We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$305
US$256
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Marival Residences Luxury Resort(Nuevo Vallarta)
US$553
US$295
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$359
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)
US$372
US$305
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Varadero(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive(Flamingos)(Great Value!)
US$247
US$208
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa Virgilios(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$762
US$629
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,840)
Filter reviews
3,840 results
Traveller rating
1,956
1,235
382
151
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,956
1,235
382
151
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal clubfirst clubla haciendale buffetitalian restaurantmall across the streetadult poollounge barsmaller resorttime sharethe general managervacation clubspecial thanksocean viewrecommend this resortall inclusive resortthe wait staff
Filter
Updating list...
443 - 448 of 3,840 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We recently visited Nuevo Vallarta for the first time on a girls trip (4 girls). We had heard good things about Occidental and it did not disappoint! Upon arrival we were greeted and given our adjoining rooms (as we requested). Absolutely loved that they gave you a schedule of all the activities throughout the day/week. Since this was my first time, I wanted to try everything.

Loved the aqua aerobics, dance lessons, bike tour, beach volleyball, bingo, darts tournament, paddle boarding, kayaking and more - all included without extra cost. The event staff was incredible!! Lizbet, Sergio, Jonathan, and Vicente were all sooo great! They made an effort to get to know us and when they would call me by name to ask if I wanted to participate in an event, that really made me feel special. We also took advantage of the spa services on site. Even though it's an extra cost (reasonably priced), I would highly recommend. Our services were great and it was a nice way to relax even more.

We spent a majority of our time around the pool just relaxing and getting sun and the wait staff was equally as amazing. We had Julio and Gonzo for the majority of the week and they were AWESOME! They also made an effort to get to know us and we barely even had to remind them what drinks we wanted. They had the ready and waiting when they saw us. Very accommodating to all our drink needs and even had some drinks to recommend.

Each night we had dinner at a different place. We loved our 3 "themed" options of Italian, Mexican, and Japanese. We were able to book our reservations the first day of our trip because we heard they fill up fast. We had no trouble with our reservations. I would say to book at 6 or 7pm if you want to catch the show at 9pm. A couple of times we had reservations at 8pm and missed part of the evening show.

The evening shows were really, really fun! They had a different theme each night and we saw: Karaoke, Latin Night, Dances from Around the World, Circus (my favorite!), Michael Jackson, and Mexican Fiesta. I definitely recommend checking out the evening show!!

Overall we had a great experience and would definitely recommend to anyone thinking of booking here!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director de Recepción at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Ms. Mellissa S

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Occidental hotel with us and the rest of the travel community.

Thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Liked the hotel layout, lobby and service, did mind the lobby music because we were there for the holiday season but at the lobby bar others didn't like it. I liked the pool bar and beach area and the entertainment at night. the beach is clean and plenty of lounge chairs, variety of the pool snack area was good.

Room Tip: I like to book away from the elevator traffic on upper floors with beach or pool view, this room met our expectations
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Ms. Gabriela

We are grateful for the time you spent to share your comments on your stay in at Occidental, your review will certainly assist in order to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests.

Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Good size room, quiet and efficient AC, plenty of room on the beach. Free reasonable speed WiFi and enough english channels on TV. There were some negatives though. No balcony, and room showed signs of aging. Food in the buffet was just OK, nothing spectacular, choices were repetitive and servise in the buffet variable (from fast and efficient, to no service at all). Overall would recommend, but do not overpay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Yuri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Yuri P

Thank you sharing your feedback. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Dirty underwear, no dinner reservations , and being insulted ahh where to begin....

We stayed last week at this hotel we had problems right away at check in. As we (group of 5 girls) checked in, the person at the check in desk told us we had an all inclusive package but we didn't have access to royal level stuff like the 7th floor restaurant, room service and the less crowded pool but we did receive a candy basket and should be thankful for that according to the check in guy. We booked through Costco and were under the impression that we were royal level so they told us to check with Costco . When we booked we asked for adjoining rooms or room right next to each other once we checked in, we were told that our rooms were not adjoining or next to each other because there were no more rooms available. Also at check in we were informed that wifi is NOT free and could be purchased at any moment but only works in the lobby area and in the rooms.

After check in we asked where we could eat because we were hungry after our long flight. Well at 4:30pm everything is closed so we were told to go to the taco restaurant by the pool. We didn't where it was so accidentally walked into the snack bar but we're told by the host that they would serve us only for 5 minutes because they were closing so our service would have to be fast. We couldn't believe that after paying so much money we were being treated like this. So we went to the taco place and were given cold tacos and old salad.

We tried to make dinner reservations for the week because we wanted to try all the restaurants but we're told we had to make them the morning of. This is was untrue because we found out the the second to last day of trip that you could in fact make them ahead because we booked our last dinner the day before and were squeezed into the list. Also twice were told that there were no more dinner reservations and were put on a waitlist . This was stressful because for a couple of hours we didn't know where we were going to have dinner and remember we're PAYING to be here.

The WORST part of our trip was finding DIRTY underwear in our room from the previous guest. We were getting ready to go to the pool when one of my friends noticed an underwear balled up near the desk in our room, also there was left over party decorations on the ceiling, and sand in the shower so we called down stair to have it cleaned up. We left to the pool thinking we would come back to a clean room and we're disappointed once again. Only the underwear was picked up but everything else remained.

As this point we had enough and complained to the staff only to be told that we basically were LIARS because the maid said the underwear was outside our room. We didn't have a balcony only a window so we were puzzled as to how they could think underwear could be outside. If the underwear was in the main hallway it would've been caught on camera? They however insisted they believed us but kept bringing up the maids version of the story which so insulting especially because we were guest and were being treated unfairly. The supervisor (who was rude )said all she could do was allow us to dine at royal level restaurant . We accepted, the staff there was lovely.

We were so drained from the ordeal that we actually began to count the days until we could leave to go back home.

For the most part the staff was friendly and welcoming. The bartenders always had a smile on their faces and made several attempts to engage the guests. The guy at the checkin desk with glasses (the taller one,who has the early shift) wash helpful and understanding. The waiters Paul Flores gudalupe at the Italian restaurant and the wait staff on the 7th floor restaurant were very attentive and provided excellent service. Also the staff at the spa were great.

We didn't take picture of the dirty underwear but regret not doing so because that way the staff would have believed us. We managed to get a couple of pictures of the left over decorations and the candy basket that we should be "thankful " for .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Iparis18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Iparis

We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

It had been over 20 years since my wife and I vacationed in (previously downtown) Puerto Vallarta. We looked very closely at the reviews and chose the Occidental. Our family with teenagers at 18 and 15 stayed on the 7th upper floor as part of the Royal package with a 2 bedroom adjoining suite.

We had AMAZING daily service in the Royal restaurant from Abraham Torres & Jenry Vargas every morning. I was the first person in the restaurant and they had coffee, juice, fruit and pastries ready for me every day. Our teenagers of course could barely be removed from their cell phones and hence REALLY enjoyed the Room Service daily. Our evening wait staff of Ricardo and Rafael could not have been more accommodating of our every special request each and every day (including the green hot habanero sauce that quickly became addictive). Always with a smile and went the extra mile at every meal for my kids and us. They also served some excellent top shelf drinks for my wife and I.

We ate at the Italian restaurant (Los Olivos) two nights as well as two dinners at the Tepanyaki (Tokyo) restaurant. The food at both was excellent and varied. I would especially call out Lupe Salazar for service at Los Olivos that was way "above & beyond". His efforts on our behalf were as good as any fine restaurant in the U.S. His personality was warm and it was easy to make a new friend who remembered my name and proactively said hello every time he saw me at the resort.

The pools were excellent and clean with a variety of fun inclusive activities for all ages. The vibe was positive and family oriented.

The miles long stretch of beach in Nuevo Vallarta is world class, clean and safe to swim in. We were very glad to have chosen this location because of the option to swim here. I walked several miles of the beach every day and was lucky enough to see baby sea turtles that just hatched make it to the ocean.

The Royal floors (6 & 7) have a round the clock Concierge, and my wife received fantastic help from Michelle several times (even including helping us locate an optician where she could replace a lost contact).

Lastly, the location of the Occidental is SUPER convenient. The Paradise shopping center is just a few doors down and has an very reasonable market that we visited almost every day for various minor items including a Pharmacy. There are a number of really nice shops in this mall along with several restaurants (especially the Pancake house) that were good as well. We mixed things up with a good pizza from Domino's to remind us of home.

I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel (especially at the Royal treatment level with service described above) again! Far exceeded our expectations and a good value for what we received.

Room Tip: Royal service on floors 6 & 7 is a great value and worth the additional daily fee.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BobSanDiego858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Mr. Bob San Diego

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories. Also, your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation, we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them.

Thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews