We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
22
7
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
7
3
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

We arrived late in the evening to find Casa San Diego sitting prettily behind the illuminated Aqueduct of Morelia - an impressive sight! Our suite was large, nicely designed, and comfortable. The complimentary toiletries were especially nice! The next day we were pleased to find the Casa backed on to one of the pretty little avenues on to which the restaurant faced. Casa San Diego is not in the centre of town but in its own very lovely area, and only a short walk away from all the main sights. Very nice!

Stayed: August 2015
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elias C, Gerente at Casa San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2015

Dear Lucy P;

Thank you so much for such a nice review; we do appreciate all feedback from our guest. We are glad that you found our rooms and the Hotel comfortable. It is a fact that Morelia it’s one of the most beautiful cities en Mexico, we do have a prime location that makes us very proud. We hope see you soon in Morelia, hopefully with us.

Muchas Gracias

Elias Castellanos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015

The room seemed clean, but the bed spread was dirty, they put a very thick matress cover under the sheet for extra cushion, but ends up lopsided so your head lays higher and not very comfortable
The shower was wet upon arrival and the second day they did the cleaning of the room i found a toe nail (not mine) in the middle of the room!!
The wash basin is super small and very unconfortable, you have to be careful not to hit your face with the faucet and everything ends up wet, the shower doesn´t have a steady flow of warm water, so you have to get the right temperature most of your shower time
Theres no writing pad or pen in the room, you have to borrow them from the reception, the amenities smell good but there's no shower cap
I stayed in room number 4, the room is very noisy, you can hear all the talking from outside, the blender from the restaurant, the heels from the receptionist going up and down and if theres a crying baby from another room forget about it
Another thing, ask in advance if they have any kind of event, because if they do they wont serve you breakfast, i talked to the manager and he just said that the waiters shouldnt do that but didnt offer anything else
All the calls have to be be thru the receptionist, so if they are busy....
Also the parking is a mess,the hotel is in a busy street and kind of hidden, the parking is only to download your things and have to valet, also on sundays they close the street for the cyclists

Room Tip: go to another hotel
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ile V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elias C, Gerente at Casa San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Dear lle V,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us in Casa San Diego. All of our guest's comments are very welcome and we take all feedback very seriously, although on occasions it may not be a very favorable one.

I am very sorry to hear that your experience with our hotel in some aspects was not completely satisfactory. In this case we take your review as main subject from our recent meeting with our operation staff; we assure you that measures were taking in housekeeping department and restaurant service, and responsibilities were given.

We reiterate our sincere apologies, hoping you will give us a second opportunity if you do decide to visit Morelia in the near future; I will be most pleased to serve you again. .

Sincerely,

Elias Castellanos.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Lovingly restored colonial hotel on a the most historic street in Morelia. Staff is superb, rooms are quiet and comfortable with all the little details I love; hair dryer, makeup mirror, bottled water etc. Perfectly located with good little restaurant. Try the juevos motuleños.

Was in Morelia for 4 days and all was quiet and calm.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank kmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elias C, Director General at Casa San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Kmex,
Thank you so much for your review, we are really pleased that your experience with us was positive. We are proud of our beautiful city of Morelia, which still remains as safe destination for tourists from all around the world.
On behalf all of our staff, we would like to express our gratitude for your review and we hope to see you return soon in Morelia, Casa San Diego.

Muchas Gracias.

Elias Castellanos
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

The location is perfect, right beside the park and the long pedestrian walk, yet only a few blocks from the cathedral. And the accommodation is exceptional, couldn't get my wife out of the fabulous bed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KipWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Everything about this place is horrible from the check in experience to the rooms to the food!!! We booked our trip 4 months prior and thought all arrangements were taken care of once we arrived at the hotel the agents couldnt find our reservations even though we provided our confirmation code. After 30 minutes of arguing back and forth with this agent he tells us he can fit us into a room for 4 nights but we will have to pay $128.00 extra per night because the rates have gone up since the time we had "supposedly" made our reservations that they couldnt seem to find (hmmm kind of fishy huh?). At this point all we wanted to do was check in and shower and eat something. So we gave in checked in and to our horrer we walk into our room and found roaches!!!!!!!!!! Long story short this resort did nothing to accomedate us as far as changing our room and our bank called us after we had come back home saying someone was trying to use our card number in mexico. Just be warned and stay away from this place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LISAMARIE1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews