We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$125
View deal
Hotels.com
US$125
View deal
Trip.com
US$125
US$109
View deal
SAVE US$16
Free cancellation until 04/07/21
TravelocityUS$125
Orbitz.comUS$125
CheapTicketsUS$125
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,498)
Filter reviews
2,498 results
Traveller rating
1,024
939
338
115
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,024
939
338
115
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gated community a la cartes playa del carmen tapas water shoes crepes japanese restaurant sports bar privileged room the grill alarm clock basic room recommend this resort mini fridge small resort star resort hotel grounds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 2,498 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This property is old and should be shut down. The rooms wreck of mold, the air conditioners do not work, fridges in rooms do not work. The plugs in rooms are lose and a fire hazard. During our stay the building lost power (not due to a storm) 6 times. The fire alarm would not stop going off so they simply pulled it out of the wall to silence it. No social distancing at all. What restaurants are open serve food you may give a stray dog. Pool area overcrowded, chairs old and worn, around pool tiles missing and mold. Beach area is maybe 6 feet of sand and so overtaken by seaweed that the smell is horrendous and you can’t sit at the beach. Absolutely not a good thing to stay about this resort and would have left it i was not with a large group! So many other resorts in area do not waste your time.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Erin,

Once again, thank you very much for letting us know your opinion through this platform, for us it is of utmost importance.

After our Guest Service representative spoke with Mr. Doucett, our executive and operational team was informed of the non-conformities pointed out, we want to let you know that each department is already addressing the areas of opportunity, we understand how important they are to you and with the sole objective of not repeating these experiences, a work plan has been put in place; once again, we appreciate the concern of you and your family in letting us know your impressions through our different sources of opinion.

Dear Erin, despite the final outcome, we hope to have the opportunity to amend your disappointment and meet your expectations in a future visit with the service that you expect and certainly deserve.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2021

DO NOT COME HERE IF YOU WANT WIFI!!!! THERE IS NO WIFI, AND OF THERE IS, IT IS THE ABSOLUTE WORST WIFI I HAVE EVER SEEN. everything else is fine, but this completely ruined my trip. staff are nice and helpful, but the pool area is rowdy, loud, and annoying.

Room tip: Upgrade to Privileged
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank allyormsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2020

Over the years I have not been bashful about sharing with the world what I think of the Catalonia Riviera Maya / Yucatan Beach Resorts and that it is one of places on earth I sincerely love to be. It is a wonderful place for us, but as nice as the Resort is, this review is not about that… As I have always said, it’s the people that make it so special. Enrico and his team have assembled an incredible group of staff that takes care of your every whim. We have already booked our next trip for the end of October and we can only HOPE and PRAY that all of our Catalonia Family and Friends make it through this terrible virus that is plaguing the world and we all reunite once again at the CAT. I know I can’t name everyone that we miss so much but we can start with Alix, Lesly and all the Guest Services Team. Leads Marco, Dayvi, Pablo, Luis. Front desk folks Abisai, Adrian, Victor and staffs. The people who get us fed Ester, Patti, Jacky Chan, Teresa, Virgina, Dabio, Alexandra, Alejandro, Angelica, Judith, Brenda, Eliud, Rodolfo, Jose, Domingo, Misael, Luis, Abraham, Lois, Edwin, Andi, Jose, Joel, Rosario, and Zindy to name a few. One of the guys that keeps us all safe around the water, Jose. And the guys that really keep us happy Leo, Alfonso, Pedro, Manuel, Francisco, Rafael who I always call Ruben and Gerardo, also to just name a few. The wonderful towel lady and the gentleman that takes such good care of the pools. Plus all of the people behind the scenes that keep the Resort beautiful and well kept. All of you have made the experiences so special on each of our last 18 stays. The frustrating thing is as you get older the memory gets shorter, so please excuse any omissions because you are all part of the team. We hope so much that you all COME BACK. The place would truly not be the same without you!!!

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank travelerjim2240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Social Media at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2020

Dear Jim,

Once again, we are very proud of this amazing outcome, your words make us feel proud of our work and you motive us to keep working with love.

Even we cannot thank you enough, we would like to say thank you for your confidence!

Hope to see you soon and keep creating unforgettable memories.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2020

CATALONIA YUCATÁN BEACH

Our third choice but was very happy with it, WOULD recommend to friends

Mexico – Riviera Maya
Stayed from the week of Feb. 2020 
Family trip group of 11, ages from 21 to 55.
Booking with Sell Off Vacations VIA Air Canada Vacations – Requested Garden (pool) view rooms (7) Room, upon arrival were very pleased with rooms.

Very good four ½ star Resort, CONS LISTED AT Bottom of Review

Highlights
Located in Puerto Adventuras gated community, plenty of sun loungers on beach, at pools along with bean bag chairs and some superior loungers close to the Beach Bar

Emailed Resort with special requests all were requests were observed thank you to the booking persons

First off the sunrises from the beach / boardwalk are amazing the grounds were very well kept

Snorkeling available at beach, very good right from beach, water shoes a must

Restaurants
Two Buffets one opens at 6:30 for food and coffee, this is the bigger and better of the two, located at Maya side of complex

Five available Al-a-cartes available to standard booked guest which include, I will say I went to the four allowed as a standard guest and loved them all, great food and service TRUE al-a-carte.

The Bellavista restaurant recommends its Italian à la carte specialties in a pleasant environment with incredible views. All the flavor of Italy, great view of Caribbean Sea, excellent service and food

The Alebrijes restaurant wonderful views while savoring authentic a la carte Mexican food. Discover the most delicious typical dishes,

The Bamboloeo restaurant Steak House & Grill, GREAT food decor a little dated

The Terrance Lounge restaurant offers delicious tapas specialties. It has a pleasant interior space and a furnished outdoor terrace, look relaxing did not try this restaurant as others had better sight lines from the tables

The BLoved restaurant – FOR Privileged Guest only did not try.

The Ayami restaurant Asian food. Highlights sushi and 4 entertaining Japanese teppanyaki tables. The live cooking show was fantastic BOOK this one early you wont regret it our group of 11 fit on one show table and we had a blast.

Five swimming pools and children's pool, one pool was designated for Privileged guest and above.

Alegria Spa- steam bath, whirlpool bath and gym – Family used the gym, beach message and experienced the hydrotherapy treatments, all of which were excellent at a reasonable price.

Rooms well-appointed with free Wi-Fi which worked well throughout the entire complex, beach included.

Grounds very nice well-kept you can tell they care about the look of the resort as long as you are looking inwards, the grounds along the roadway leading into the resorts from the main RIU gate were not as well kept.

All staff were excellent from desk staff to servers, no complaints at all.

Special mention to some great bar tenders in the Sports Bar

Overall a fantastic family trip, I would recommend this resort to my friends travelling to the Mayan Rivera region.

CONS:
Being a group of 11, we could not find a table at any restaurant for our family to sit together, the restaurants would not accommodate NOR would they let us move tables together.
1.Upon check in two of our 7 rooms were still dirty, even though the cleaning service released the rooms to us. We also found glass on the floor from a broken light fixture. My daughter cut her foot compensation was received from Management which we deemed appropriate, thank you to Guest Services for fixing that issue.
2.Rooms had a mini fridge which was stocked with water, no other beverages included in a standard package, for approximate 20 dollars per person per night could have upgraded to Privileged and gotten addition features and beverages in the room. All inclusive should include some pop and alcoholic beverages in the room fridge, IMHO.
3.Being a family of 11 we wanted to sit together for dinners but were not allowed to, asked if we could move table together and were told NO, made sense in some a-la-cartes due to the tables and chairs but even in the buffet were told we are not allowed. Talked with the front desk Guest services staff and they shocked, mentioned it to them so they could look at a change in policy for larger groups.

Room tip: 4th floor rooms on Yucatan have partial ocean views
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2020

We arrived and they forgot to pick us up at the Airport. We booked an All inclusive deal for $6,000. The room was lovely but the Plunge pool was a Bathtub. We had no hot water for the first Three days. The Butler promised was no longer there, the private Privileged Lounge was also no longer there. We had to get up at 6:00a.m. To put our towels on a chair or you could not get one, No entertainment in the evening except a Movie Theatre wIt’s old re runs. The ocean was extremely rocky and could not go in, No Sandy beaches to lie on or walk on. The elevator broke down as they moved us to the other bldg, so we got hot hoy water but for Three more days no hot water in the bathroom. That was 6 days of our holiday. No Manager would meet with me when I complained about these things. Poor attitude toward clients spending a great deal of money. I would never go back there or recommend it.
The only good thing was they had six wonderful Resturants, from Itallian, ,Steak, Japanese,etc the food was great. That is the only thing that was great. The bell boys were also very nice and helpful.. I would say the area was beautiful but the service was very bad, the up-in problems were not fixed.all the time we were there. We did get hot water the last days. I would never go on an all inclusive after this experience.

Room tip: It depends on what you want to spend, but I would not recommend wasting it on Privaledged
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jimoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews