We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
Nearby Hotels
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$79
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$440
US$361
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Resort at Pedregal(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$675
US$631
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$626
US$595
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$474
US$462
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$473
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Solmar Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Mar de Cortez(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$46
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Cabo San Lucas(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$58
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$2,566
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,565)
Filter reviews
1,565 results
Traveller rating
1,163
293
67
25
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,163
293
67
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachestrella restaurantfull kitchenwhelkswasher dryerswim up barhome depotrented a carfire pitactivities directortacomexican fiestasmall resortthe penthouseonsite restauranttime shareocean front
Filter
Updating list...
1,220 - 1,225 of 1,565 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed here for three nights with our two kids and had an amazing experience. The resort is laid out so well and it was so nice to have the full kitchen for breakfasts and lunches. The staff here was really nice and everything was so well kept and clean. They have a wonderful game room for the kids and they even have a fooseball, ping-pong and pool table outdoors. One day when my son was playing fooseball by himself one of the staff jumped in and joined him for 10 minutes.The staff knew us by name which is pretty unheard of in a large hotel. All the past reviews are pretty right on. The good stuff totally outweighs the things they need to work on. The food was underwhelming and expensive and it would have been nice to have some kid friendly options but you can always cook in your room. Loved the fire pit and the sauna and the private beach was beautiful. I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We had an awesome room on the end so we had a full view of the pool. Other guests said that it was a little loud in the halls but we were right in front of the elevator and we didn't hear anything. Maybe it was because we have kids but I am a light sleeper and the sound of the ocean is so soothing I didn't even notice. There are two different rooms. B rooms are a little smaller but the layout was still great - even for 4. If we were staying there a little longer I would have gotten an A room. The kitchen and eating area are all larger and it was only $30 more a night. All the rooms have amazing rooms. We stayed in building 3.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtownMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We always checked on Tripadvisor before booking any hotel and truly value the input of other reviewers. We just returned from cabo san lucas with family of four for 8 nights/9 days. We stayed 3 nights in Hilton Los Gabos Beach & Golf Resort, 3 nights in Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar, and 2 nights in Capella Pedregal based on TA’s recommendation and would like to share some of our thoughts.

We paid $311/night for Hilton, $278/night for Welk, $750/night for Capella. Based on our experience with these hotels, we would like to rank them as:
#1: Hilton
#2: Welk
#3: Capella

You can go to each hotel and see our reviews of them. But this is what we thought about Welk Del Mar.

The good:

- very small scale family type of resort. My 3-year old daughter made friends with other children from two other families in no time and she couldn't wait to go to the pool to meet her friends every day
- washer/dryer in the room so you always have freshly washed cloths to wear
- conveniently locates near Walmart, Costo. The resort has powerful commercial gas grill for guest to BBQ every day. We did hambuger the first night, and lobster and shrimp the second night. It was good!
- extremely kids friendly and super friendly and efficient staffs. We asked for extra towel, it took them 5 mins to deliver to our room. Trash was removed from our front door immediately after we left it. Kitchen staff provided us free ketchen up, mustard and foil for our BBQ. They truly tried to make our stay as convenient as possible
-while we are waiting for the valet to bring over our rental car, the bell boy offered us a beer.
- Free wireless internet

The not so good:
- the resort is not sitting in a very nice surrounding neighborhood. It was not easy to find from the highway.
- the resort basically has no beach. It sits on rocky shore and our kids were in the pool everyday
-it's not a luxury type of hotel and the furniture and linen are quite outdated
- the room is quite small and the heater does not work in the bedroom. It could be chilly middle of the night in Feb.
-no maid service daily. You will have to make your own bed
- the kitchen supply is quite limited
-food is so so from the kitchen but the staffs are great

Overall, it s a great family stay. But if you are traveling without kids and thinking of a romantic gateaway, don't want to cook and do laundry during your vacation, this place might not be a good choice for you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Safvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We saw photos of this resort while staying at Welk in Escondido and thought we should give it a try. Our expectations were high but we were not disappointed. This was one of our best vacations ever.

The Welk staff were amazing - exceedingly responsive and hospitable. The grounds were spotlessly clean and tidy.

We had avoided going to Mexico in recent years because of all of the horrible things being reported in the media. But we decided to give this a try because we hadn't heard of any horror stories happening in Los Cabos and this was a 'Welk' resort so we thought they would have a higher standard.

The views from our rooms in building 1 (the older one) were picture perfect. We looked directly out onto the Sea of Cortez and when we looked to the right we saw Los Arcos. We have never had such an incredible view and we never tired of looking at it.

About the rooms - We were in 1403 A & B suites. The "B" side is the smaller side - a small sitting area with an eating area and a small kitchen. There is a 2 burner stove top, a microwave, the smallest dishwasher I've ever seen and a FULL sized fridge. The bathroom has double sinks and a deep tub/shower. Counters are all granite. The bedroom has sliding glass doors that slide back onto themselves leaving 3 panels open to the private deck outside. There are 2 heating/cooling thermostats - 1 in the eating/kitchen area and the other in the BR.

The "A" side is much larger and has a full sized kitchen, eating area, large living area and a beautiful large bedroom with a Jacuzzi tub. The bathroom is large with double sinks and a large shower with showerheads on two sides and a third rain showerhead overhead. Again all countertops are granite. The flooring everywhere is marble which looks wonderful. The drawback of any hard surface flooring is that if you have people above you who aren't considerate you are aware of them "thumping and clacking" across the floor. For the most part this wasn't a problem as most people went to bed at a reasonable time. We had one set of party girls above us for a few days and we phoned down to the desk when it got out of control and they dealt with it. We felt badly complaining but found out the next day that a lot of people had been bothered by the partying. The Golden Rule is always applicable - so unless you're on the ground level, please tread softly and close doors/drawers quietly.

This resort is somewhat remote which we found to be a benefit for the most part. It is far enough out of Cabo that you don't generally get the party scene here.

We decided to NOT rent a vehicle in Mexico as they strongly recommend that you purchase the extra insurance - remember Mexico is under Napoleonic law - guilty until proven innocent. So we took a lot of cabs. It is a long uphill walk up to the Corridor or main highway where you could catch a local bus for next to nothing - I'd say a 20 minute walk if you're quite fit. There is no lighting on the road that leads from the highway to the resort so if you're going to be walking I would recommend that you do so only in the daylight hours. Not that I think you would get mugged but it could be dangerous if you lost your footing or a car didn't see you in time. It costs @ $10 US to get to WalMart, $15 US to get into Cabo San Lucas and @ $28 US to get to San Jose. You have to pay the same or a little more to get back again. Most of the cabs are older vans and they will take 1-4 people for the same price. Very few taxis had seat belts that worked. We spent less on taxis than we would have spent on a car rental and didn't have to worry about how to get places or where to park.

We saw lots of whales out in the Sea of Cortez so if this is of interest to you, bring binoculars. We would often see 30-40 per day and we weren't watching all of the time. We could see this from our own deck and also from the pool decks.

A couple of things that would have made our stay even better - foam pads for those of us who prefer a softer bed and the pools could have been warmer.

The stars are magnificent because it gets so dark there. We would grab some towels and find a dark spot and lay down on the lounges in the evening and watch the stars. Even better is watching the sun rise in the morning. We would get up a little before 7 and watch it rise out of the sea. The sunsets can be nice too but from this resort the sun goes down behind a building. However, there are several restaurants close by that you can get a good view of the sunset. One is the Puerta Vieja - ask for the sunset menu which is $16.95 for a salad, entree and a small dessert. There is live music on Sunday, Wednesday and Friday - excellent. The other is Sunset Point or the Mona Lisa. The Sunset Point has appies and pizza etc. Go when they open (5 or 5:30) to get a great table overlooking Medano Beach and Los Arcos. Not great pizza but the view is worth it. We had a small pizza and 2 soda pops for $22. We didn't eat at the Mona Lisa but it appeared to be very expensive.

Our favourite restaurants were:
1. Villa Serena - you can walk to that if you want - about 10 minutes up the hill. 2 lobster tails for $19.95. There is a view from here but not as good as what you get at Sirena del Mar and no sunset from here. Check out their regular menu as well - we had some good food there. I believe they are open all day.
2. Hacienda cocina y cantina - in Cabo. Fabulous view right out onto Medano Beach and to Los Arcos. We went for lunch - excellent value and worth the money just for the view. Try the desserts.
3. The Tropicana in San Jose - there are 3 seating areas so you'll find one that you like. Make sure to walk to the very back and enjoy the gardens. Apparently there is live music but we didn't know that and missed it.

Always check your bill at restaurants. It was amazing how many times there were errors and NEVER in our favour!

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Sirena del Mar and would recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet vacation in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Avlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I wish Trip Advisor would give half star options so I could rate this 4.5 stars... Also your experience at Sirena Del Mar will vary somewhat depending on how you booked it. We've been twice - once through a special timeshare presentation offer, the other as a normal hotel booking. Unless you want to buy a timeshare, don't use this booking option. Presenters are pretty pushy (as you would expect) and some staff act differently before and after the presentation. Anyway...
PROS
Location is gorgeous. All the rooms in the older building have beautiful ocean views and balconies. You have a good chance of seeing whales right from your room! There's a private beach (not great for swimming, but great for walking/running). Rooms are really nice. Very clean and comfortable. The pools and hot tubs are great. The resort is relatively quiet. Most of the staff go out of their way to give great service. Drinks are good and not overly expensive. Pretty much any service (shuttle, car, activity, etc) can be arranged through the front desk easily. They have valet parking and wifi. The grounds are very pretty and well maintained. There is a rec room for kids. There are lots of group activities if you're into that.

CONS
There is a 2nd hotel now, so the resort is somewhat more crowded. The gym is just OK. You're in the 'corridor' between San Jose and Cabo San Lucas, which is nice for great views and quietness, but there's almost nothing to do outside of the hotel. Rent a car, unless you just want to chill at the resort. Beach is not great for swimming. Food at the resort is OK, but pretty expensive for what it is. Group activities can be kind of annoying sometimes.

Overall - this place is pretty awesome. Service is generally excellent, property is very nice with a beautiful location, rooms are great. Just bear in mind what kind of vacation you're looking for before you decide where to stay. Renting a car is definitely recommended. Cabs are expensive. You can also take the bus - it's very cheap but not so convenient. I think views are a bit better in the older building.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikevegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Picking this hotel instead of others, we took into consideration the nice comments in TripAdvisor, even though they sounded too good to be true.
I have to admit that I can only confirm the positive reviews: what a wonderful place!
Even with the new building open (thus with double the original number of rooms) the common areas are not crowded (only once the pool area was a bit overpopulated, but it lasted a few hours).
The reception while cheching in was fantastic: Francisco took care of us with drinks and unloaded our car. We were offered to sign up for a timeshare presentation the following days, but we declined and we were not bothered with any sale pitch during the following seven days.
We were assigned a room (1203A)in the "old" building on the second floor, which I tried to change for a higher floor, but none were available. Anyway, despite being very close to the pool, the noise was minimal and the view awesome.
The unit was very clean, fully equipped and, since we were three of us, we had plenty of space. Beautiful balcony, great for breakfasts and lunches, equipped with a bench, two chairs a table (small) and an hammock.
The bed in the master bedroom was comfortable; unfortunately we cannot say the same of the pull-out bed, because of the thin mattress.
The common areas are well designed, and because of the limited number of rooms/units, relatively quiet.
The beach is just few steps away; it's usually very quiet, and you can feed the fish (bring some bread). Yes, it's a bit rocky, but pleasant nonetheless.
The restaurant is pretty good, and with decent prices for Lunch; dinner dishes are a bit more expensive, but the quality is good. Don't miss the Taco Tuesday. Room service is efficent.
During the week I was offered to have the unit cleaned (usually it's on Tuesday or Wednesday): they messed up with my reservation but the front desk was able to rectify immediately when advised.
Another advantage of staying in such a small place: almost everybody recognize you and call you by name. It's a small thing, but it makes a lot of difference.
Because of the location, I feel that a car is needed; If you rent it at the airport, you'll end us saving more money. Getting from the airport to the resort is pretty straightforward. Finding how to get to the resort is another matter, complicated by the nearly invisible sign on the road.
Speaking of the car: finding a parking spot in Cabo San Lucas was very difficult, however you can park at the Whyndham Hotel (they have two parking lots) for 30 Pesos/hour, and walk.
A sincere thanks to the staff of Sirena del Mar, in particular to Francisco, Maximo, Antonio and Manny! We'll be back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTTraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews