We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Cabo Azul Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cabo Azul Resort
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2010

This place is beautiful, and the Villas are outstanding, the pool has three levels and is usually at three different tempatures. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this resort to others. Very quiet and tranquil, not full of party people.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Handlurbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,569 - 1,573 of 1,823 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2010

Just got back from the resort and had a good time. I had read all the reviews about being pressured into time share and came ready to tell them no. We actually were never asked or pressure into the time share sell. The hotel is as advertised. It was very nice and clean. Rooms that are no facing into the pool area are really terrible. The drinks were expensive but they all are when you are at a resort. We were not that impressed with Javier's. The food was just OK. We did find a fantastic restaurant called Manuels' Creative Cuisine. This was by far the best meal that we had in Cabo.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank just89135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We just returned from a fabulous one week visit at Cabo Azul. We went with another couple and we can't wait to return. Don't be put off by the invitation to hear the time share presentation. It is low key and you will earn generous credits to use at the resort. The rooms are gorgeous. The pools are stunning and lead you to an immaculately maintained beach. The staff was friendly and informative. It is not as "hyper" as other Cabo resorts with respect to lots of planned activities. This is the place for people who like to design their own day. The city of San Jose offers excellent restaurants, art galleries, a lovely old mission and plaza and shops. Nothing like the Americanized Cabo San Lucas. Great golf is minutes away. Lovely spa on the premises. Swim Bar is beautiful. Seafood tacos very good!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavatera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Just returned from a 5 night stay at Cabo Azul, which was our 2nd time at this resort. We previously visited this resort back in Feb. based on a friend’s recommendation and really enjoyed our stay here. The staff here are extremely helpful and catered to any of our needs. But here’s a few Pros & Cons:

The Pros:

Cabo Azul is located in San Jose Del Cabo, which happens to be about a 15-20min from the airport and about 30-40min from Cabo San Lucas. San Jose is more laid-back and less crowded unlike San Lucas.

The Villas, they did a nice job on the interior design of these villas. Plus there’s a kitchen to cook a few meals if you want to, but you’re on vacation and who wants to do that…

The pool area, they have three infinitely pools all different temps. Nice swim-up bar, beds in the pool, two huge Jacuzzis and the Pods by the pool and beach are great to sleep in especially at night.

The Paz Spa is absolutely great!!! Not really into this sort of thing, but I really liked it. The Deep Tissue massage I had was great, plus you can use the other amenities their like Sauna, Steam Room, Whirlpool and Cold Plunge after your treatment.

The Beach, even though it looked deserted at times that was perfectly fine with me.

Cons:

No official lobby, when enter the resort you come in thru a side entrance. Kind of turned me off the 1st time there, but once inside the décor totally takes you surprise you.

If you plan any activities more than likely they will be located in or near San Lucas which is about 40mins away. I went on an ATV tour and it took us a 1-1/2hrs to get there.

More than likely you’ll be asking to attend a time-share or what they call it “Vacation Club” presentation, it took us about 90mins to complete. Wasn’t all that bad you get a free breakfast or lunch out of the deal plus peaks like spa certificates, etc…

Overall Cabo Azul is a great resort and I’ll continue to go back there as often as I can.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We had a bed bug infestation in our bedroom at Cabo Azul. I have bites all over my legs and torso. They removed the mattress and bedding however we still got bitten afterward. We let the management know with only a "I'm sorry". Today I spent the evening vacuuming and steam cleaning everything when I returned home in fear of bringing them into my home.

This was our second time we stayed at Cabo Azul and it was our FINAL VISIT THERE.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank breitsameter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.9 km away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,534 reviews
4.6 km away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
673 reviews
10.2 km away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#12 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,511 reviews
9.4 km away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,023 reviews
0.2 km away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#21 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
5,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Azul Resort

Address: Paseo Malecon SN | Lote 11 Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: $264 - $892 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cabo Azul Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Azul Resort has a truly fresh look and feel, far superior to any Cabo San Lucas resorts. Our Cabo resort and spa stands out from the standard Cabo San Lucas resorts and hotel choices in the San Jose del Cabo area with Studio, 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, and 3-bedroom luxury villas guaranteed to pamper your mind and soul. We truly provide the luxury vacation you've been dreaming of. From the abundance of luxurious amenities to the thoughtful interior design choices, Cabo Azul Resort has labored over even the smallest of details to ensure an exceptional experience with every visit to our Cabo resort's ocean side paradise. Don't settle for anything less than the best at other Cabo resorts, find the perfect vacation at Cabo Azul Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cabo Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Azul Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Cabo Azul
Cabo Azul Resort Spa
Cabo Azul Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing