We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
83
52
33
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
52
33
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews street noise stayed in a junior suite beautiful lobby beautiful hotel wooden shutters ceiling fan old world rooms are spacious reception staff the heart of the city the main square sitting area colonial building colonial mexico included breakfast hot water plaza
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2017

What a pleasure. Our room, with french doors opening up to overlook the Plaza de Armas, was spacious, beautiful and comfortable. The location could not have been better. The buffet breakfast is more than you could possible want. The service was terrifc and the price was an amazing bargain. I highly recommend this hotel. Note: Wifi not accessible in the room, but it is in the lobby and outside terrace bar.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oclynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Located in the heart of the city This is an beautiful colonial place. The room 205 was decent and everything appeared cleaned. If you really want to experience Morelia and colonial history come to this hotel. The restaurant has good local food choices.

It can be a little noisy but worth the experience.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Eddie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Morelia is known for its colonial architecture, and the Hotel Virrey de Mendoza fits right in. The rooms are built around a central courtyard that has now been roofed over, but the feeling of a colonial villa remains. The location can't be beat - right in the middle of town directly across the street from the main town square and Morelia's famed pink stone cathedral. Of course, a central location can come with a good deal of street noise, which was the only minor drawback.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emerald-City N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Located on the zocalo, in a colonial building with thick stone walls. Our room was on the 5th floor overlooking the Main Street in the center of Morelia. Fortunately, there are sound proof windows which is one of many amenities. Other things I admired were ironed sheets, fine old stile bathroom with tub, good wifi, professional staff, free and very nice breakfast, huge lobby with beautiful fireplace, piano player in the evening, outdoor arcaded cafe with good service frequented by locals sipping coffee and as mentioned, the location was in the heart of all the historic sites.
Morelia is very walkable and you will discover many interesting and very historic structures, museums, convents, restaurants and a lovely nighttime scene.

Stayed: February 2017
2  Thank DeeM19472014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We enjoyed our five night stay the last week of February. We did request a move from a street side room as we found it very noisy and were accomodated in a quite lovely room with very nice amenities. Every day we had a good breakfast (included) in the exceptionally well appointed dining room. Location cannot be beat as we were in the heart of Morelia where so many of the sights and activities take place. Overall we had an enjoyable stay

Room Tip: do not get a street side room due to extreme noise factor
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mallardalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews