We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$59
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$59/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$46
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casa Jose Maria Hotel(Morelia)(Great Value!)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
US$43
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$57/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$54
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$135
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
82
52
33
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
52
33
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsde mendozastreet noisestayed in a junior suitebeautiful lobbybeautiful hotelwooden shuttersold world charmmain plazaceiling fanpiano playermiddle of townrooms are spaciousnice breakfastreception staffsitting areacolonial buildingcolonial mexico
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2017

I'm not sure what we were expecting, but when we walked in and asked if the dining room was open, we saw the beautiful surroundings and thought, "mmm expensive." But our experience was quite the opposite. It was an upscale meal and dining experience without the upscale pricing. What a delight. the food was excellent and the service was over the top. The staff seemed delighted we four were there, and we were delighted as well. They had outdoor seating as well, but since it was our last day in town, we wanted our lunch experience to be special, and it truly was.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miznovember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Morelia is a lovely colonial city. This hotel is located in the heart of downtown, in front of the main plaza with a gorgeous view of the Cathedral.
Both architecture and rooms are from several hundred years ago which lets you experience taking back in time.
Food, service and rooms are very good.
This is a great hotel centrally located from main tourist attractions.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank davidmusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Virrey de Mendoza, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thanks for your opinion, we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

We were in town for a long weekend, and wanted a room with view to the downtown, and it was available only here.
They have one of the best locations in the downtown. The staff is very kind and always nice.
In the room they don't have coffeemaker, we asked for one and they brought it but without cups, we asked for them at the restaurant. And in the room weren't a place to put it.
No iron and neither a place to use it.
The bed was too high and it was a double mattress.
One of the lamps didn't worked out.
They have big furniture inside the rooms that really don't need to be there, instead a table with two chairs would be much better and useful.
They need turn on the light on the halls during the day and night, cos you cannot see a thing and you could fall down with the furniture.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dreamingtita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

I have stayed at this hotel in 2005 and I do not understand the reason why some people complains, as it is a lovely hotel, my room was a luxury, fantastic bed, beautiful linen, the common areas very nice too. The location fantastic. I had a good meal there.
México is a place with loud music, if you can't bit them join them.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjosecouto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Excellent location, lots of things to do from early morning to late night. If you want to experience history, this hotel, won't disappoint. The city of Morelia is a treasure trove of well-preserved 17th- and 18th-century buildings. The hotel is located in the historic center, a great location to explore all the museums, cultural spaces, exhibition centers, restaurants, and nightlife. There is something of interest in every corner within walking distance. The beds were comfortable, the room decor is charming, the bathroom was just OK to my taste, it needs to be updated. But overall, the atmosphere is beguiling. There might be a ghost (or two), which adds a certain allure. You can imagine people from the past in all sorts of elegant dresses mingling in the great ballroom, or going up and down the regal staircases. There are countless of creepy life-sized portraits, and decor. We had a continental breakfast in the small restaurant. It was full and we had to wait for about 10 mins to be seated. Food was good, you can also order à la carte from delicious mexican dishes. There was a pianist, playing soft music in the background. The hotel is keeping up with renovations/upkeep that you might encounter. Our room location was quiet. We chose to be on the second floor farther from the entrance (can be a bit loud due to the bars and the lively people dancing in the plaza). But if you want to experience the majestic fireworks and light-show at the cathedral-- and if you don't mind the music, then a room with a balcony overlooking the plaza will suit you just fine.

Room Tip: Back rooms or second floor are quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank minerva b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews