We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort with Great Diving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Siladen Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Siladen Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my first visit to the Siladen Resort and 3rd time diving Bunaken Marine Park. The transfer from Manado airport by van and boat takes almost 2 hours.

At Siladen Resort, I had a very nice beach front bungalow with a large deck, TV, frig, and small outside rinse pool. The rooms had very spotty wifi. The resort has a very large pool and well kept grounds.

The restaurant served some of the best food that I have ever had at either a resort or on a live-aboard. The meals were served in the dining room or on the beach, weather permitting. Breakfast was buffet with a large selection of different foods and an egg station. Lunch was primarily buffet with a made-to-order BBQ. Dinner was both buffer and ala carte. The meals offered an excellent selection of seafood, beef, pork, chicken and some Indonesian dishes. The soups and desserts were excellent. A nice selection of wines and premium spirits is offered.

The resort has an excellent camera room with individual work stations, plenty of power outlets, camera clothes, rinse tanks and compressed air.

The dive operation is well-run. The crew takes care of rinsing, storing, and setting up the dive gear. There are 2 morning dives at 8 AM and an afternoon dive at 3 PM. The dive boats have a head and offered water, coffee, fruit and snacks.

I had a private dive guide, Danni, who is an excellent critter-finder and dive buddy. He has great knowledge of the dive sites and was always friendly and helpful.

We dived most of the islands in the marine park including Bunaken, Siladen, Manado Tua, and Mantehage. We also hit some dive sites off of North Sulawesi. The dive briefings were nice -- short but thorough. We usually boarded the dive boats off the beach near the dive shop. On a couple of days, due to low tide, we had to walk thru the village to board at a more accessible beach.

The marine life encountered included several species of shrimp, crabs, nudibranchs, pipefish and squat lobsters. We also enjoyed several different types of anemone fish, moray eels and scorpionfish. We even had a nice encounter with a wunderpuss. The largest critter encountered were green sea turtles, which were seen off all the walls about Bunaken Island.

Siladen Resort is an excellent operation with very nice accommodations, savory food and great diving. The staff is very friendly and always helpful. Also, for Indonesia, it is fairly easy to get to.

I will definitely return to the Siladen Resort when next in the North Sulawesi area.

Room Tip: The deluxe, beach front bungalow is weil worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DiverMiguelito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaFonseca_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Siladen Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear DiverMiguelito,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay with us. Its such a pleasure to hear you consider Siladen to be an excellent operation with very nice accommodations, savory food and great diving. Most of all its a pleasure to hear you consider our staff friendly and helpful, we will pass your kind comments to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards from everyone in Siladen Resort & Spa,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In line with my policy of reviewing facilities based on value, and not just comparing them in absolute terms with other facilities, I can say that this resort which caters mainly to divers, is in fact a great value. You get to the little Siladen Island after flying to Manado, taking a van shuttle provided by the hotel and a boat ride also in one of the resorts dive boats. From the minute you arrive, they are waiting for you with a genuine smile and an ice cold towel to get refreshed. That sets the tone for the kind of service you are going to get: authentic pleasant and friendly care by the very attentive Indonesian staff, the kind of service that is hard to find. The resort itself is in an idyllic setting, facing the amazing sunsets with the Volcano behind Bunaken showing in the distance. I had an ocean front suite, with a well appointed outdoor bathroom and shower, decorated in a tropical and simple, yet luxurious style. You may not find the most sophisticated features of high end properties here, but the room is clean, of generous proportions and the bed comfortable. Of course, the views are amazing and having your beverage of choice in your outdoor deck is a treat. You are, in these ocean front rooms, maybe just 40-50 feet from the ocean. The jacuzzi outside is more for refreshing yourself and taking the sand off than anything else, the wifi is slow and you get disconnected often and the spa is nice but not exclusive by any chance, but again, this place is a terrific value, and didn´t you always say you wanted to be disconnected, in paradise, without checking your social media and emails all the time? This, then, is the place. The food is amazing, highlighting fresh, local ingredients without overwhelming visitors with the spices typical of Indonesian food (available on request, which I did!). Breakfasts are plentiful, with a lot of fresh tropical fruits (dragon fruit anyone?!) plus all the choices you usually have at home. The coffee is a little weak but there is expresso and capuccino at an extra cost and the did managers hook me up with local fresh coffee for my in room drip machine.There is nothing to do, if you want, or plenty to do; they have kajaks and a stand up paddle board to be used complimentary and of course you can dive and take classes in the dive shop. The pool is nice and the beach is even nicer! The tides fluctuate widely so many times you can wade far into the sea and explore the tidal pools. The resort can set up excursions to neighboring islands and land excursions to the rain forest, local market (not for the faint of heart), town, etc. Or you can just relax with a good book by the beach or in your deck and forget about technology for once. We were in an all inclusive plan, part of a diving trip, and all the meals were included. There is a good diversity of cocktails, couple of kinds of wine and soft drinks available, some of them at a premium extra price because many items come from far away. Dinners and Lunches, weather permitting, are done all fresco, so you can savor the yummy specialties (I met the young, excellent Italian chef)while you wiggle your feet in the sand. If you are a diver you are going to be in heaven. The dive shop is a highly rated Padi resort. Siladen and Bunaken diving is world famous for the macro life and the diversity of critters, larvae and fish. Night dives are otherworldy. Sightings of rare species and wonderful day trips to Lembeh and other sites are unique and euphoria inducing ( I got footage of a blue ring octopus!). But at the end of the day, what makes this resort special is the people: every member of the staff is friendly and willing to help, the owners and managers live on site and concerned with your well being and they do go out of their way to acommodate you. Perhaps the only downer was the garbage in the small village next to the resort and the plasticyou find in the ocean. But again, these are in no way the fault of the hotel or the local residents but rather a result of our consumerist culture being exported to these beautiful paradise.

Room Tip: Go for ocean front or ocean view if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Manuelnuevayork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaFonseca_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Siladen Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Manuel,

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review of your stay with us. Its a big pleasure to hear you had such a good experience in Siladen. We are happy you enjoyed the dives, the resort and our amazing food. Most of all we are happy you think its the people that make Siladen special, we couldn't agree more and we are very thankful for the great work of our friendly team. It is heartbreaking to find plastic pollution in these beautiful areas and we will keep working on reducing our own waste and helping the local people to do the same.
Again, thank you so much for the kind words. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards from everyone at Siladen Resort & Spa,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

Fantastic combination of a luxurious resort, great food and amazing dive sites off the coast of North Sulawesi.
I chose Siladen on the basis of advice from Original Diving - my spec was somewhere friendly for a solo traveller with wide variety of fish, coral and small creatures to see on dives. Wow, this place delivered!
While there I decided to take the PADI Advanced Open Water course and really learnt a great deal from the instructor and guides at the dive centre. The dive boats are really well organised, both in terms of safety and comfort.
The attention to detail and the culture of ‘relaxed excellence’ throughout the resort really made my holiday special.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Mel1141476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaFonseca_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Siladen Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mel,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are so happy you had such a good experience in Siladen. It was a pleasure to meet you and we are happy you consider that our attention to detail made your holiday special. We look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps for the rescue course next time?
Kind regards from everyone at Siladen Resort & Spa,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Following up on a previous stay of a few days after a livaboard, we decided to return to establish if Siladen was as good as we remembered. Well it was even better! From the moment we arrived (thanks for the gong bong Jerrie) having been met at the airport by Julie, we were made to feel welcome by all staff. Ana and Miguel manage the resort with calm and friendly efficiency, ensuring contact with all guests during the stays.
Diving centre is well managed, the boat and dive organisation and information is clear and our kit treated with care, thanks Teddy and co. Nobly, our guide, was an excellent spotter with a good sense of humour, in and out of the water.
Garden room that we stayed in was as described, bed big and comfy, room spacious and plenty of storage. The revamped shower rooms greatly appreciated for comfort and style. Having now seen the beach view villas, guess where we will be staying next time!
And as for the food, we have eaten in many places with good catering, including Michelin starred restaurants, and with no exaggeration, some of the dishes compared exceedingly well. Perfect eggs at breakfast, variety at lunch, and the snacks on the boat did not support abstinence.
Very much looking forward to seeing you all next year.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jacquisbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaFonseca_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Siladen Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jacquisbc,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. Its a pleasure to hear your recent experience was even better than what you remembered. We are so happy you consider the resort and diving centre well managed and you liked our new bathrooms, the diving and the food. We look forward to your third visit.
Kind regards from everyone at Siladen Resort and Spa,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Just returned from a fantastic week being looked after by everyone at Siladen. Its lovely being greeted by name in the morning, always made to feel welcome and that they genuinely care you are having a good time.

The dive team take care of you too, setting up kit, helping with kitting up and spotting all the amazing creatures the reefs have to offer.

Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natasharobinson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaFonseca_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Siladen Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Natasha,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so happy you consider us a friendly and lovely place. Its a pleasure you felt well loked after by the resort and diving centre team.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards from everyone at Siladen Resort and Spa,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siladen Island
16.6 km away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 44 in Manado
548 reviews
17.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Manado
6.5 km away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 44 in Manado
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Kuda Laut Boutique Dive Resort
Kuda Laut Boutique Dive Resort
#2 of 2 in Siladen Island
29 reviews
0.7 km away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#5 of 44 in Manado
185 reviews
2.7 km away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#5 of 16 in Bunaken Island
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siladen Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siladen Resort & Spa

Address: Siladen Island 95011, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Siladen Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Siladen Island
Price Range: $424 - $638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Siladen Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusively located in the heart of the world renowned Bunaken National Marine Park, on the lush tropical island of Pulau Siladen, Siladen Resort & Spa offers guests an authentic, elegant and relaxing atmosphere and an unforgettable experience. The four star boutique resort opened in Jan 2003 is an ecofriendly property which places high emphasis on the protection of the Marine Park and the environment. 16 elegantly furnished villas with a full set of amenities, extra large king size beds, outdoor open air showers, sundecks overlooking the calm seas; a PADI diving center offering a full range of courses; a gourmet restaurant serving the finest cuisine; a traditional Spa offering a wide variety of body treatments and massages; a boutique and gift shop; a lounge bar; a large salt water swimming pool; a long stretch of white coral beach await you. Complimentary Wi-Fi access is available throughout the Resort. Over 40 different diving and snorkeling sites located in the Bunaken National Marine Park are within minutes of the Resort. Our house reef offers spectacular snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Siladen Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siladen Resort And Spa
Siladen Hotel Siladen Island
Siladen Hotel Manado
Siladen Resort Manado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing