We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very average all-inclusive. Wouldn't return.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I will list the pros and cons of this hotel, so you can decide for yourself.

Personally, I would only go back if they gave some amazing deal. We paid about $2000 for the two of us (flight included), and I don't think it was worth anything over $1400. There were a lot of Canadians during our stay who had gotten a $1200 deal (flight included), and that is worth it. This place is definitely a 3-star.

Cons (which to me outweighed the pros)
1) The main issue I had with this hotel was the poolside noise. Everyday from noon-4pm the workers at the pool would get on the loud speaker and try to recruit people for their activities, which is not a big deal - except when they get 4 or 5 people to do an activity, they would lead that activity OVER THE LOUDSPEAKER. So for 5 hours all you hear is the voice of the worker yelling and counting and singing (and when i say loud, i mean extremely loud). It is really ridiculous and makes this resort seem like a 2 star. Most people just want to lounge and relax, and instead you have the blaring voice of the workers on the loudspeaker all afternoon. For this reason alone, I wouldn't come back.

2) There is no room service - which may not be a big deal, but we expected room-service, and it's annoying when you want a late night snack or if you want to lounge in your room, and you can't have any food.

3) Anything nice that this resort actually offers, they mark off for "members only" - room service, a nice pool, a nice lounge area by the beach - all of this you can see but can't have. This was annoying, when you pay to go to a resort, you shouldn't have to pay another $700 just to use their second pool or to get room service. Seems cheap if you ask me.

4) No balconies. This isn't a big deal, except when you go somewhere warm on the ocean for your vacation, it would be nice to enjoy the weather from your room. The lack of balconies makes the rooms feel a bit stuffy.

5) Strange Smells - halfway through our trip, we began smelling a sewage smell from our AC vent, and they had to move us to another room until they fixed it. We heard from other guests that this happens often.

6) The two restaurants they say they have you can only go to if you stay a certain number of nights. If you stay 3 nights you can go to one of them once, if you stay 6 nights you can go once to each. Makes sense, but they don't make that clear before you go.

Pros:

1) The food was decent for a resort, the buffet and snack area had really great food. No vegetarian options, so if you don't eat meat, don't go here. Also if you have high food standards - don't go here.

2) Great service - the servers were really friendly and nice.

3) Clean and nice. Newly renovated - however the showers heads already seemed about 10 years old!

4) Good location, nice beach!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your feedback on Trip Advisor. Your opinions help us greatly to improve our services.

Regarding the comment about the noise by the pool, we now have downtime between 1:00 and 3:00 pm, in order to ensure a tranquil environment in the late afternoon. We have also trained our staff to moderate the sound level on the loud speaker, during the announcements and the activities.

I am sorry to hear about the issue with your AC. We have since repaired it and have not had any problems in other rooms.

Please know that our hotel does not have balconies in any rooms, but we have different open areas where guests can experience the outdoors, like the beach, the pool, the Lounge Bar, the snack bar and outdoor restaurants. Also, the windows open wide in the rooms.

Concerning your mention about room service, we do offer room service for Royal Club guests. All guests can enjoy the snack bar, which is open from 12:00 to 4:00pm and, for late night snacks, from 11:00 pm to 1:00 am. Guest service is in the main lobby to provide all this information.

The Royal Club is our luxury upgrade and is open to all guests for the additional upgrade fee. In addition to room service, some other amenities the upgrade includes are private check-in, a mini bar that is refilled daily and a private beach area. We also have the First Club, which is for members and includes amenities such a snack and Jacuzzi. However, neither the Royal Club nor the First Club has private pools; the same pools are open to all our guests.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed so many other aspects of the resort and I will be sure to share your compliments with the staff! We took into consideration your suggestion to have vegetarian options added to the menus. In fact, now we promote such items to our guests, in addition to lactose free products, such as soy milk.

We do hope you will give us the opportunity to have you back as our guest and show you an
amazing time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,567 - 2,571 of 3,578 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel is newly renovated. The rooms are decently sized and well decorated. There’s a full length glass pane between the shower and the bedroom, so you get a great view.

Food was good as expected in a Mexico Hotel. The two a la carte restaurants were excellent. Jose from the Italian and Humberto from the Mexican pampered us well. The front desk staff were excellent, Yasmin was the most efficient front desk agent I have encountered in our 5 visits to Nuevo Vallarta. The bellmen, especially Raymundo, provided great service. He was a 5 diamond bellman. Every one was extremely friendly and attentive. The housekeeper made animal shapes with towels every day and it was the highlight of going back to the room for the kids. What animal did she made this time?
The loungers on the right side of the beach were new and very comfortable.
They had bicycles available for use (included in the cost) and it was right across from the Paradise Village Mall. Not an exciting mall, but something to see.
The nightly shows were nothing special if you’ve seen these things before. The daily activities were standard and the kids club wasn’t bad. At night they did not have much for kids to do compared with other places we stayed.
The kids have a good time. Is not a big hotel. I believe the daytime snack bar’s food needs more variety. And the Mexican restaurant could use more ambiance at night, such as décor and music.
The beach bar was busy and fun every night from 9pm until close at 1:30am.
The other bar had a great decor and interesting snacks between 4-6pm
For us this is a hotel for one week relaxation. We had a great time. Loved the new renos, the beach, location and the staff ...of course the sun.

Room Tip: All rooms are good since they are renovated. High floor will be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tatylinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We travelled with young children and a teenager. There was always something to do for the little ones, but not much for the young teen. He was a bit bored.

You do get what you paid for and I would not pay a cent more for this trip ($399.99 on sell off)

The resort:
It is a smaller resort than we are used to. We normally travel to 5 star hotels. This hotel gets a 5 for rooms and lobby. Walking in, you will be very pleased with how " rich" it looks... Don't let that fool you! A 3 for food ( i"ll talk about that one later) The pool was large enough and you could always find a chair. People did tend to "claim" their chairs by 10 am but the staff was more than happy to pull a chair out of storage or from the beach for you.

The staff:
Do they ever smile? Are they even happy to be there? You could walk right past an employee without even being acknowledged. That was a first for us. If you want to your guests to feel welcome, say hello!?

The rooms:
Gorgeous, but bring ear plugs. YOU CAN HEAR EVERYTHING, every hall conversation , every click of every heel down the hallway. Beds were not soft but that's fine with us. Bathroom was large and nicely done. Housekeeping did a nice job of keeping the rooms clean.

The hotel:
the people by the elevators will want you to sit for an hour and try to sell you (timeshares) even though that's not what they call it. They start at $40G.... The cheapest someone paid for the 25 year term was $13G while we were there. But if you want something free, an hour is only an hour.

The activities:
The staff were not as pushy as I thought they would be. They respected the " no thank you" given. They tried... But.... Are still rookies... I was bored at times. The staff did dress up at breakfast and stood by the entrance but did not always greet the guests so what was the point?

The beach:
Those waves were fun!!!! You can get body boards from the beach but at no charge. We did not need waters shoes. Always clean, always trying to be sold something ALL DAY LONG!!! fun!!

Starbucks is across the street! A bag of Doritos will cost you $4 US at airport and in the resort. You cannot charge purchases in the resort shop to your room. There is also a grocery store across the street in the little mall. Pretty expensive!

The food:
So here's where I will try to be nice. I'd like to say "horrible" but let me give you some details.

Breakfast: everyone's comments are right, best meal of the day, after all fried eggs are easy. Omelets were overcooked, bacon swam in oil. They had cereal in boxes, toast,bagels, eggs, bacon, sausage, fried beans, cheese, meats, fruit ( usually the same 3 at all 3 meals- green melon, cantaloupe, and another), sometimes you'd find bananas there.

Lunch - 1/5!! At the main buffet. Mush, cold pasta that was supposed to be warm, meat slathered in sauce. Yum to the guacamole !!!!! Sandwiches were available 2 of the days.

Lunch at la hacienda ( by the pool) - pure garbage food. Cheeseburgers, hotdogs, fries, onion rings, chicken nuggets, etc... U could not eat any food by the pool.

Dinner:
3 choices. The buffet... Or You can book the Italian and Mexican once each during your trip. This can be done in the front lobby between 10am-12 noon and yes you do stand in line.

The buffet- Mexican night on Monday, I think Thursday was supposed to have a Chinese theme but would have rathered booked Italian or gone across the street to the starbuck's! Just the same stuff all the time with a few adjustments. Warm pasta was always colder than it should have been, the meats were smothered in sauces, the salad table (sometimes) had tomatoes....but usually had guacamole- made for a great meal when the buffet was not that great. Desserts- always seemed to running very low with empty dishes there all the time. Luckily I am not a dessert person. Ice cream was available but had " almost empty" containers 4 of the nights.

Italian- the most ""unitalian" restaurant I've ever been too. It is indoors but not air conditioned. The decor is just like the rest of the hotel, modern and clean. No sign at all at it was an Italian restaurant. You choose off of the menu and they serve 4 courses. The appetizer ( choice of salad( normal portion) , Cesar salad( very small portion) fired calamari/shrimp, (big portion) etc )
Next is a choice of soup, tomato or minestrone both were fine. Next pasta or meat. The pasta serving could feed a family of 3. The meat dishes were more like appetizer sizes or if you are familiar with " French cuisine" portions. For example: the lamb had 2 very small pieces, so if you are hungry, ask for a side plate of pasta. Very bizarre though, nothing about the experience felt Italian. dress code: men long pants and collared shoes. People who were not prepared wore their jeans and put socks on with their sandals :-) food 3.5/5. Atmosphere 1/5

La Hacienda:
You are in the open air restaurant by the pool . Servers are very attentive. Probably the best experience for us. We ate with another family, so the company made for a great time! The food... Pretty good. Beef tacos were yum! Steak was okay, turkey had too much sauce on it, appetizers were good, dessert - don't order the chocolate mouse- it is the same mouse as they have in the buffet- not my thing. The dessert that came in "a basket" was very good. You can get cappuccino's at any of the restaurants any time of the day. 3/5

Night entertainment - by far the worse we have ever seen. Again, do these people even want to be there. They look like they are going through the motions but not enjoying it at all. Shows were boring!!! I'd skip the shows next time and find something else to do.

So do you go? It' a vacation! Don't expect great food at the resort, it's just "food". If they improved the food, it would be a great place to go, have a self serve drink station rather than waiting forever for drinks, and have more decorated theme nights at the buffet, the reviews would be better. Would we go back - only on a sell-off!

It won't be the worse vacation but definitely not the best food!

Room Tip: Third floor away from elevators -we had a small balcony and are not royal club members
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FamilyFunmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

March 2, 20012 - March 9, 2012 we always plan our trips last minute and this one by far was the best deal and we were very surprised that we had such a wonderful time. we've been to occidental grand xcaret in the Mayan Rivera which a very large resort. amazingly beauty, this one in puerto vallarta is not very tropic but very modern and very clean. this is the first time we've stayed at a small resort. . we loved that everything was with walking distance. we had an ocean/pool view room. our kids which r 15 and 16 were just down the hall from us. the fun club staff was by far excellent. always doing different activities every day different themes. thank you to Gabriella and the other fun club staff who made our time there so much fun. the food was excellent. we loved the snack bar. especially my husband who is super picky when it comes to food. they serve hamburgers fries onion rings, and lots of other yummy. All the staff on this resort were very friendly always smiling they all speak really good English so it was easy to communicate. vendors on the beach a pain in the bum, but that's the same any where you go. one bad thing at least for me and no fault to the resort i was expecting a nice blue ocean. that wasn't the case. always a red or yellow flag up cautioning swimmers and the ocean was dark and murky not what i was looking for. one of the guest we're walking in the ocean and got stung by a sting ray. he's now nicked name sting ray frank, which by the way a very friendly person and good nature d. he's okay. that just turned me off even more. any ways I've rambled on enough. it is a small resort but it definitely is large on friendly service and fun. we would go back in a heart beat. our kids loved it and we did as well. i highly recommend this resort. it made us reconsider going to smaller resorts than big ones. i just wanna add one more thing WE HAD SUCH AN AWESOME TIME!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Was there from 03/16/12 to 03/23/12. Wife, daughter and me. It's a nice hotel fairly new and very clean. No issues with that. Beach is huge with miles of walking if you like that. Ocean is pacific so not clear and big waves. Not good for small children. My 2 year old was scared to go near it. No night life. Terrible entertainment. Food was not great but if you are picky it's the worst. If you are not picky then you will find something to eat. Ice cream was the best for me. Breakfast is the better option so eat lots in the morning to fill you up during the day. Food is rarely hot. They have heating elements rather than the hot water tables. Drinks are horrid. Watered down. Just order beer with ice and forget the rest. I'm not a big drinker so wasn't an issue. But or 600$ each all in after tax it was a grey getaway from the everyday. Service is lacking in the restaurants. They sell you timeshare every chance they get. Wifi is 10$ per day - a cash grab. Potential to be a great hotel but lacking in important areas. We just wanted to relax ad had no major expectations. So for us was great. But my honest evaluation is if you want it all pay more and go somewhere else. If you want to relax on a budget, this is a great option but don't have any expectations. Its an inefficiently operated hotel. Go only if you don't care about food or service or entertainment otherwise stay away. I wouldn't go back because I wasn't impressed but I definitely do not regret going. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Av8tr1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa A, General Manager at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2014

Hello, thank you very much for your feed back, it is greatly appreciated. Occidental Grand Resort is now under new head management. With that we have new managers in the food and beverage and activites/entertainment departments. We are all working together to improve our nightly shows, entertainment, daily activities, food variety and quality . Also we now have free wifi in the lobby, I hope we have the opprotunity to welcome you again here at the resort. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
5.8 km away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.9 km away
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Boutique
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Bou...
#21 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
32 reviews
0.5 km away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.2 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,845 reviews
1.8 km away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18 | Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: $225 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing