer service was amazing, the room was very clean and everything worked as it was meant to, which is not always the case in Costa Rica. It is right on the beach and listening to the surf at night was wonderful. We will come again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladolcevita10, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Dolce Vita, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Kristy,
thank you very much for your great feedback.
It is a real pleasure when our guest felt the hard job we applied everyday, starting from the communication, up to the services on the place.
We are glad if you desire to come at Esterillos Oeste again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esterillos Oeste
7.5 km away
Hotel Playa Bejuco
Hotel Playa Bejuco
#3 of 5 in Esterillos Este
244 reviews
8.1 km away
Hotel Delfin Playa Bejuco
Hotel Delfin Playa Bejuco
#1 of 1 in Playa Bejuco
153 reviews
10.6 km away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#18 of 40 in Jaco
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Encantada Ocean Cottages
Encantada Ocean Cottages
#1 of 5 in Esterillos Este
359 reviews
21.2 km away
Beso del Viento
Beso del Viento
#1 of 4 in Parrita
282 reviews
22.9 km away
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palo Seco
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita

Address: Esterillos Oeste, beach, 50 meters from Bus Stop, Esterillos Oeste 60901, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Oeste
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esterillos Oeste
Price Range: $73 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Dolce Vita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "La Dolce Vita" is located on the beach in Esterillos Oeste, Jaco, facing the shore of the Pacific Ocean. The Hotel, with its seven apartments facing a wonderful garden, is a new, first class construction building offering all comforts. Each apartment has patio/deck, terrazzo-balcony and is smartly furnished, bathroom with hot water, air conditioning, fan, kitchen, fridge with up to 4 beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your La Dolce Vita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dolce Vita Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing