We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Maya Palace(Puerto Aventuras)
US$302
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Tropical(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$293
US$246
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Maya Caribe(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$293
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
LM by Inmense(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$385
US$311
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aventuras Club(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$240
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catalonia Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$225
US$155
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$588
US$285
BestDay.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,232)
Filter reviews
7,232 results
Traveller rating
4,536
1,710
582
244
160
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,536
1,710
582
244
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjalisco buildingseafooda la carte restaurantsmini golfair transatother resortsplaya del carmenjapanese restaurantgreat resortbowling alleytropical poolpalm treeskids water parkbarcelo mayakids clubhuge resortfamily vacation
Filter
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 7,232 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2018

I would recommend this resort to everyone!
Super kid friendly. Great staff. Great food. Very clean and well maintained.
I loved that it was right across the street from the Cenotes,
and that you didn't need to leave the resort to have fun.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank 391giulias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear 391igiulias:

Is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay, also thank you for take your value time to share with us your experience, was an honor to have had the opportunity to serve you, we hope to receive you once again very soon.

Best Regards.
La Gerencia
jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Our second time here.
Always chairs available at the beach in the shade under a palm tree.
A la carte restaurants are very good.
Exceptionally beautiful beach at the Maya Beach end of the complex with no rocks, about one kilometre of sandy bottom beach, great for swimming and walking the beach (as you can probably tell, we are beach people).
Among the many swimming pools, there are also two 25-metre lap pools.
Lots of shopping opportunities at hotel gift shops and Mexican market area. We found that items were actually cheaper at the hotel shops.
Our room was very well serviced by the maid and the minibar person.
All in all, a wonderful resort, beautiful setting, nice people. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Jomargliz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Jomargliz J:

On behalf of Barcelo Maya Colonial staff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to give your comments following your stay with us.
I appreciate your positive notes about the Hotel, and I was very happy to read that you liked the services that we offer.
I can let you know that all guest comments whether negative or positive are very important to us, as they show us the areas that we need to improve.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort and make your stay nothing but a pleasurable experience.

Best Regards,
La Gerencia
jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

We just returned from 11 days in Paradise! We stayed in a Premium level corner suite for 7 nights at the Tropical and then moved to a Jr Suite at the Palace for 4 nights. We enjoy the pool at the Colonial the most, so no matter which location we stay in on the resort we always spend our days at the Colonial pool. The vibe at the Colonial pool is laid back and the chairs are not are lined up in a row around the pool. You feel like you have more space and don't feel that people are right on top of you like you do at the Palace pool. The pool wait staff at the colonial are all super friendly and we feel like many are extended family after visiting this resort 4 times over the last 4 years. Antonia Mex, Maria Diaz, Martha Rosales and Sharon Cano are all great for pool service drinks and friendly conversation. We were extremely happy with our maid service at the Tropical Premium level as well. The food at the buffets is typical for this level of all inclusive in Mexico, we always found something that we enjoyed.
We were very pleased when we moved to the Palace and found that the food was indeed better at that buffet, and MUCH BETTER at the Ala Carte restaurants there. We really enjoyed the food at the Caribe restaurant at the Palace and the wait staff was awesome too. Our bed at the Palace was so comfortable, it was a pillow top and much more comfortable than our bed in the suite at the Tropical. This was our first time to stay at the Palace, we usually stay in a premium level suite at the Colonial or Tropical. On our next visit we will definitely stay at the Palace again but try Premium level there. No matter which section you stay in you will love the resort and the staff!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brenda Garner G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Brenda Garner:

On behalf of our hotel, we would like to thank you for coming to Barcelo Maya Colonial hotel; we also want to thank you for your significant opinion which is very important for us to improve our services and products .

we glad you have a good time during your vacations in our hotel.

we hope to have the privilege and the honor to share with you again soon.

La Gerencia
jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Loved every minute-perfect vacation!
I`ve been at Riviera Maya Beach resort many times, but my family specifically prefer Colonial.
It was a pleasure to see overall improvement again! It is a big resort but you feel like home and always welcome! I and my husband simply loved it!
Easy check-in in premium level, hosts were extremely helpful, always available, and always ready to help with every possible question.
Accommodation and housekeeping:
The room was spacious and had a lovely ocean view.
There was everything you needed (comfortable beds, iron and ironing board, safe box, always stocked in-room fridge, etc.) - everything spotless!
Buffet and restaurants were very clean, staff very friendly, servers very attentive. We have notice improvement (since our last year stay) in food variety at Colonial buffet; we also very much enjoyed a la Cart restaurants –especially Italian Capri (highly recommended!).
Night entertainment (the shows) was good as well, variety of performance in different theatres made it very special.
All staff worked as a team, very helpful and friendly. Special mention and special Thank you to Mr. Gregorz (Colonial Hotel sub-director) who has to be the kindest, most thoughtful and responsible person I ever met. He enjoys every minute at work (either friendly conversation/recommendation, or trouble shooting) and always going above and beyond of every possible expectations. He is definitely an asset to the resort/company (I have personally observed his customer service and interpersonal skills and learnt from him as I also work in customer service industry)
Thank you to Mr. Francisco (water sport area), Mr. Aginor (Ranch restaurant at the beach area), A la cart restaurants Manager on Duty (sorry, forgot this gentlemen name; he was in charge of each and every restaurant in permanent manager absence) and many more people who made our stay delightful!
Overall: I and my husband had an excellent time. We would definitely recommend this resort, especially Colonial Hotel (exceptional services, exceptional management team, distinguish hotel view (we love the thatch along the hotel). We can`t wait to go again!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Irina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Dear Irina:

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló Maya Colonial We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. 
It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours.
Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best Regards
La Gerencia
jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

My partner & I just come back here from a 2 week stayed & loved it! The Barcelo Maya Grand Resort consists of 5 hotels, four in which you have access to- Beach, Caribe, Colonial & Tropical (Palace you cannot)

We were originally placed in the Beach but reading reviews & looking at the hotel I asked to be moved to the Colonial which is more in the centre which they did.

Check in- Was easy, quick & was welcomed with a map & welcome drink

Room- We were situated on the ground floor of the “Jalisco” which we felt was perfect access to the Mall, Restaurants, Theatre etc. Rooms are a good size with a mini bar which is re stocked daily, air con, no issues with rooms.

Pool- There are four pools all with swim up bars, we found the tropical & colonial pools the best. They are the biggest with a lot of stuff going on in the tropical including games & water aerobics music etc. We never struggled to get a sunbed, occassionally would get up late go for breakfast & stroll down at 10:30 & easily get a lounger. (THERE ARE NO PARASOLS) pool always clean.

Food- Oh my the food is amaZing! We booked all our A La Cartes straight away when we checked in, I would advise you to do the same do not leave it so you can get a good time. The Spanish ( La Fuente ) is amazing we went twice. There are also four buffets which we had a few times for dinner and is always plenty of options you can’t complain!!

Entertainment- We found the entertainment very good, people I have seen have moaned about it but I dont understand what you are expecting its not broadway? They all put on a fab show & different each night amazing singers and dancers!

There is a bowling alley/arcade & sports bar which serves food & open 24/7.

Location- this hotel is in Riveria Maya & obviously you can’t go wondering the streets here but there is plenty to do, we stayed 2 weeks and didn’t get bored once! The reps provide plenty of activites to do outside the hotel which are very good but very expensive, you will be looking at 120 dollars roughly per person.

Water Sports- There is kayaking, bike pedalo & snorkelling you can do for free and other paid activites such as banana boat, jet skies, parasailiing diving etc available. There is also by the Maya Mall a surf ride/flow board activity you can do for 20 dollars.

Negatives- We do not really have any except the wifi! You can only use between 10-1 in the Maya Mall so if your staying in the beach it can be annoying to walk everyday!
On one of the days we experienced severe rain which caused ALL of the ground floor in the Jalisco to be flooded inside the rooms!!! But the staff did everything they could to clean the mess up for everybody so we cannot fault them for this.

Overall this hotel is huge, lots to do you will not get bored and plenty of activites to do outside the hotel. Food is amazing & visiting April bar the one rain day it was over 30 degree heat everyday!!

X

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NSP1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Guest:

On behalf of Barcelo Maya Colonial staff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to give your comments following your stay with us.
I appreciate your positive notes about the Hotel, and I was very happy to read that you liked the services that we offer.
I can let you know that all guest comments whether negative or positive are very important to us, as they show us the areas that we need to improve.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort and make your stay nothing but a pleasurable experience.

Best Regards,
La Gerencia
jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews