We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Punch Bowl Inn & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
US$166
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wild Boar(Windermere)
US$195
US$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House(Windermere)
US$449
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
US$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$130
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$355
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (772)
Filter reviews
772 results
Traveller rating
569
135
47
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
569
135
47
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouffleblack pudding starterlyth valleyroll top bathsirloin steaksconesgastro pubfree standing bathseparate showerwine listsunday lunchbooked a tablelovely mealsouth lakesspecial occasioncooked to perfectionafternoon tea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 772 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2017

Took my wife here for a treat we stayed for 1 night ,the scone for Afternoon tea was amazing?.Mine was gluten free,the best gluten free scone I have ever had.We stayed in Noble suit.Wow,Wow,Wow,what a fantastic suit,the bed was as large as a parade ground,and so comfortable ,our cat would of loved it,the bathroom was to die for,two baths,and the views were fantastic, everthing was above expectations.The men was a taste of the Lythe valley and it didn't disapoint, the wine was cold the food was amazing, the service was top notch as usual, thank you to all at the punch bowl for making our overnight stay memorable.

Room Tip: Life is for living, if you don't stay or eat here what's wrong with you.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

My husband and I stayed overnight in the Danson room with lovely views down the valley, a spacious room, the bathroom has a freestanding bath and separate shower. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and the menu is varied. We had the twice baked cheese souffle to start, pheasant with bacon leeks and chestnut to follow, I had the blackberry souffle with blackberry sauce and vanilla ice-cream and my husband had the cheeseboard. The meal was excellent

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear of the property have views down Lyth Valley
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave-Flo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We've spent a number of years staying in country inns in this area and finally found the perfect place. The rooms are beautiful, the food is absolutely wonderful and the location is just perfect with the tranquility of an ancient churchyard with bells ringing late on Sunday morning...just a beautiful place to be.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Isobel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

The Punch Bowl is a comfortable and friendly place to stay or dine. It's within easy reach of the southern Lakes for touring, and is surrounded by magnificent countryside. Staff are friendly and helpful, and the rooms really well appointed - spacious, with high ceilings and wooden beams. Although there are no drinks making facilities, tea and coffee can be ordered via room service at any time at no extra charge. The bed was supremely comfortable. One small niggle - the shower head is fixed to the ceiling, so unless washing your hair, a shower cap is required (supplied).

Food was very good, and certainly errs on the side of quality, not quantity.

A final comment - this is not a budget hotel. Two nights' bed, breakfast and evening meal, with evening drinks and dinner wine, totalled £500 for two people. But if you want to spoil yourself, keep the Punch bowl in mind.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tomtraveller335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Excellent gourmet pub eatery. Wonderful menu. Highly recommend the twice baked cheese soufflé for starter. Amazing! And the lemon tart with damson Ice cream was extraordinary. Only one small thing. I know meats have to be rested to add flavour - and they were delicious (had beef one night and pork the other) - but the meat was too cool in temperature for my palate. It was just on the less warm side of what could have been a delicious dish. But that hasn’t put me off. Service excellent so congrats to the staff.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank LVS64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews