We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Would definitely recommend.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Ranked #37 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Would definitely recommend.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My husband and I (and another couple) stayed at the Riu Sante Fe for 7 nights.

The Good:
Hotel is beautiful. The layout feels like a small village vs a hotel. The lobby and main stage are open to the courtyard so it feels very spacious. There are six large pools so it didn't feel crowded and we always found recliners (even in the afternoon after the 7am'ers claim chairs with towels). The food was good, however becomes repetitive after the fourth day. The staff was excellent.

The Bad (or OK):
The beds are hard and the pillows very flat. This was probably the worst thing about the resort. I had no desire to lounge in bed because it was so uncomfortable. We went to a timeshare presentation at the Westin and I wanted to jump in their "Heavenly Bed". Riu - its time to upgrade! Drinks were the second worse. I LOVE pina coladas at the beach, however these were no good. Its cheap liquor and cheap mixers.

The Ugly:
The college spring breakers. I've been in college so I'm all about having fun, however they were very inconsiderate. Screaming all night, vomiting everywhere (staff did a good job cleaning behind them), passing out. My advice - don't go during spring break.

If I return to Cabo, I would stay at the Riu however I enjoy Mexico's east coast more because its warmer and you can swim in the ocean. Overall, it was a great visit and I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Garden views look out on the pools and courtyard. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 40thbday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,236
    2,743
    1,188
    527
    436
See reviews for
1,555
3,052
124
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband and I just returned from the Riu and are completely disgusted. We thought the Resort was beautiful, great food, great drinks, lots of fun overall. However, we will NEVER go back! Our second day at the Resort we returned to our room from the pool. Housekeeping had already been in to clean the room and the minibar had been restocked so we figured no one else would be entering the room... WRONG. My husband left his iPhone and wallet sitting on the nightstand. We returned back to the room from dinner and it was GONE. All of the cash in his wallet as well as his brand new iPhone. After this, every day we were double, triple checking making sure all the doors were locked (patio included as we were on the ground level), so we were surprised to return back to the room after a day of excursions to see that the housekeeper had left our room and our neighbor (my sister travelling with us) patio doors wide open. VERY disapointed as hotel management/security had no explanation and assumed no responsibility as it wasn't in the safe (which yes, was our fault, but you should be able to trust your housekeeper, no??) We met 4 other groups of people who had their cash/iPhone/iPod/reading glasses/asthma inhaler/clothes/jewelry stolen so theft is obviously an issue at this Resort. Will never EVER be going back to this Resort or a Riu Resort ever again.

Room Tip: Stay away from ground level - room WILL be broken in to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank NickyQuigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We just go back from Cabo and the Rui Santa Fe. We knew it was spring break time, but this was the only time we could go. We expected some partying, but this was over board. We stayed there 7 nights and 5 of them we were woken up multiple times by drunk neighbors. We complained to the front desk and asked to be moved after the 2nd night. They said that would not be necessary, we should just call security. 3rd night we called security twice, once at 3 am and then again at 5am. Nothing happened. So went back to the front desk and they said once the partyers are in their rooms, the resort was not responsible. So we asked to be moved again and was told there were no rooms available. The 4th and 5th night we stayed with friends down the hall. We could still hear them, but at least the walls did not vibrate from the loud TV, and slamming doors. Other people on the floor also complained, but they were told "it is spring break, what did you expect?"
So if you don't want to stay up and party all night, don't go here during the month of March.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sparky091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This resort is a good value with lots of choices for food and activities. First time in Cabo and I definitely missed being able to swim in the ocean. A lot of partiers, definitely not overly family oriented. The Riu Land area for kids says its for kids up to 12 but truly is more appropriate for 6 and under. My 9 year old daughter is pretty mature for her age and begged me not to leave her at the kids club.
The resort was immaculately clean and it wasn't ever a problem getting our group of 10 a reservation for dinner. Entertainment team was very good and seemed solidly mature and tried to accommodate every age of guest with their activities and attention. We were there the 24th to the 31st of March and saw the tail end of spring break madness. But the resort did a nice job of politely addressing the partiers without chastising them and also trying to offer some family "PG" options. The infinity pool is unheated and the partiers hung out by it but there was a heated pool in the middle of the resort that was good for families and the more mature adult fun seekers. Any parent who thinks their kids won't see some level of drunkenness at a resort is a fool.
There are plenty of things to do away from the partiers. But a few more activities for kids ages 7 to 17 would be nice. My two teenagers are also pretty mature and weren't really interested in trying to sneak alcohol, so they would have liked a few more options of things to do as well. Ping pong and water aerobics don't cut it for a 15 and 16 year old for 7 nights.
Overall we're pretty well traveled and can go with the flow so we can make a great time out of most situations.
This resort is definitely worth a try, good
value and you really can't go wrong with
Riu's.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelchick4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacGregor, MB Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Our family of 4 just returned from a week of Spring Break fun at the Riu Santa Fe and we couldn't be more pleased with our holiday! We are in our mid forties and our kids are 18 and 16. Before we left, we had studied all of the reviews and expected to be disappointed with some aspects of the resort. Obviously anyone who gives this resort less than 4 stars as a rating, is either extremely pampered in their daily lives or had an unusual/ out of the norm experience. Food at buffet and asian restaurant was wonderful. Entertainment staff was excellent! No trouble with noise at night and no timeshare sharks. 110% clean at all times. Beautiful pool areas and walkways etc. Beaches very pretty. Wish we were still there and want to go back!

Room Tip: We were in Building 7 oceanview and loved the view and close proximity to the pools/beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
1.6 km away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#17 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
3.0 km away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
2.8 km away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#59 of 115 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#31 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,020 reviews
26.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#13 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,957 reviews
25.8 km away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price range (per night): $255 - $514
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 902
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 Km/2.8 Miles from Cabo San Lucas * Opened winter 2007/8 * 1-story main building and 3-story and 4-story annexes * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3.5 Km/2.2 Miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas * 40 km/25 miles from the airport * 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas
Riu Santa Fe Los Cabos
Riu Sante Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing