We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Locanda della Valle Nuova
Nearby Hotels
Villa Martina(Fermignano)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$144
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$75
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais Serra Alta(Fermignano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Toc Toc(Fermignano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
91
8
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
8
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalle nuovaorganic farmthe main househome madethe kitchensan leoself cateringsecond visitthree hourswelcome packrural locationapartmentdinnerurbinomarchetownscows
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2008

There is much to recommend this small hotel. If you want a quiet few days it is certainly peaceful and relaxing. You really have to have a car to be able to explore the surrounding area and the lovely town of Urbino. The building is modern and clean but tastefully decorated; the surrounding countryside is very pleasant. The view from the pool, especially at sunset is magical. Giulia is very efficient and certainly overall we would say looked after us. However, as vegetarians we did feel badly let down and you would be better not eating your evening meals here. For example, if the non-vegetarian guests are having sausages and peas, the vegetarians will literally have peas. Peas and nothing else. Most of the guests seemed to be from the UK and it does seem, in our experience, that in Italy it is sometimes assumed that the British don't either appreciate or have access to great food. That attitude is of course decades out of date, the UK having absorbed culinary influences from around the world, and frankly a plate of peas or plate of chopped carrots (two of our main meals) is not acceptable as a main meal. At home, just for a week day tea, we would have at least combined the peas with some quality pasta, topped with fresh parmisan and extra virgin olive oil. It is hard to believe that it was intentional, but it was slightly humiliating and bordering on the offensive to give us a small plate of chopped carrots to share for the main course of an evening meal. We couldn't work out whether they (a) simply didn't approve of or have any understanding of the concept of being vegetarian (b) couldn't be bothered with the hassle of creating a little variation (c) actually weren't able to cook that well. There is a great trattoria a short drive up the road where they managed to knock us up some fine real Itailan vegetarian food with little notice. There are also fine places to eat in Urbino. If you are vegetarian you could still have a great stay here just don't eat here!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NabooUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giulia-da-Urbino, Owner at Locanda della Valle Nuova, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2008

I’m very sorry to hear that we had guests that were not satisfied with our cooking! We take great pride in cooking only the better (organic) ingredients into real home cooking and our guests usually appreciate it a lot. On the other side I never thought that “the British don't either appreciate or have access to great food”.

As far as my papers say (I keep all my e-mails to and from guests) we had only a couple of vegetarian guests in October 2007. We do not have many vegetarian guests, since the Locanda stands on an organic farm whose main produce is organic beef, but we’re always glad to do our best and cater for vegetarian guests or any other guest having specific dietary needs.
We always tell our guests what kind of vegetarian meal they can expect (appetizer, first course, vegetables as a second course (the same as the other guests but without the meat, I usually write), dessert, home made liqueurs) and never suggest that we will prepare a different meal for them.

This is the text that I sent to the guests coming last October:
“Re dinners: we will surely be able to prepare a meat free dinner for your arrival night, as for other dinners, as an organic farm producing meat and as we tend to serve mostly our own produce we usually have a meat second course, but sometimes in autumn we have polenta dinners or we cook mushrooms, if available and we'd be glad to prepare that for you! Would it be a problem for you if you book your first night's dinner with us and we talk about further dinners once you're here? Anyway there's a couple of very nice restaurants with very good vegetarian options nearby!”

Since we also keep track of all the menus we serve I know that those specific guests had on their arrival night:
Pecorino cheese with home made chutneys, egg pasta (spaghetti alla chitarra) with vegetable sauce, courgette frittata (sort of big omelette) with salad, chocolate mousse.
They were so satisfied with their meal that they decided to book other 2 dinners with us and the menus were:
Fresh homemade cheese with olives and home made focaccia, asparagus risotto, cauliflower with bechamelle sauce, jam tarts
Puff pastry with aubergines and cheese, polenta with mashroom sauce and selection of cheeses, zabaglione (egg custard with vin santo).

I hope that this rewiew and my response will be useful to other vegetarians wondering if they should stay at Locanda della Valle Nuova.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2008

Five of us (all recently retired) spent the first week of November at the Locanda, the week before they closed for the season. What a glorious time of the year to be in the Marche Region, in an agriturismo! We were almost the only tourists in the area; the weather was cool; the landscapes in harvest time were beautiful; and the world-class truffle festival was taking place in nearby Aqualagna.

Giulia, who manages, translates, and provides directions for day trips, was wonderful. Her father, Augusto Savini, was a renowned architect during his professional years, winning architecture awards for major hotel renovations in Milan and other places. His interior design of the farmhouse has taken an old structure on the outside, and equipped it with modern, state-of-the-art lighting, heating, bathrooms, bedding, and kitchen facilities on the inside. Giulia’s mother is a cook extraordinaire! The foods are all organic, mostly from the farm itself. The freshly baked breads, jams, fruits, and juices in the morning are all produced on site, with the yogurts and cheeses coming from nearby. We did day trips and booked evening meals back at the Locanda so that we could relax and enjoy the wine as well as the food, which was being prepared all day. The soups, meats, pasta sauces, vegetables, breads, and desserts each evening were among the major highlights of the week.

We used the Locanda as a base, and drove out each day, with Guilia’s help in planning routes and destinations. Urbino, famous Renaissance city of the Marche Region, is a 15-minute drive away. The National Gallery of the region, several medieval churches, and the home of Raphael make Urbino the destination for one or two days of enjoyment. Historically, it is the model city of the Renaissance, and today it is a university city, pulsing with energy. Urbania, Aqualagna, and the charming little mountain town of San Leo were other favorites of our group, with Guilia or her father telling us where to have our mid-day meal, frequently tiny obscure places that only the locals would know about. The day we went to Ravenna, we had dinner on the way back at a seafood restaurant on the shore at Cesenatico, that Sr. Savini arranged for us. He had also pointed us to the port there, which was designed by Leonardo.

Our week was fabulous. We fell in love with the Marche Region of Italy, and our glorious time had so much to do with the warm, friendly, hospitable, helpful, and nourishing facilities that we began and ended each day in.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AGRMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2007

We stayed at the Locanda the last week of their season this year. The accomodations and hospitality could not have been better. Giulia and her parents we all not only helpful, but I think all of us (a group of 5) felt like part of the family by the end of our stay.
We always like to stay either in a town or in an agriturismo where we can eat evening meals without having to drive after dinner, and we loved the food and wine served very much.
I recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jrose1g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2007

Four of us stayed in 2 rooms at the wonderful Locanda Valle Nuova. We enjoyed every aspect of our visit (6 nights!). Giulia was very helpful in reserving restaurants on the nights that we chose to go out. We particularly enjoyed a small restaurant in nearby Fermignano operated by a couple that Giulia knows (ask her, she'll remember!). We would love to come back some day.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank premer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2007

The place to stay outside of Urbino is the Locanda della Vallee Nuova. This is a family-run organic farm that includes a modern, impeccably clean set of rooms, with en suite bath, in the main house. Adriana does all the cooking using organic farm products. Multilingual Guilia takes care of the guests and is willing to spend long evenings over an aperatif discussing any number of issues and offerering free travel advice. The locanda is a 20 minute drive from Urbino, set in rolling hills with beautiful walks available. In our several months travelling through Italy in 2002 and 2006, this was the best establishment we stayed in. The home cooking is outstanding and the hosts treated us all as old friends. The Marche area has numerous attractions, and the Locanda della Vallee Nuova is the place to set up a home base.

Kal Holsti and Marilyn Wan, Vancouver, Canada

2  Thank tapioh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews