We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Armida(Guaymas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Malibu(Guaymas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Impala(Guaymas)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Guaymas Inn(Guaymas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel Del Sol(Guaymas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Santa Rita(Guaymas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
21
41
27
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
41
27
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachlong drivesecond weekgroundshaciendapierbaytype
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2015

The Playa de Cortez hotel is a decent hotel but sadly not up to past standards of 20 years ago. We had a nice sea view suite but the furniture needs updating. Also the restaurant food was very mediocre. We did love the wood carvings of conquistadors in the bar and dining room.

Stayed: November 2015
1  Thank hawkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

The rooms were neat and clean. Could use coffee maker, fridge and a sealant around the door frame. It's a beautiful place...will return. The waiters at the restraunt...we're a little slow with the service. The breakfast buffet was awesome.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Went to Hermosillo to get a reservation for Hotel Cortes due to lack of phone service caused by heavy rains the week of August 9, 2015. Hotel Guarda is the parent, and they were very good at getting us a reservation.

The hotel is located on the Sea of Cortez, in Guaymas, Mexico. Good location.

The room was large, excellent beds, good shower. We did not use the pool. But had reason to ask for ice and we were charged 20 pesos for a bag. Seem a little high.

Ate at their restaurant. Good food again a little expensive.

Check in was good as the parent had called, got a bit of discount which was expedited.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank RLS2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

This hotel is 75 years old, with personality. Colonial style, beautiful wood work. Very comfortable rooms, good and very friendly staff. We had a little problem with our AC, they came and we change our room, this was fast and painless :))
Beautiful sightseeing, nice pool, the beaches are great for children. The restaurant and bar are really good, delicious food and great service. We really had a great time.

Room Tip: If you can, rent a bungalow facing the beach, the sunsets are incredible!!!
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank movingtoaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2015

Rooms are clean and air conditioning works well! Pool is wonderful to swim in. Everyone was friendly and helpful! I have known the Playa de Cortes for 50 + years. We used to stay at the Miramar next door but go to the bar at the Playa because it was so lovely. The food is okay, really enjoyed the Veracruzano Veracuzan a fish filet with Veracruz sauce. Very well done!Raul and Gabriel are thoughtful and friendly! You may want to take your own soft sheets as theirs are rough, but the ambiance is great! Older hotel being taken care of. Hand carved bar and four large hand carved wood depictions of the conquistadores. Been there for over 50 years! Amazing! Such a joy to go back and relive my childhood of my father and Auntie Bobbie, who are both gone now, and bring home pictures to share with my mother.

Room Tip: Small beach area, but great dock to sit on and watch the ocean. Also great pool! We had a first floor room at end of pool. It was a great location.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Dimarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews