We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$96
US$86
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camino Real Veracruz(Boca del Rio)
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
US$84
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Costa Inn(Boca del Rio)(Great Value!)
US$44
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Florida Hotel & Suites(Boca del Rio)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$73
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$79
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
60
47
37
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
47
37
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold colonial styledifferent levelsspacolumnsjacuzzielevatorveracruzmexico
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

We were at the hotel with family and we forgot my daughter's IPad, they sent us an email immediately to notifying about it. We are so glad about the honestly and the great service they have. The kid's pool is awesome so much fun. Definitely a 5 stars

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardo F, RP at Hotel Mocambo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Hi Alma, thank you for your comments, we love to know that your stay has been pleasant.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

I loved this hotel and will stay here again if I am fortunate enough to return to the Veracruz/Boca del Rio area.

As the photos show, it is in a gorgeous setting with beautiful views of the sea and expansive gardens and pool areas. On a separate level with Greek-like columns, there is a spa with three separate pools (one warm, one jacuzzi, one cool).

We used the wifi extensively in the restaurant area, the lobby and our rooms by the pool and had no problems.

The breakfast buffet was expansive and included home-made granola, egg dishes, Mexican dishes, breads and of course lots of fresh fruit. Service was excellent. We later traveled to Puebla and Mexico City and we agreed that the Mocambo breakfasts were the best. Their coffee was also really really good.

Our rooms were down at the pool level which made it very convenient. The rooms were spacious and very clean, but were dated and could use upgraded A/C units (mine was noisy), and more modern toilets. But the beds and linens were great and I slept well.

The landscaping is incredible - there are many benches/seating in different parts of the property where you look out at the sea, enjoy the flowers and listen to the birds singing.

The pool area is huge and very 5-star resort-like, with a cantina and food service available. There is a water slide for kids and they were having a blast.

One caution - the hotel has different levels, most of which are accessible only by stairs (I did see one elevator, but it was only in the lobby and useful for carrying luggage between lobby and front entry area). I would not recommend this hotel for anyone who is disabled.

Room Tip: There are various levels of the hotel, some closer to the main lobby/restaurant, others down by the pool a few levels down.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DebbyV3940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMocamboVeracruz, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Mocambo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017


Hi, thank you very much for your comments.
We are very happy to know that your stay at the hotel has been pleasant, we hope to have your soon return and to continue to serve you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016

This hotel that had its heyday in the 1930's was a bit rundown and needs refurbishing and be brought up to the 21st century but it hasn't lost its charm. If they have to refurbish, I hope they could maintain the old world ambiance. The architecture is reminiscent of the opulence and extravagance of the early 20th century and they have managed to maintain it although the cracks and age are showing now. They have kept it clean and spotless but the rooms are very basic and need to be brought up to standard. But the price was very reasonable and because it was not during the peak season, it was very quite and peaceful. The food in the restaurant was better than we expected. The view from the top level was spectacular during sunrise and sunset, overlooking the gulf. Try to get a room in the 500 level.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rfoz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

From the time of the Golden Era of movies in the 30s...an integral part of the history of Veracruz/Boca del Rio and, for us, a step back in time (just like the Hotel Nacional in Havana). Sometimes I just stop in to have a coffee, see the sea from above (and drop in on the Villa Rica seafood restaurant down the side street). Rooms are spacious, some even with stained glass, comfortable beds, sea breeze. Multi-level terraces going down to the colonnade outdoor pool and beach. Charming indoor pools with flower-tipped columns, surrounding balconies, with a jacuzzi (not particularly warm) with bubbles so strong you don't need and extra massage. A pleasure sit there in another era. Pleasant wood-paneled dining room (breakfast included with our room). Must all be something to experience during the Carnaval in February. Pleasant staff. Internet in our room. Rooms with king-size beds are extra and close to the outdoor pool, but ours had 2 queen-size ones. Few amenities in rooms (so bring a hairdryer, etc). You just have to experience this corner of Veracruz when here.

Room Tip: Rooms on all levels of the terrace
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Built in the 1930's this Hotel has been exceptionally maintained and provides those that have an eye for architectural extravagance a nostalgic view of the past.
This hotel is basic in room services, it does not have hair dryers, the bathrooms are a little dated but in general we found the place clean and comfortable.
We stayed nearly a week and fell in love with the grounds, the generous breeze ways, the opulent style and just sheer spaciousness.
A well kept secret this hotel belongs in those few Iconic Hotels that you too can be fortunate enough to enjoy and trip down memory lane with a drink on the balcony, a float down the water slide or just meander along the beach front and pay $1 for a few cheap and cheerful tunes from one of the local musicians.
From all across the world we have enjoyed Hotels like this and witnessed through the years as they are demolished in the name of progress or refurbished and extravagantly priced, yep a blast from the past.

Room Tip: Room with a view section 401 to 410 or 501 to 510 .
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ted N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews