We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Morelia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We enjoyed our five night stay the last week of February. We did request a move from a street side room as we found it very noisy and were accomodated in a quite lovely room with very nice amenities. Every day we had a good breakfast (included) in the exceptionally well appointed dining room. Location cannot be beat as we were in the heart of Morelia where so many of the sights and activities take place. Overall we had an enjoyable stay

Room Tip: do not get a street side room due to extreme noise factor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mallardalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2017

I'm not sure what we were expecting, but when we walked in and asked if the dining room was open, we saw the beautiful surroundings and thought, "mmm expensive." But our experience was quite the opposite. It was an upscale meal and dining experience without the upscale pricing. What a delight. the food was excellent and the service was over the top. The staff seemed delighted we four were there, and we were delighted as well. They had outdoor seating as well, but since it was our last day in town, we wanted our lunch experience to be special, and it truly was.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miznovember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5413
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Morelia is a lovely colonial city. This hotel is located in the heart of downtown, in front of the main plaza with a gorgeous view of the Cathedral.
Both architecture and rooms are from several hundred years ago which lets you experience taking back in time.
Food, service and rooms are very good.
This is a great hotel centrally located from main tourist attractions.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Virrey de Mendoza, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thanks for your opinion, we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

We were in town for a long weekend, and wanted a room with view to the downtown, and it was available only here.
They have one of the best locations in the downtown. The staff is very kind and always nice.
In the room they don't have coffeemaker, we asked for one and they brought it but without cups, we asked for them at the restaurant. And in the room weren't a place to put it.
No iron and neither a place to use it.
The bed was too high and it was a double mattress.
One of the lamps didn't worked out.
They have big furniture inside the rooms that really don't need to be there, instead a table with two chairs would be much better and useful.
They need turn on the light on the halls during the day and night, cos you cannot see a thing and you could fall down with the furniture.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dreamingtita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

I have stayed at this hotel in 2005 and I do not understand the reason why some people complains, as it is a lovely hotel, my room was a luxury, fantastic bed, beautiful linen, the common areas very nice too. The location fantastic. I had a good meal there.
México is a place with loud music, if you can't bit them join them.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjosecouto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morelia hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel de la Soledad
Hotel de la Soledad
#1 of 67 in Morelia
370 reviews
0.1 km away
Alameda Centro Historico Hotel
0.2 km away
Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Casino Morelia
Hotel Casino Morelia
#12 of 67 in Morelia
272 reviews
0.1 km away
Mision Catedral Morelia
Mision Catedral Morelia
#19 of 67 in Morelia
267 reviews
2.5 km away
Villa Montana Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Virrey de Mendoza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virrey de Mendoza

Address: Avenida Francisco i. Madero Poniente No. 310 | Centro, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Morelia
Price Range: $120 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Virrey de Mendoza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic center of Morelia, opposite the Plaza de Armas, is the "Hotel Virrey de Mendoza", considered one of the most beautiful buildings in the city dating back to 1744. It features elegant and comfortable rooms decorated with beautiful antiques that give a particular style to each of them, from some of the suites can enjoy the view of cathedral. The hotel has a restaurant that serves international cuisine and traditional dishes from Michoacan, has a bar and outdoor cafe and live piano music in the lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Virrey de Mendoza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virrey De Mendoza Hotel
Virrey De Mendoza Morelia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing