We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$91
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Il Biciclo(Fermignano)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Villa Martina(Fermignano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Relais Serra Alta(Fermignano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
91
8
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
8
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalle nuovaorganic farmthe main househome madethe kitchensan leoself cateringsecond visitthree hourswelcome packrural locationapartmentdinnerurbinotownsmarchecows
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2008

Five of us (all recently retired) spent the first week of November at the Locanda, the week before they closed for the season. What a glorious time of the year to be in the Marche Region, in an agriturismo! We were almost the only tourists in the area; the weather was cool; the landscapes in harvest time were beautiful; and the world-class truffle festival was taking place in nearby Aqualagna.

Giulia, who manages, translates, and provides directions for day trips, was wonderful. Her father, Augusto Savini, was a renowned architect during his professional years, winning architecture awards for major hotel renovations in Milan and other places. His interior design of the farmhouse has taken an old structure on the outside, and equipped it with modern, state-of-the-art lighting, heating, bathrooms, bedding, and kitchen facilities on the inside. Giulia’s mother is a cook extraordinaire! The foods are all organic, mostly from the farm itself. The freshly baked breads, jams, fruits, and juices in the morning are all produced on site, with the yogurts and cheeses coming from nearby. We did day trips and booked evening meals back at the Locanda so that we could relax and enjoy the wine as well as the food, which was being prepared all day. The soups, meats, pasta sauces, vegetables, breads, and desserts each evening were among the major highlights of the week.

We used the Locanda as a base, and drove out each day, with Guilia’s help in planning routes and destinations. Urbino, famous Renaissance city of the Marche Region, is a 15-minute drive away. The National Gallery of the region, several medieval churches, and the home of Raphael make Urbino the destination for one or two days of enjoyment. Historically, it is the model city of the Renaissance, and today it is a university city, pulsing with energy. Urbania, Aqualagna, and the charming little mountain town of San Leo were other favorites of our group, with Guilia or her father telling us where to have our mid-day meal, frequently tiny obscure places that only the locals would know about. The day we went to Ravenna, we had dinner on the way back at a seafood restaurant on the shore at Cesenatico, that Sr. Savini arranged for us. He had also pointed us to the port there, which was designed by Leonardo.

Our week was fabulous. We fell in love with the Marche Region of Italy, and our glorious time had so much to do with the warm, friendly, hospitable, helpful, and nourishing facilities that we began and ended each day in.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AGRMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2007

We stayed at the Locanda the last week of their season this year. The accomodations and hospitality could not have been better. Giulia and her parents we all not only helpful, but I think all of us (a group of 5) felt like part of the family by the end of our stay.
We always like to stay either in a town or in an agriturismo where we can eat evening meals without having to drive after dinner, and we loved the food and wine served very much.
I recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jrose1g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2007

Four of us stayed in 2 rooms at the wonderful Locanda Valle Nuova. We enjoyed every aspect of our visit (6 nights!). Giulia was very helpful in reserving restaurants on the nights that we chose to go out. We particularly enjoyed a small restaurant in nearby Fermignano operated by a couple that Giulia knows (ask her, she'll remember!). We would love to come back some day.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank premer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2007

The place to stay outside of Urbino is the Locanda della Vallee Nuova. This is a family-run organic farm that includes a modern, impeccably clean set of rooms, with en suite bath, in the main house. Adriana does all the cooking using organic farm products. Multilingual Guilia takes care of the guests and is willing to spend long evenings over an aperatif discussing any number of issues and offerering free travel advice. The locanda is a 20 minute drive from Urbino, set in rolling hills with beautiful walks available. In our several months travelling through Italy in 2002 and 2006, this was the best establishment we stayed in. The home cooking is outstanding and the hosts treated us all as old friends. The Marche area has numerous attractions, and the Locanda della Vallee Nuova is the place to set up a home base.

Kal Holsti and Marilyn Wan, Vancouver, Canada

2  Thank tapioh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2007

Giulia and her parents are incredibly welcoming. We felt completely at home for the entire 7 nights of our stay.

The food was simple but tasty proper Italian cooking (i.e no heavy cheese sauces like one gets in the UK at so-called Italian restaurants). We ate 6 nights out of 7 and enjoyed every course of every meal. We drank lots of the bottled Rosso de Picena (?). Fabulous home-made liqueurs. Our meals were served indoors in the air-conditioned downstairs room, since it was extremely hot. Don't know if they are ever served outside on the terrace...

Our room was not enormous but had lovely views in 2 directions and a good modern bathroom. Comfortable bed - I am 6ft 5in tall..... Very clean. Ceiling fan was effective.

Swimming pool is in an idyllic position overlooking scenic countryside.

The Locanda is in a very quiet position but handy for visits to Urbino, St Leo etc. The coast is less than one hour away by car.

This was one of our best holidays in 27 years of summer breaks. We will be back.....

Rob Lacey
Rutland
UK

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RutlandUkRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews