We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tante Martha Homestay
Nearby Hotels
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Bahowo Lodge(Manado)
US$75
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$67
US$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siladen Resort & Spa(Siladen Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Onong Resort(Manado)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
10
4
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
4
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmosquito netbucketbedsmealsisland
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We were really excited to stay at Tante Martha, but didn't have the best experience. We called a few times before arriving to confirm our reservation. When we arrived they didn't remember that we booked. They were overbooked so we stayed in their house, which was not a very nice experience. We then did get a bungalow the next night, but only stayed one night due to very loud children staying in the bungalow next door. Nice island, good snorkeling, but could have a better experience staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueToesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We ended up not staying here so I can't say anything about the place itself. I just want to warn people that also here overbooking does occur. We booked and agreed with them by phone 3 weeks before coming and were told it wasn't a problem. The day before coming we called them to ask about the ferry (it was Idul Fitri that day and we told by several people there wouldn't be a ferry). Luckily we did this since they told us they had no space for us even though they did have our booking. Good thing we checked the night before since once you're on the island you can't take a ferry back the same day so we would have had to take an expensive charter boat back. So just call in advance.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Merlin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Tante Martha Homestay Siladen

We stayed here at this lovely place for 4 nights in May 2013. It's run by the friendly Tante Martha who was very welcoming. We asked for vegetarian food and the way she cooked it was just perfect. During the day we had enough java coffee and tea. The wooden bungalow are big enough for 2 persons. The beds are comfy. A fan is missing but we didn't needed any. The bathroom is a local mandy and a western toilet which was okay. Water and electricity runs from 6 to 10 pm only. The small island is home to a few locals and there aren't many tourists around during the day as most of them are on diving trips. The sunsets right in front of the bungalow are amazing! There's a fantastic snorkelling area just outside of the beach. After 3 minutes the underwater world is yours. Colourful and different corals- all kinds of different fishes. The price of IDR250'000 per person includes all meals and is really worth it. We departed on a sunday. The only day with no public boat to Manado and we paid IDR250'000 for the private charter boat.
We can recommend this place to other travellers who are looking for some relaxing days in a friendly homestay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sonyx44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Mama Martha's Homestay has basic bungalows with private porches. It is basic, but it has all you need. Since the bungalows are made of wood it does have a rustic charm. Like at most (budget) places on Sulawesi you will have to fill up a bucket to shower and flush the toilet and electicity is limited to a couple of hours a day.
The beach is absolutely beautiful and Martha and her family are absolutely wonderful! If they hear you need something they will provide it, if they can. For us this meant candles and a diving/snorkeling stick we got to borrow. The food was really good! One of the most tasty we got while travelling Sulawesi for one month!! I guess they cook how they would for their family in stead of "changing it to the taste of tourists". The meals are served on the big table on the beach or on your own porch.
Furthermore, the snorkelling, just from the beach in front of your bungalow, is really good!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed at Tante Marta which is the cheapest option on the island (there are only 3 or 4 other options, the most expensive is Siladen Resort at around £200 per person per night, or mid range options like oongs for around 90 euros per person per night). our place, Tante marta was next to Siladen resort and so shared the best beach on the island (deep, soft sand that did not get entirely soaked at high tide so would always be soft in the mornings). Room was more basic than in bunaken, toilet was very very basic - western toilet bowl with no flush or seat and bucket and pail for showering and flushing. However given its so much cheaper it was worth it for us. On that note it was 200k Rp per person per night including 3 meals and water. The basic amenities were more than made up for by the warm welcome from tante marta (minimal english though!) and her husband and daughter who looked after us like we were part of the family, especially when one of us got very ill and she called the doctor and insisted paying for medication and prepared special meals. The other big draw is the fantastic sunsets over Manado Tuah which is directly in the line of sight and its easy to lose yourself in the sheer beauty of a wonderfully golden sunset that repeats itself every day over the supremely idyllic volcanic Tuah.
In terms of snorkelling, the coral is again very good, you need to go a little way out, but not more than 5 min swim straight out and you get to wonderful corals which fall away at the dropoff. Marine highlights were turtles, eels, cuttlefish, blue spotted rays and scorpion fishes and all the usuals from Bunaken but the best was a family of 4 bumphead parrotfish that were always found (well 4 days out of five) at the point where the sea grass meets the coral basically straight out from tante moon (which is the resort between Siladen resort and tante marta). Bear in mind all this marine life was simply from snorkeling, not diving. Other snorkleing spots are near the jetty where theres lots of life and if you hover under the jetty you will see some interesting macro life such as lots of lizard type fishes, scorpionfishes and eels.
Overall great location and friendly hosts. Rooms are budget and toilets basic but as long as you are prepared for this, it should be a great holiday

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pazmataz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews