We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the Sun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We had a nice hotel style room with a great view. Wish they had balconies though. Food was wonderful at all 3 restaurants and also at the buffet. Buffet servers Fernado and David, Mexican Resturant Ricardo and Italian restaurant Adrianna were all incredible. Entertainment staff was great and fun to have around. Beach was great. Pools nice( swim up bar instead of having to get out of pool would have been nice) need another pool side server on the weekends.. Go watch the shows they have at 9pm, they're a fun bonus. It was a great 9 days.

Room Tip: All have views, just no balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Julia0018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Ms. Julia

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience with us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 59 of 3,258 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

We recently visited Nuevo Vallarta for the first time on a girls trip (4 girls). We had heard good things about Occidental and it did not disappoint! Upon arrival we were greeted and given our adjoining rooms (as we requested). Absolutely loved that they gave you a schedule of all the activities throughout the day/week. Since this was my first time, I wanted to try everything.

Loved the aqua aerobics, dance lessons, bike tour, beach volleyball, bingo, darts tournament, paddle boarding, kayaking and more - all included without extra cost. The event staff was incredible!! Lizbet, Sergio, Jonathan, and Vicente were all sooo great! They made an effort to get to know us and when they would call me by name to ask if I wanted to participate in an event, that really made me feel special. We also took advantage of the spa services on site. Even though it's an extra cost (reasonably priced), I would highly recommend. Our services were great and it was a nice way to relax even more.

We spent a majority of our time around the pool just relaxing and getting sun and the wait staff was equally as amazing. We had Julio and Gonzo for the majority of the week and they were AWESOME! They also made an effort to get to know us and we barely even had to remind them what drinks we wanted. They had the ready and waiting when they saw us. Very accommodating to all our drink needs and even had some drinks to recommend.

Each night we had dinner at a different place. We loved our 3 "themed" options of Italian, Mexican, and Japanese. We were able to book our reservations the first day of our trip because we heard they fill up fast. We had no trouble with our reservations. I would say to book at 6 or 7pm if you want to catch the show at 9pm. A couple of times we had reservations at 8pm and missed part of the evening show.

The evening shows were really, really fun! They had a different theme each night and we saw: Karaoke, Latin Night, Dances from Around the World, Circus (my favorite!), Michael Jackson, and Mexican Fiesta. I definitely recommend checking out the evening show!!

Overall we had a great experience and would definitely recommend to anyone thinking of booking here!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director de Recepción at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Ms. Mellissa S

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Occidental hotel with us and the rest of the travel community.

Thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Liked the hotel layout, lobby and service, did mind the lobby music because we were there for the holiday season but at the lobby bar others didn't like it. I liked the pool bar and beach area and the entertainment at night. the beach is clean and plenty of lounge chairs, variety of the pool snack area was good.

Room Tip: I like to book away from the elevator traffic on upper floors with beach or pool view, this room met...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Ms. Gabriela

We are grateful for the time you spent to share your comments on your stay in at Occidental, your review will certainly assist in order to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests.

Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Good size room, quiet and efficient AC, plenty of room on the beach. Free reasonable speed WiFi and enough english channels on TV. There were some negatives though. No balcony, and room showed signs of aging. Food in the buffet was just OK, nothing spectacular, choices were repetitive and servise in the buffet variable (from fast and efficient, to no service at all). Overall would recommend, but do not overpay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Yuri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Yuri P

Thank you sharing your feedback. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Dirty underwear, no dinner reservations , and being insulted ahh where to begin....

We stayed last week at this hotel we had problems right away at check in. As we (group of 5 girls) checked in, the person at the check in desk told us we had an all inclusive package but we didn't have access to royal level stuff like the 7th floor restaurant, room service and the less crowded pool but we did receive a candy basket and should be thankful for that according to the check in guy. We booked through Costco and were under the impression that we were royal level so they told us to check with Costco . When we booked we asked for adjoining rooms or room right next to each other once we checked in, we were told that our rooms were not adjoining or next to each other because there were no more rooms available. Also at check in we were informed that wifi is NOT free and could be purchased at any moment but only works in the lobby area and in the rooms.

After check in we asked where we could eat because we were hungry after our long flight. Well at 4:30pm everything is closed so we were told to go to the taco restaurant by the pool. We didn't where it was so accidentally walked into the snack bar but we're told by the host that they would serve us only for 5 minutes because they were closing so our service would have to be fast. We couldn't believe that after paying so much money we were being treated like this. So we went to the taco place and were given cold tacos and old salad.

We tried to make dinner reservations for the week because we wanted to try all the restaurants but we're told we had to make them the morning of. This is was untrue because we found out the the second to last day of trip that you could in fact make them ahead because we booked our last dinner the day before and were squeezed into the list. Also twice were told that there were no more dinner reservations and were put on a waitlist . This was stressful because for a couple of hours we didn't know where we were going to have dinner and remember we're PAYING to be here.

The WORST part of our trip was finding DIRTY underwear in our room from the previous guest. We were getting ready to go to the pool when one of my friends noticed an underwear balled up near the desk in our room, also there was left over party decorations on the ceiling, and sand in the shower so we called down stair to have it cleaned up. We left to the pool thinking we would come back to a clean room and we're disappointed once again. Only the underwear was picked up but everything else remained.

As this point we had enough and complained to the staff only to be told that we basically were LIARS because the maid said the underwear was outside our room. We didn't have a balcony only a window so we were puzzled as to how they could think underwear could be outside. If the underwear was in the main hallway it would've been caught on camera? They however insisted they believed us but kept bringing up the maids version of the story which so insulting especially because we were guest and were being treated unfairly. The supervisor (who was rude )said all she could do was allow us to dine at royal level restaurant . We accepted, the staff there was lovely.

We were so drained from the ordeal that we actually began to count the days until we could leave to go back home.

For the most part the staff was friendly and welcoming. The bartenders always had a smile on their faces and made several attempts to engage the guests. The guy at the checkin desk with glasses (the taller one,who has the early shift) wash helpful and understanding. The waiters Paul Flores gudalupe at the Italian restaurant and the wait staff on the 7th floor restaurant were very attentive and provided excellent service. Also the staff at the spa were great.

We didn't take picture of the dirty underwear but regret not doing so because that way the staff would have believed us. We managed to get a couple of pictures of the left over decorations and the candy basket that we should be "thankful " for .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Iparis18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Iparis

We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
8.4 km away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#39 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,548 reviews
4.3 km away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#18 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,237 reviews
1.8 km away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,890 reviews
5.4 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#12 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,935 reviews
0.5 km away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18 | Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: $208 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing