We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Those Whales!”
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed in a friend’s timeshare (at the old Solmar) for 2 weeks in February 2012. A big advantage to the Solmar is its location within walking distance of the marina, downtown and many good restaurants. The big advantages to our room were the ocean view, and the kitchenette that allowed us to prepare a number of meals for ourselves. We spent lots of time on our balcony watching the constant whale activity nearshore and several miles out to sea (plus we saw a sea lion or two, a sea turtle, many small rays, and even saw dolphins on one occasion,). The restaurants, the drinks, lounging by the 2 pool's, walking the beach, dropping into the Playa Grande, the Finisterra etc, our side trip to San Jose - were all great from our perspective. All of the staff , including the front desk, the restaurant, the housekeeping staff, and even maintenance staff, were extremely friendly and helpful.
We especially appreciated that Angie was only gently persistent in pushing the time share presentation (we declined). By contrast, our airport arrival and the unavoidable running of the gauntlet of timeshare people was an ordeal and provided a very poor welcome to Cabo. This of course is not the Solmar's fault but at least for a few days does tend to affect how one reacts to anyone you meet that wants to provide you with a service. Having experienced the situation once, and gotten to interact with hotel staff a bit, undoubtedly we would be more relaxed the next time we visit - and we would be more skillful in navigating our way out of the airport..
Construction continues at the nearby Grande Solmar(very luxurious) and although there was some associated noise, it was only moderately distracting to us. The old Solmar is starting to show it’s age a little with a few maintenance issues appearing (eg leaky pipes) but maintenance staff reacted right away to the one problem we noticed.
It was our second time in Mexico in 20 years and our first visit to Los Cabos so we can’t compare our Solmar experience to other facilities. However we would be delighted to return to the Solmar in future.

Room Tip: Higher floors are best for whale watching
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LannLokt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear LannLokt:

On behalf of Solmar Resort, we thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Solmar and your vacations in Cabo.

Indeed our location allow to enjoy the magnificent view of the pacific ocean and its sea life as well as the city life just a few steps away with our loose privacy.

It is nice to hear you feel the warmest of our coworkers, all of us enjoy our job and try to express it to our customers while we serve them.

We will be glad to have the opportunity to serve you again at Solmar.

Cordially

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,270 - 1,274 of 1,765 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

We were very pleased with two of the resort's employees: Ms. Cynthia Escobar and Mr. Javier Garcia. They were charming and of most assistance in helping us with our needs at the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the original 5 story building. Since the resort is in the construction phase, the only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Mr. Roland:

Thank you very much for share your experience at Solmar Resort.

We are glad to know you are pleased with the service our co workers have provided you. I am very sure they love what they do as well as we do and express it through out the sevice.

Please come back soon we will be happy to see you here.

Cordially

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Check-in and out process is just too long, staff were courteous and polite, but the process is just too cumbersome. I noticed that not one Front Desk person I knew from last year was working, so I asked and was told the personnel had all rolled over (no continuity is a very serious problem).
I usually spend between $800 and a $1,000 for food and beverage, at the resort. On my first full day I ordered Chicken Nachos and two Pina Colodas, my total bill was $41.00 after tax and 15% gratuity. Realizing that you were trying to force everyone into All Inclusive, I choose to eat out and drink a minimum while at the resort. After spending $148 before tax and gratuity at Playa Grande for our group for the Superbowl, and the previously discussed $41.00, my total bill at Solmar was $444.00 for my two week stay. If you continue to raise prices I will soon not spend anything at the resort and purchase my food and beverage in town, where most prices are more reasonable.
Finally, I arrive at the construction. At Fiesta Americana they choose to do their construction in the off season, so as not to disturb your guests. You would think that someone would have given some thought to that process at Solmar.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Mr. Larry P;
On behalf of Solmar Resort, we thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
In Solmar we take care of our staff. Possibly you did not see some of them because there have been promotions; our front desk manager now she is assistant manager. One of our bellman now works in the front desk. Our chief Concierge now is taking care of the front desk, etc.
Regarding food and beverage, we try to extend the all-inclusive benefits to our time share customers optionally at very reasonable prices. The prices offered to you by Playa Grande are not their regular prices; those corresponded to a special event they were promoting due to the super bowl. The cover fee included food and beverages unlimited.
We will consider your advice regarding the construction work.

Thanks again for sharing your experience. As a valued guest, your opinions are of great are importance.

If you have any questions or any further comments, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely yours.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

we had the best experience here. the staff was very friendly, vincente, matao,daniel were wonderful. service great rooms good, location is the best for whale watching, strolling on the beach just hanging at the pool. would definatly go back to solmar. awesome value.

Room Tip: ask for lower level near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 49cabogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This is a fine property where you can enjoy the incredible views of the Pacific Ocean from dawn to dusk. Customer service is first rate as are the rooms. I stayed in a studio unit which was very large and had a great balcony where you could sit and have a beverage!! :) As I mentioned in the title the "All Inclusive" is an option and not mandatory. I personally do not desire this option as there are many fine places to eat in downtown Cabo. As well as some "hole in the walls" that are not only fun but delicious... A super venue to have a quiet and enjoyable time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TemeculaCarGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.4 km away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#27 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,135 reviews
0.4 km away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#28 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
455 reviews
1.5 km away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,929 reviews
0.4 km away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,834 reviews
1.1 km away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#30 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $157 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing