We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, helpful staff and decent restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Arroyo de la Plata Zacatecas
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Zacatecas
Bay area, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful staff and decent restaurant”
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Although the room was dark and warm for this month of June, we thought it was adequate and suited our needs just fine. We ate at the restaurant there for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and the food was good and tasty. Overall, we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bayareatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    13
    18
    18
    19
See reviews for
27
7
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, CA.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2009

From descriptions back in 2003, 2005 and 2006 it would appear that much has changed for the better. We stayed almost a week and found the hotel and staff very enjoyable. The hotel owner Cecilio is a very humble man and we learned he is a member of the Zacatecas Lions Club serving the community. While the air conditioning was weak in our room it was okay for the small amount of time we were in it. We liked the hotel food. A bit hot and sweet at times for my taste, but found overall very tasty. Our accommodations were average for what we had experienced else ware during or travels. The only downside was having a room on the 4th floor facing a busy street. Traffic noise and fumes caused us to keep the window closed. Next time we’ll try a different location. Yes, we would go back.

See my FaceBook photo gallery on our trip. Look for Jim Etherington, June 2009 Mexico.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4JsInConcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 May 2006

I requested a room change 4 times in one night. The rooms are either smelly, or dirty, or the facilities (toilets, etc), didn't work. I also had a rainleak right in my bed.

That was not all. When we left our room to visit downtown, the housekeeping staff opened my bags and stole my iPod and cell phone. Talking to the manager, I found out that this has happened several times before. The hotel's managment just ignored my complaint, so I called in the police. They didn't care at all either.

These people just ruined my vacations, and will not hesitate to ruin yours too.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojo_plaza_zacatecas, ANTONIO VILLEGAS MANAGER OF RESERVATIONS at Hotel Arroyo de la Plata Zacatecas, responded to this review, 14 October 2008
is that it is too late to respond but was informed that the administration just as the managers changed and now we are working with new standards and distinctive as well as trained staff to care for our guests as they deserve part of the family of Howard Johnson was sent to you our most cordial greetings and deciding to come back soon with us and live the experience of staying at Howard Johnson Plaza arroyo de la plata hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Zacatecas hotels

Brossard, Qc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2006

First of all, there was a terrible moisture smell in the room. We moved to a front room but was cold and noisy.

Elevators were almost out of service. The pool was dirty and the filtration system was'nt working at all!!

Price was high!! Rotten ratio price/quality!! Our car has been splashed with blue paint.


Overall it was a truly unpleasant experience!!

My advisory!! Don't put your feets in this hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Gti59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 October 2005

Well it was ok but my family was having a party for my uncle's wedding and then the lights went out. We asked for somethings and we ended up receiving them the next day.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zacatecas hotels
0.2 km away
Maria Benita
Maria Benita
#27 of 38 in Zacatecas
60 reviews
0.6 km away
Meson de la Merced
Meson de la Merced
#10 of 38 in Zacatecas
115 reviews
3.8 km away
Hotel Casa Real Zacatecas
Hotel Casa Real Zacatecas
#31 of 38 in Zacatecas
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Hotel & Spa Hacienda Baruk
Hotel & Spa Hacienda Baruk
#23 of 38 in Zacatecas
175 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Condesa
Hotel Condesa
#22 of 38 in Zacatecas
43 reviews
1.2 km away
La Finca Del Minero Hotel
La Finca Del Minero Hotel
#20 of 38 in Zacatecas
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arroyo de la Plata Zacatecas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arroyo de la Plata Zacatecas

Property: Hotel Arroyo de la Plata Zacatecas
Address: Blvd. A. Lopez Mateos y Callejon del Barro s/n | Col. Centro, Zacatecas 98000, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Howard Johnson Zacatecas)
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Zacatecas > Zacatecas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Zacatecas
Price range (per night): $55 - $137
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arroyo de la Plata Zacatecas 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location one block from the historic center, the best service and option for individuals, groups, conventions, seminars, forums, conferences, etc. Our hotel offers services such as, gym, sauna, 10 meeting rooms, auditorium, disco, bar., restaurant, executive floor, swimming pool with a tropical climate and business center. Our 126 rooms and suites have direct dial telephone, wireless Internet in all areas of the hotel, a/c individual, tub, jacuzzi (optional), Satellite TV and electronic plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Arroyo de la Plata Zacatecas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Zacatecas
Zacatecas Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing