We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Trip at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2016

We had another great trip at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta. The reason we love this resort and return year after year is because of the amazing staff. As members, we are always spoiled by the great bar service of Jorge, Juan, Ceaser and Emmanuel. They are so hardworking but always have a smile on their face. Raul and Israel did an outstanding job of getting us a beautiful room for the duration of our trip which we so appreciated. The waiters in the restaurant are top notch, especially our favorites, Daniel, Samuel, Erik, Jesus and David. They always do whatever they can do to make your trip outstanding. The activity staff also does a great job in getting you involved, especially Vincente, Sergio, Juliet and Ray. Visiting Occidental Nuevo Vallarta is just like going home. Thanks for a great trip and look forward to seeing you next November.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jinxycat001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2016

Dear jinxycat001,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing Occidental once again for your holidays and for sharing this wonderful feedback of your recent stay among us, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we keep on meeting all your holiday needs and wishes year after year. We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 452 of 3,253 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2016

amazing beach..comfortable rooms..relaxing with an adult pool ..with only adults..excellent bar service..outside puerto vallarta so your not going in everyday..close to a neet little town buecerias..eat at the fat mans or angels..neat atmosphere and huge drinks....this hotel was a little on the quiet side ..but we were there in the summer...starbucks accross the street to check wifi...it was faster than the hotel..clean ..very clean ..the wife likes that..and classy too..had a hard time trying to find stuff wrong..best things ..adult pool ..meet lots of new friends...great beach and sand...downside..20 minutes away from good shopping...so if you have a blackbelt in shopping..get in pv with a rocky beach

Room Tip: floor level..garden..if you like quiet...lush garden..and big patio for early morning reading..or su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank brian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2016

Dear brian c,

Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at Occidental; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay.

Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

the hotel is going through renovation, they kept the dust and paint to a minimum, the WIFI is crap, and that is being nice, the food was just okay, I do not think it is hard to offer a selection of vegetarian items. food was just okay, buffet was presented well, but when you started looking at the items and tasting them, way to salty, paid for the upgrade of the Royal level Dinner one night, big mistake, no vegan/vegetarian options, or even gluten free, was disappointed at that, the bar was cheep, low grade Vodka, ugh...for an all inclusive...not even and option for bottled water at the pool area...the housekeeping staff were good, room was just clean not cleaned, asked several time to have the floor washed and the housekeeper did not seem to understand, the floor had a film on it...had to wear shoes in the room so my feet would not get dirty....the adult pool was closed for renovations, which made for a very loud un-relaxin time at the main pool, KIDS....make it noisy.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank SkotBeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2016

Dear SkotBeau,

Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success. We are sorry to read that our buffet offer did not meet your expectations in terms of flavor and variety of vegan dishes, our professional Chef strives to impress our guests with high standards and the possibility to savor the best of our local cuisine as well as a great selection of international delights. However we always offer the option in our buffet that if you do not see a particular dish that you like our Chef will gladly prepare it for you.

We are also sincerely sorry to read your dissatisfaction with the cleaning of your room, at Occidental we strive to provide total confidence in this area being fully aware that hygiene and cleanliness are aspects of major importance for our guests to feel 100% comfortable in our hotels, for a future occasion please do not hesitate to contact our concierge desk to point out any service imperfection, the team will be swift in addressing the issue and correct any situation that is not in accordance with our established standards.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

I just got back from 7 days at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta. Overall I would have to say this resort is average. Upon arrival, I decided to upgrade to the Royal Club for an extra $20 US per day (which was a good decision, more on that later).

The adults only pool was still not open, that was disappointing. It was being refurbished. With that being closed it pushed more people to the regular pool and beach.

If you do not upgrade to the Royal Club, there is no bottled water at any of the bars or at the buffet (not sure about the Mexican or Italian Restaurants since I did not eat at either). I am not a fan of drinking tap water in Mexico even if they claim the tap water is OK to drink. All the beer is tap, no cans or bottles. They had Modelo and one other brand of beer on tap.

I upgraded to the Royal Club and I am very glad I did. For the extra $20 per day/per person, I got a suite on the top floor, unlimited dining in the Royal Club restaurant which is a la carte, access to the Royal Club bar, wifi in my room, access to the Royal Club section of the beach which was great - they have Bali beds which provide shade.

The Royal Club restaurant was pretty good, certainly much better than the buffet. Everything was a la carte, they had a pretty good rib eye and filet mignon on the dinner menu.

The Royal Club bar was key, it had bottled water, cans of Corona & Corona Light, and bottles of Stella Artois. The liquor selection was fairly high end as well. I would grab extra bottled water and cans of Corona Light for the beach.

Upgrading to the Royal Club was worth every penny. The rest of the resort/amenities were just average. The lunch buffet was pretty small in terms of options. No bottled water without the Royal Club.

There was no shampoo/conditioner provided in the hotel room, which I thought was odd, so make sure you bring your own.

If you stay here I would definitely pay for the upgrade tot he Royal Club, it made it a nice resort for me.

The gym facility was pretty nice.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Dear H D,

We first would like to thank you for choosing Occidental for your holidays in Nuevo Vallarta and for letting us know your concerns relating to your time in our hotel as it gives us an opportunity to look at areas which may have for improvement and for that we are grateful. We like to clarify that all water served in the hotel is safe. We also offer water bottles in all of our rooms and this is restocked daily. In regards to your comment about the lack of shampoo and conditioner, all of our bathrooms have shower dispensers which provide shampoo and soap.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Regards,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016

Just came back from a week at the Occidental Nuevo Vallarta.

Reception
The reception area was great and, while it looked like pandemonium/ bedlam at 1st glance, we were processed efficiently and quickly (many thanks to Yahir & the rest).

Housekeeping
The housekeeping staff were great at keeping rooms in great shape (but hiding away the mini fridges inside a cabinet overheats them and leaves the content, that is supposed to be cold ...hot).

Dining
The buffet service & kitchen staff were terrific. Even as the hotel was installing A/C and windows to the Buffet area, the place was clean & tidy & did not dissapoint (many thanks to Jesus R & his friends).

The Hacienda and the Italian Restaurant delivered & did not dissapoint.

The quantity, variety and quality of the food served in the resort was terrific - no complaints, just praise.

Bar:
Many thanks to the staff at the Lobby & the Pool bars. Great service, great drinks (honorable mention to Ulysses).

Animation:
The animation staff were great at helping us burn off the extra pounds that somehow showed up (thanks to Julietta, Ray, Lisbeth & Sergio).

The Beach & the Pool
Although the beach does not have a pretty white, talc fine sand, the beach was great. A darker brown with flecks of gold sparking away.... very nice. The beach's slope is very gradual, no rocks, some decent waves for those with Boogie Boards & enjoy waves. The pool is of a great size, super clean & well maintained & well used by the guests.

Overall
Lastly, my compliments to the resort management for providing and maintaining a top rated resort in tip top shape. There were groundkeepers trimming the palm trees & shrubs, Painters, plumbers, electricians & masons all over the place providing touch ups & face lifts as required - busy getting the resort ready for the Holliday & high season - while keeping out of the way.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geo501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Dear Geo501,

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. 

Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Regards,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
8.4 km away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#38 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,538 reviews
4.3 km away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#18 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,230 reviews
1.8 km away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,884 reviews
5.4 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#11 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,929 reviews
0.5 km away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18 | Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: $207 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing