We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mision Catedral Morelia
Nearby Hotels
US$113
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
US$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
96
97
51
23
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
97
51
23
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barside streettop floorthird floormagnificent viewsaturday night fireworksbreakfast buffetfantastic locationdirectly across the streetcomfortable hoteldowntown moreliathe main squaretown squareold buildinghotel staffbeds were comfortableinterior room
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2017

I would like to give this a hotel a 3.5 or a 3.7 but the rating system doesn't allow for that degree of variation. My husband and I were at Mision Catedral Hotel with a small group tour for the Day of the Dead Ceremonies in small local towns near Morelia. The hotel location and views to the main plaza (decked out for the Day of the Dead when were there) cannot be beat. We were in an interior room with no view at the end of a long hall (there was a window into a courtyard) but you get what you pay for and reserve in advance. (We would have been happy to have paid for a plaza view -- not that much more expensive -- but we were lucky to get into the tour and to have a room at all given the overflow in Morelia during these celebrations). Fine hotel with great location. The included breakfast buffet was fine. The rooftop bar is great for views of the plaza and the live music at night during high season. I will try to find its name and rate it separately. Don't go there for the food.

Room Tip: I would ask for a view room of the plaza next time, although if it's a big festival week it might be noisy.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EpicureoEducado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

One of the old-time hotels half a block from the cathedral. Roof-top bar to see the cathedral's lighting in the evening (though quite short!). Plenty of restaurants under the archways, close to churches and sights. The town has plenty of 16th-18th century churches to visit. Clean non-descript rooms. Nice lobby area. Room for group breakfasts (nothing spectacular). Good central choice. Pleasant staff willing to answer questions.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Glenn R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

This property definitely needs improvement and I'll be very specific.

Upon arrival we were greated with the news that we had an internal room. Room 231 had no windows and faces nothing, a dark cube to hear your neighbors toilets flush.

When we asked to be switched we were told to wait 1 day and ask again. The room was clean but with no light, bed bugs were on the sheets, you can feel them as they bite at night.

The morning after I noticed there's a warning not to waste water but the shower was dripping.

Also due to lack of light the room on top of the shower has mold, you can see the tiny spots.

We called the front desk and told them that wifi wasn't working, and they said they would reset it. I left the hotel today and it still doesn't work, I used hotel casino next door and that worked.

I'm sorry but I'm not going back, with hotels in other areas this is one is definitely not a good fit for the price.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

The experience can vary somehow as they have rooms in different stages of updating. We had a very comfortable airy room with windows and lots of light. The hotel is comfortable, the service very good and professional. The restaurant on the top floor has great views of the cathedral and is great for light dinner and drinks.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaurizioGallivanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
42
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Beautiful location but very basic commodities.. the staff was nice and room was clean. No on site parking have to pay extra if you have a car, car is parked on the building next to the hotel at a extra fee. Room's restroom door was broken and could not be closed.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatedralMorelia, Gerente at Mision Catedral Morelia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thanks for your comment we will take into account your observations, having own space for parking we offer an agreement with an alternate parking where we only charge $ 70.00 pesos per night with this we avoid the charge per hour, we will continue looking for alternatives to offer each day a better service we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews