We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$74
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Playa Grande Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$328
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Cabo San Lucas(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Resort at Pedregal(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$738
US$582
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$748
US$509
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Solmar Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$135
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Esperanza - Auberge Resorts Collection(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$850
US$825
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$775
US$752
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,473)
Filter reviews
3,473 results
Traveller rating
2,973
352
87
29
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,973
352
87
29
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla rocasports bardon luismurphy bedlands endthe pacific oceanmaster suiteinfinity pooltime sharemeal planfitness centercrashing waveswelcome homebell staffspecial thanksrooms are beautifulkids club
Filter
Updating list...
3,259 - 3,264 of 3,473 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Our vintage Solmar 1950's hotel room has been upgraded to a new five star resort.
And it does deserve the term "grand". We were warmly greeted by Lorenzo on the golf cart to chauffeur us to the lobby for check-in with complimentary drinks. Hostess Erica made us feel very welcome. All the staff were most gracious and seemed happy to take care of all of our needs. The food was delicious. Relaxing in the new infinity pools was wonderful with unobstructed views of the beach and whale-watching. The room accommodations are first rate with lovely decor, tile and granite. Daily maid service was excellent. Waiters at the pools were friendly and helpful, especially the young men Sergio and David. We felt safe during our visit and the 15 minute walk downtown made it easy to explore Cabo. There's some construction noise for now but the end product will be worth it. We never found the noise to be overwhelming. The visit to Grand Solmar was relaxing and simply wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyWVonoreTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mil081, Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Judy W, adding personalized Service to the grandeur of this lovely property is our obligation.
Charm and positive attitude is part of our essence.
With best wishes,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

All of the pools at the grand Solmar Resort are unbelieveable. The hotel itself sits directly on the beach a stones throw away from Lovers Beach. While dangling over the edge of any of the infinity pools you feel like you are in the ocean and can actually feel the ocean spray as the magestic waves hit the beach. My husband and I spend MANY hours dangling over the edges of these pools and highly recommend it to anyone who wants to experience the ultimate in romance and relaxation. We will be going back for many years to come.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaboGal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mil081, Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear CaboGal50, breathtaking views and state of the art personalized service is what we offer at Grand Solmar. Looking forward to indulge you soon again, I remain.
Cordially,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I am 60 years and wife and i own two, 3 bedroom weeks at the Grand Regina fractional, and love the small size and personal service. I just returned from the Grand Solmar having purchased a 2 BR unit, but for entirely different reasons.

The natural architecture of the mountain rock formations at this, the very tip of the continent, and within few hundred feet of the famous Arch, and Lover's beach, is simply incomparable. Nowhere else is there a land access to lover's beach, otherwise it is water taxi time! BTW, go there early morning with your lover.

I have not read all, but most of the non 5 star reviews, and frankly, well, come on! The wifi issues and wired net issues resolved (Feb 2012). Yes, phone reception is limited when blocked by a hundred foot mountain, with only the sea on the other side. Perhaps they will place a cell tower in the center of the beach for you. Sorry.

Seriously, cell reception is fine not blocked Directly by the mountain the main building is on; Frankly, if you need your cell that much, maybe you are not really on vacation!

Everything anyone has said about the staff frendliness, etc, is true. You can tell they're still building and a bit new, but it's okay, really. When i mentioned what i would improve, i needed to remind them not to take it so personally. To me a sign they are working All the time to improve not just Your stay. It was ample proof of intent.

Some highlights/lowlights:

Winelist and menus a bit barren. Not a wine snob, but could use more medium and premium selections. . Chef, however, can easily prepare off book items, and seemed intrigued and interesting to work with.

I Love the very sidewalks we tread on! Magnificent inlay work on all walkways, similar to the Playa Grande. Part of my reason for purchase, BTW was the superior maintainence exhibited by this sister property.

I think the only non positive was the resort is of generous size, but I think that's just me; my other site only has 12 , 3 bedrooms and 20 2 bedrooms. My service there is more personal than even the Palmilla personal butler, so i cant say points off. Im told it was full and it did not seem crowded at all.

The Hardware, appliances, artwork and detail are first class! The drawers are lined with a metallic pebble finish i've never seen. The cultery is made out of chromemolybdenum steel which is beautiful and unnecessarily cool. Rimless winegalsses, ditto. Tasteful and modern, but definately Mexican flavorful

Get the picture? I had no "need" for a new place, and there are certainly a lot of competition, but not this kind.

My sales experience was bewilderingly low key. Cid and Berin were as atypical as their names; perhaps i lucked out, as i think there was also more , uh, normal salespeople too!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank den h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mil081, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear den h, we have nothing to do but indulge you and Family during your stay and that, we just love to do it.
Looking forward greeting you soon in this little piece of heaven, I remain.
Cordially,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We "LOVE" Solmar. The staff is friendly, the service is excellent,we never had to wait for a table.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms allow for direct access to the pools, easy access just in case you forget anything.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dalejeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mil081, Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear dalejeanie, thank you for allowing us to pamper you during your stay with us.
Come back soon and bring some friends and family with you.
Cordially,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I enjoyed a fantastic stay with family at Grand Solmar this past week. (Feb 4th-11th) A great Super Bowl party watching the Giants beat the Patriots at the resort's restaurant too...The views here are stunning and building 9 where we stayed is built right into the side of the mountain here at Land's End. The resort is within easy walking distance of the marina and water taxi to Playa El Medano where you can dine at The Office and enjoy a few chilled beverages at The Sand Bar. Try the Galeon restaurant when you walk down the hill from the resort...Fantastic too!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick_W96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mil081, Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Dear Rick, it was such a pleasure to host you and your beautiful Family to.
Chef Hector will indulge you with its daily specials and yummy organic cuisine.
Come back soon and bring some friends with you next time.
Cordially,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews