We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Siladen Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$53
Priceline
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$492
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bahowo Lodge(Manado)
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$100
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$77/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Genio Hotel Manado(Manado)(Great Value!)
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$33
US$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveller rating
437
85
16
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
85
16
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishsiladen resortdive sitesgreat divingbunaken marine parkdive staffpastalunch and dinnerdive masternorth sulawesibeach frontmanado tuabuffet stylethe reefsoutdoor bathroomdive shopmuck diving
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 549 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2017

In line with my policy of reviewing facilities based on value, and not just comparing them in absolute terms with other facilities, I can say that this resort which caters mainly to divers, is in fact a great value. You get to the little Siladen Island after flying to Manado, taking a van shuttle provided by the hotel and a boat ride also in one of the resorts dive boats. From the minute you arrive, they are waiting for you with a genuine smile and an ice cold towel to get refreshed. That sets the tone for the kind of service you are going to get: authentic pleasant and friendly care by the very attentive Indonesian staff, the kind of service that is hard to find. The resort itself is in an idyllic setting, facing the amazing sunsets with the Volcano behind Bunaken showing in the distance. I had an ocean front suite, with a well appointed outdoor bathroom and shower, decorated in a tropical and simple, yet luxurious style. You may not find the most sophisticated features of high end properties here, but the room is clean, of generous proportions and the bed comfortable. Of course, the views are amazing and having your beverage of choice in your outdoor deck is a treat. You are, in these ocean front rooms, maybe just 40-50 feet from the ocean. The jacuzzi outside is more for refreshing yourself and taking the sand off than anything else, the wifi is slow and you get disconnected often and the spa is nice but not exclusive by any chance, but again, this place is a terrific value, and didn´t you always say you wanted to be disconnected, in paradise, without checking your social media and emails all the time? This, then, is the place. The food is amazing, highlighting fresh, local ingredients without overwhelming visitors with the spices typical of Indonesian food (available on request, which I did!). Breakfasts are plentiful, with a lot of fresh tropical fruits (dragon fruit anyone?!) plus all the choices you usually have at home. The coffee is a little weak but there is expresso and capuccino at an extra cost and the did managers hook me up with local fresh coffee for my in room drip machine.There is nothing to do, if you want, or plenty to do; they have kajaks and a stand up paddle board to be used complimentary and of course you can dive and take classes in the dive shop. The pool is nice and the beach is even nicer! The tides fluctuate widely so many times you can wade far into the sea and explore the tidal pools. The resort can set up excursions to neighboring islands and land excursions to the rain forest, local market (not for the faint of heart), town, etc. Or you can just relax with a good book by the beach or in your deck and forget about technology for once. We were in an all inclusive plan, part of a diving trip, and all the meals were included. There is a good diversity of cocktails, couple of kinds of wine and soft drinks available, some of them at a premium extra price because many items come from far away. Dinners and Lunches, weather permitting, are done all fresco, so you can savor the yummy specialties (I met the young, excellent Italian chef)while you wiggle your feet in the sand. If you are a diver you are going to be in heaven. The dive shop is a highly rated Padi resort. Siladen and Bunaken diving is world famous for the macro life and the diversity of critters, larvae and fish. Night dives are otherworldy. Sightings of rare species and wonderful day trips to Lembeh and other sites are unique and euphoria inducing ( I got footage of a blue ring octopus!). But at the end of the day, what makes this resort special is the people: every member of the staff is friendly and willing to help, the owners and managers live on site and concerned with your well being and they do go out of their way to acommodate you. Perhaps the only downer was the garbage in the small village next to the resort and the plasticyou find in the ocean. But again, these are in no way the fault of the hotel or the local residents but rather a result of our consumerist culture being exported to these beautiful paradise.

Room Tip: Go for ocean front or ocean view if you can afford it.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Manuelnuevayork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaFonseca_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Siladen Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Manuel,

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review of your stay with us. Its a big pleasure to hear you had such a good experience in Siladen. We are happy you enjoyed the dives, the resort and our amazing food. Most of all we are happy you think its the people that make Siladen special, we couldn't agree more and we are very thankful for the great work of our friendly team. It is heartbreaking to find plastic pollution in these beautiful areas and we will keep working on reducing our own waste and helping the local people to do the same.
Again, thank you so much for the kind words. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards from everyone at Siladen Resort & Spa,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

Fantastic combination of a luxurious resort, great food and amazing dive sites off the coast of North Sulawesi.
I chose Siladen on the basis of advice from Original Diving - my spec was somewhere friendly for a solo traveller with wide variety of fish, coral and small creatures to see on dives. Wow, this place delivered!
While there I decided to take the PADI Advanced Open Water course and really learnt a great deal from the instructor and guides at the dive centre. The dive boats are really well organised, both in terms of safety and comfort.
The attention to detail and the culture of ‘relaxed excellence’ throughout the resort really made my holiday special.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Mel1141476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaFonseca_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Siladen Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Mel,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are so happy you had such a good experience in Siladen. It was a pleasure to meet you and we are happy you consider that our attention to detail made your holiday special. We look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps for the rescue course next time?
Kind regards from everyone at Siladen Resort & Spa,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Following up on a previous stay of a few days after a livaboard, we decided to return to establish if Siladen was as good as we remembered. Well it was even better! From the moment we arrived (thanks for the gong bong Jerrie) having been met at the airport by Julie, we were made to feel welcome by all staff. Ana and Miguel manage the resort with calm and friendly efficiency, ensuring contact with all guests during the stays.
Diving centre is well managed, the boat and dive organisation and information is clear and our kit treated with care, thanks Teddy and co. Nobly, our guide, was an excellent spotter with a good sense of humour, in and out of the water.
Garden room that we stayed in was as described, bed big and comfy, room spacious and plenty of storage. The revamped shower rooms greatly appreciated for comfort and style. Having now seen the beach view villas, guess where we will be staying next time!
And as for the food, we have eaten in many places with good catering, including Michelin starred restaurants, and with no exaggeration, some of the dishes compared exceedingly well. Perfect eggs at breakfast, variety at lunch, and the snacks on the boat did not support abstinence.
Very much looking forward to seeing you all next year.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jacquisbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaFonseca_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Siladen Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Jacquisbc,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. Its a pleasure to hear your recent experience was even better than what you remembered. We are so happy you consider the resort and diving centre well managed and you liked our new bathrooms, the diving and the food. We look forward to your third visit.
Kind regards from everyone at Siladen Resort and Spa,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Just returned from a fantastic week being looked after by everyone at Siladen. Its lovely being greeted by name in the morning, always made to feel welcome and that they genuinely care you are having a good time.

The dive team take care of you too, setting up kit, helping with kitting up and spotting all the amazing creatures the reefs have to offer.

Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natasharobinson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaFonseca_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Siladen Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Natasha,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so happy you consider us a friendly and lovely place. Its a pleasure you felt well loked after by the resort and diving centre team.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards from everyone at Siladen Resort and Spa,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

I went for the incredible diving and my partner went for a relaxing stay around the pool. Not only were we completely satisfied with these objectives, but the resort was just so quiet and comfortable, and the staff was exemplary. Within a couple of days, nearly everyone knew our names.

The spa centre was immaculately clean, well organised and the staff were reallly nice. Best of all though, the massages were actually great. Many resorts and villas etc in SE Asia only give weak, ordinary massages, but not here. We had several, and they were all very good, and as firm as you wanted.

The diving exceeded my expectations and I easily completed up to four dives a day. The diving crew was extremely well organised and helpful. The dives were incredible. I have never see such a variety of life and colour underwater; and I have dived in places like the Gillies and Fernando de Nonha, which are on the top ten list.

The resort was basically deserted and very quiet during the day, which suited my partner completely, but the place was so quiet and peaceful, with nobody selling you anything and the staff was only a breath away if you needed anything. She was easily able to relax on deck chairs and beach beds around the pool and on the beach right next to it.

Oh, and the weather didn't disappoint. Although it got cloudy and wet a couple of times in the afternoons, it wasn't an issue, as it rarely lasted long, and there are heaps of umbrellas everywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank portpad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaFonseca_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Siladen Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear portpad1,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are very pleased you enjoyed our quiet and comfortable resort and most of all we are happy you considered our staff exemplary. Its also a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the massages and the wonderful dives in Bunaken National Park.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from the Siladen Resort & Spa team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews