We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Barcelo.com
US$234
View deal
Expedia.com
US$234
View deal
Hotels.com
US$234
View deal
PricelineUS$234
TravelocityUS$234
TraveluroUS$244
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,767)
Filter reviews
9,767 results
Traveller rating
6,097
2,152
803
396
319
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
6,097
2,152
803
396
319
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood a la carte restaurants mini golf other resorts great resort bowling alley kids club santa fe family vacation japanese restaurant beach caribe playa del carmen kids pool palm trees water sports tennis courts grand resort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 9,767 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2021

The staff at Barcelo was absolutely amazing!! They were so fun and got us up and moving. Edwardo had awesome upbeat energy and Ambial lead great activities! They all are a fantastic team! I highly recommend!

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 390courtneyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceló Colonial, Propietario at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us.
I am grateful for your compliments towards our staff, whose kindness and helpfulness is one of our hotel's greatest strengths and I promise to congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst in our hotel.
Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2021

A million positives about Barcelo (Colonial). Huge number of optional activities for any age (some cost; para-glide 130 USD for 2, surfingsmall waterpark 20USD/day but many don't; tennis, paddle bal, snorkel equipment, scuba lesson, nightly shows.
Superbly well maintained grounds. Massive property to explore. Never a prpblem getting lounge chairs (group of 10) but this is during covid and less than full capacity. Staff were exceptional when it came to covid protocols, and politeness. Almost all tourists used masks when required (mandatory when in buffet) but mask free outside.
The lobby desk check-in and out system is very slow at times and antiquated.
Sometimes, different staff would give different answers to the same questions.
The buffet food is fine in quality and variety. The restruants were OK (Kyoto was fabulous); most where gourmet looking but average at best food. Book ALL the restaurants immediately!!! They fill quicky! At times, there is a bit of a septic smell in ONE spot. Beach and sand is not the best in the world or on Mayan but lovely. Lots of palm tress and shade areas everywhere.
Group of 10 ranging from 10 to 73 had a great time. And our duahgter is in the travel and tourism business. We'd all return!

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunfunx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceló Colonial, Propietario at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2021
Google Translation

Dear guest

Estamos sinceramente agradecidos por el tiempo que ha dedicado en compartir su opinión sobre su reciente estancia en nuestro hotel Barceló Maya Colonial. Su detallada opinión nos ayudará a continuar mejorando la calidad de nuestros servicios.

We are thrilled you enjoyed the varied entertainment program organized by our professional team and enhanced by their genuine friendliness and enthusiasm to make sure all guests joining into the daily activities are having a memorable moment among us and we will certainly not fail to share your congratulations with the entire team.

Una vez más le damos las gracias por haber elegido nuestro hotel para sus vacaciones y esperamos tener la oportunidad de servirle de nuevo en el futuro.

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2021 via mobile

Great experience at the Tokyo Restaurant . Thanks to Jose Duarte and Carla fir this great family might. The food was well prepared and Jose was great.

I suggest families from all over the world to try this restaurant when visiting Barcelo Riviera Maya.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sanqui-COL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceló Colonial, Propietario at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2021

Dear guest

First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our Maya Colonial hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations.

At Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday expérience in our hotels, this is why our team of Chefs prepare for each service a wide variety of delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, we are therefore very pleased that we could satisfy yours.

Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2021

Every year me and my son go to Mexico for a long time, at this time it was 8 weeks in 5 different hotels, this one was last week and worst!!!Rude staff, terrible service, nobody cares about you!! I do not know whats going on here, we have been to amazing places, i do not know what is depends on , probably from the administration. Room was very old and damp , i should to change sheets every day myself on two beds, because it was faster than i ask someone to do it. when i ask to bring me sheets it could take 1,5 hours, one time i was waiting till 12.30 midnight and still did not get what i need, staff very poor in english, even at the reception...whatever you ask, you have to wait long time or they just forget about you in generally!!...i asked dehumidifier, they did not have it, all hotel where i was had this, supervisor promised to change room , but offered 2 rooms even worse than i had, and finally forgot about me, i was not surprised, this is normal for this hotel......last two years i was in Barcelo Maya Palace it was very good, and this is the same chain of hotels, i do not understand whats going on at Barcelo Maya Colonial, why its so bad????

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edita777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceló Colonial, Propietario at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2021

Dear guest

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the imperfections you describe in your review, all rooms reserved for new arrivals are per standard double checked by our head of housekeeping to ensure that everything is functional and spotless for our guests, clearly we were not performing to our usual standard on this occasion and we regret not being immediatley informed at réception so as to be able to intervene in no time for you to fully enjoy your stay in our hotel, for a future occasion, please do not hesitate to contact the réception desk for anything you may need, the team will do its utmost to find an immediate solution for you.

It is with great concern that we read your comments about our staff mostly because their service has been praised many times for their professionalism yet genuine friendliness and we assure you that what you described is not the norm for us. We appreciate you taking the time to notify us of your personal expérience and rest assured that your review will be discussed with all departmental managers for evaluation and action as needed.

Once again we thank you for sharing this valuable feedback with us, please rest assured that the information you have provided will be used accordingly to enhance our future guests' experiences among us and we hope you will visit us again in the future.

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2021

From check in to check out it was constant problems. When we arrived there were 2 staff checking in guests. We were next to be waited on. It took us approximately an hour just to check in. When we arrived to our room there was not a remote for the tv. My spouse when to ask about a remote and look for something to eat. (No map or guidance was given to us.) Maintenance came with a remote that didn't work for the tv. He said he would be back and never came. My spouse calls and says restaurants were closed. I found a room service menu. Room service is 24/7. I called (11 pm) and was put on hold. They never answered. The next morning I tested the safe. It locked but would not open again. So we went to breakfast at the buffet. Most of the food was cold. Next we headed over to Guest Services. The lady didn't speak English. Luckily my spouse is Mexican and was able to come talk to her and let her know what was going on. She took our information and then was trying to pressure my spouse to buy into their vacation club. Since the sit down restaurants required reservations I sat down with a worker that speaks English and proceeded to make reservations. We spent 4 nights so I was trying to make reservations for 2 nights. I was told there would be a $20 fee if I wanted more than one restaurant. I told her no and moved on. (finally a remote arrived) We went to the pool no drink menu. We don't drink very often at all. But while on vacation I thought I would have some fruity cocktails. Upon arriving back to our room after dinner we could not get in. It took us approx 20 minutes to get it. (There are no service phones located in the hotel.) Day 3 housekeeping came took all the used towels and didn't replace them. So we didn't have a hand towel to use after washing our hands. We were not provided wash clothes at all. Once again after dinner we couldn't get into our room. We asked another guest to call the front desk for us. Which she did. But no one showed up. My spouse had to go locate an employee. They came and let us in and then called maintenance to change battery in door. (I spoke with another guest who had the same problem.) And witnessed another guest on our floor having the same problem). Day 4 was fine. This is the night we had at the steak house. Our steaks were very thin but it was cooked properly. Check out was fairly quick.

Most of the staff was rude. I was barely talked to by the staff. And there was a constant sewer smell. In the room and on the grounds. The restroom at the pool restaurant was the worst.

Room tip: Find a different hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank My2bluedogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceló Colonial, Propietario at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2021

Dear guest

Thank you for sharing a review of Barceló Maya Colonial. It does indeed sound from what you describe that some aspects of your stay did not meet our usual standards of service; please accept our sincerest apologies for failing to make your stay with us a perfect moment of relaxation, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention

Our staff's service and kindness is one of our main strenghts and we are quite disappointed to hear that you felt we underperformed in this area at our the réception desk; nevertheless we will not fail to share your comments with our head of department for information and further revision.

We have taken good note of your remarks related to the service you received upon check in and apologize for the exceptional wait you expérienced upon your arrival, we will do our utmost to improve on this aspect of our services and extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you and your loved ones.

Once again, thank you for your visit and constructive critics, we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times.



best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews