We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$74
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Plus Puebla Hotel(Puebla)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$88
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$70/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$169
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Casa de Oracion San Jose(Puebla)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
19
64
25
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
64
25
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmountain viewgreat locationlarge bathroomthe main squarehot watercathedralmexicovolcano
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Phenomenol view of the main cathedral, hard beds but not unbearable, fantastic location, a walk through the shopping tunnel puts you right in the zocalo amid the cathedral, government palace, restaurants and stores. Shower so so, poor bathroom design, but great service from the hotel staff.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Russ369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Recommend if you are on a tight budget but if can spend a bit more, do. Beds are almost too hard for sleep. Bathrooms outdated and could be cleaner. Lobby is modern but none of the rooms are. Location is good. Hotel restaurant is average.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katie1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Exactly what I expected for the price. The location is unbeatable. The wifi is slower, the bathroom was dated, but the bed was comfy, no bugs anywhere, and the bedroom was tastefully re-modelled. We were on the 6th floor, and no road noise even though facing street. Had a view of the volcano, and the city scape.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tilleyroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016

The Gilfer has two nice elevators, climate control including AC and a restaurant. It is located in center city behind city hall. Within a block is the central square with nice outdoor cafes or indoor eating. The old cathdral, tour buses, and many shops are in the area. It is within two blocks of the Rose Chapel (all gold) and several long blocks from the Artisan's Market with tourist gifts. Hangling is allowed there.

Wifi is free but without much bandwidth so may or may not work well.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perryville_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

I had a 3 night stay last weekend. The reception was nice and the bell boy, Gerry, was very helpful in getting a new safety box sent to my room, when the 1st one wasn't working. My room had a nice view of half the cathedral in the Zocalo. In the restaurant, I had a great breakfast for 80 pesos, chosen from a number of menu options. The issues that I had with my stay were (a) The walls between rooms were very thin, (b) on my third night, I had no sleep at all, due to other guests knocking on each other's doors, slamming them, talking loudly in the corridor (echoes) between 10pm and 02.30 am. What is wrong with these people? Go to bed and be quiet!

I had to get up at 3 am to get to the bus station, so no sleep for me. Grrr!

So, in summary, I would not recommend this hotel due to the above issues. The hotel staff are alright, so they cannot be at fault for this. It's just the way things are at this hotel.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews