We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the bay”
Review of Fatima Bay

Fatima Bay
Reviewed 25 October 2015

especially when I have it all to myself. Don't really want to say too much because Akumal Bay is now ruined thanks to the hoards of snorkel tours...

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank Finssup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gorgeous beach"
in 2 reviews
"omni hotel"
in 2 reviews
"beauty"
in 2 reviews
"stroll"
in 2 reviews
"ocean"
in 3 reviews
"snorkel"
in 3 reviews
"tours"
in 2 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2015

We were here 5 years ago and snorkeled everyday. Both of my children learned to swim at Fatima Bay (thank you salt water. Thank you ocean) We arrived this time to find the unsightly barriers and a good part of the beach washed away. The water was full of sargasso seaweed, which is unsightly and smells as it decays, but that encouraged a sea turtle to come and eat. I swam with this turtle near me for at least 45 min. My family went out to see if they could find the coral reef at the end of the bay, but it has proved somewhat elusive. There used to be a fantastic reef where the ocean met the bay, but it seems to be in small pieces now.

Date of experience: July 2015
2  Thank Kdonnel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2015

This bay is very beautiful. The shallow waters are generally calm and peaceful but when the wind is up try any wind sport you like. Many condos on the bay actually have a view to the west so sunsets are spectacular.

Date of experience: January 2015
3  Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2014

Saw occasional ray, and fun to watch fish/ take pictures. My muscles like the ions in the ocean, so great stretching, and safe.

Date of experience: January 2014
2  Thank kitty1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2014

Over many years, a slow outward migration of sand has been taking place. There are many conjectures as to why, but human intervention seems to have reversed the tide (so to speak). A new man-made stone cage breakwater now extends across the bay in front of Omni Hotel.

The shallow water inside the breakwater is sandy, very warm, and wave-free. It is a perfect place to wallow and float. Serious swimmers can venture outside the breakwater into the slightly cooler water.

A benefit of the breakwater seems to have been a growth in the amount of sand at the beach, although the sand still has a long way to go before the Omni returns to its days of plentiful sand (as we remember over the past 9 years of coming here). The water laps at the steps to the Omni's outdoor bar.

It is a safe and comfortable place to spend some time. Fatima Bay does not see the hoards of people that Playa del Camen sees, and for that, let us give thanks!

Date of experience: November 2014
5  Thank on_the_go_98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fatima Bay also viewed

Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Fatima Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing