We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portions are too small and the cabin lacked atmosphere”

The Lobster Pod Bistro
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Hope Cove
Price range: US$7 - US$70
Description: The Lobster Pod is a new bistro that has opened in Hope Cove. Situated overlooking the harbour and beach, it has spectacular views across Bigbury Bay and both indoor and outdoor seating. Try our enclosed Pods with comfortable seating and tables. Serving a variety of fish and Lobster cooked to order. Pizza and snacks available. There is also a Takeaway Menu and Fishmonger selling fresh un-cooked fish.
Restaurant details
Description: The Lobster Pod is a new bistro that has opened in Hope Cove. Situated overlooking the harbour and beach, it has spectacular views across Bigbury Bay and both indoor and outdoor seating. Try our enclosed Pods with comfortable seating and tables. Serving a variety of fish and Lobster cooked to order. Pizza and snacks available. There is also a Takeaway Menu and Fishmonger selling fresh un-cooked fish.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location of this restaurant is superb. Overlooking Hope Cove with vistas out to sea as far as the eye can see. The cabin has loads of potential but lacked atmosphere.

I had the mussels but the portion size was half what I would expect of a main course and only came with bread and no chips/fries all for £11! It was a real shame because the taste was very good. My wife had the fish tacos but again for £10 the portion size could have been bigger and the presentation could be improved. She was served two with some nachos on the side. The taste again was very good.

Our 4 year old had Spag Bol which was a little bland even for a Kids meal.

In summary good food but not value for money in my opinion. Also a distinct lack of quality non alcoholic beers on offer. All they had was Beck's Blue!!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sojo-journer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had the mushroom pizza, it tasted amazing and had a nice crunchy texture. It was on the smaller side compared to over stone-baked pizzas that I've had!
Nice and moist Chocolate brownie aswell!
Beautiful views out over the sea and clifftops!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paradise26223727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Unfortunately we weren’t able to use the pods, but in the end apart from it being a bit windy the sun was out and we had a table overlooking the bay. Squid to start sea bass fillet for main both very enjoyable although I prefer a whole sea bass head/tail.
Staff very friendly and accommodating especially considering the amount of stairs they had to navigate bringing our meals to the table. Would definitely recommend and even the waiter overheard it was my birthday and brought out a glass of fizz.
Thanks for your hard work.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank F9736LXjeffj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stunning location, overlooking beach, friendly professional service, this is a must if you like seafood and are able to cope with the steps of varying sizes and parking which is close but not adjacent. It definitely worth the effort and staff are so helpful. Enough choice on menu to suit most tastes plus a specials board. I opted for perfectly cooked scallops for a starter, followed by skate which almost made up for missing out on the wonderful sharing platters which my family had. They went for the lobster platter - a real treat. Will make sure I bring a sharing buddy next time. Covid precautions in place and felt "safe"

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank MoiraColtham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful concept with dining "pods." Wonderful coastal views and good food. Part of the adjacent Cottage Hotel. Lovely team.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank torbayaotearoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lobster Pod Bistro also viewed

Hope Cove, Salcombe
 

Been to The Lobster Pod Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.