We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location fantastic, views unreal, but check weather forecast...”
Review of Sky Bistro

Sky Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Sky Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 158 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Sky Bistro is located in the new Banff Gondola summit building. Soar to the top of Sulphur Mountain in a gondola cabin to experience a stunning view of six incredible mountain ranges. Sky Bistro pairs the grandeur of the Rocky Mountains with a distinctly Canadian menu that features a handpicked selection of local meats, produce and ingredients. Raise a glass of craft beer from Banff or Canmore. Sip vodka and gin from Banff's only distillery. Taste fruits from farms across Alberta and B.C. and savour naturally-raised meats from Canmore and Central Alberta.
Restaurant details
Description: Sky Bistro is located in the new Banff Gondola summit building. Soar to the top of Sulphur Mountain in a gondola cabin to experience a stunning view of six incredible mountain ranges. Sky Bistro pairs the grandeur of the Rocky Mountains with a distinctly Canadian menu that features a handpicked selection of local meats, produce and ingredients. Raise a glass of craft beer from Banff or Canmore. Sip vodka and gin from Banff's only distillery. Taste fruits from farms across Alberta and B.C. and savour naturally-raised meats from Canmore and Central Alberta.
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Booked dinner package. .. Was far better value than gondola and separate dinner.
Still not cheap, but unique location.
We stuck to included starter and main, but drinks were not over priced..and cork offered if we wanted to take remains of our wine bottle away.
We had Winter salad, Scallops (would be even more tasty if seared just a little longer Guys) with Bison and a Ribeye mains, all tasty and cooked as requested. Portion size and service time fine, despite anything you may read about this restaurant.
Staff were friendly, efficient and professional.
We had to leave straight after main, missing out on further trip to observation gallery, and a star watch evening, but no pressure , and bill provided promptly..
Great experience..

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PursuitCollection, Food and Beverage Coordinator at Sky Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Hi Frank,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts on your Sky Experience, we appreciate all feedback to continue to better our service.
We are pleased to read that you had a great evening enjoying the food and wine, I will pass your comments on to the kitchen team to ensure we continue to provide great quality food.
I hope that you had a good time here in the Rockies and made some great memories.

Kind Regards,
Lauren S.
Sky Bistro | Banff Gondola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 184 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2018

Matt the bartender from Australia was a pleasure to meet and his recommendations regarding new wines and food was right on. Ultimate experience with an ultimate view.
Manager was a little uptight but people like Matt made everything ideal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Seth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PursuitCollection, Food and Beverage Coordinator at Sky Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Hey Seth,

Thanks for your great review!
I'm glad you were able to have an ultimate experience from Matt's recommendations, I will be sure to pass your comments on to him.
We hope you had a good time here in Banff and hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
Lauren S.
Sky Bistro | Banff Gondola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

Bought the Sky Experience Package, went with 6 adults and 2 children. Great time everyone was very friendly. Very reasonable at $85/person for a Gondola ride and an appetizer and entree at the Sky Bistro. There was star gazing on the deck, a fire and hot beverages. On the way back it was evening and they had blankets for the ride down the mountain.

Thank Desarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PursuitCollection, Food and Beverage Coordinator at Sky Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Hey Desarie,

Thanks for leaving a review, all comments are welcome to help us continue our service here at Sky Bistro.
I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your time up the top of Sulphur Mountain dining in Sky Bistro and enjoying our star gazing program.
We hope that you got some great photos and have some awesome memories from your time in the Rockies.

Kind Regards,
Lauren S.
Sky Bistro | Banff Gondola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

I attended Sky Bistro for lunch, I had looked at all the amazing pictures of the scenery from the Sky Bistro restaurant, not to mention most of the reviews were very positive and the views looked breathtaking.

Soon as I walked Into Sky Bistro I was greeted by Jack (Great fellow from Ireland) who provided exceptional service, immediately took our jackets/Ski pants and hung them up in the closet and brought us to a table right beside the window with an incredible view!!! We planned the trip during the week to avoid it being crowded. Having a window seat made the experience

We ordered a Bison burger and a Duck poutine, both were great. The Bison burger was slightly overdone, but was still juicy with everything else added. Our server did a wonderful job, although I can’t remember his name.

Definitely worth having a bite to eat here after taking the Banff gondola up here, or even taking the few hour hike up here, you will most likely be hunger after that!

I recommend this place, the rooftop view looking down at Banff is truly breathtaking!

Thank Winterpeg90s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PursuitCollection, Food and Beverage Coordinator at Sky Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Hey Traveller,

Thank you for leaving your comments on Sky Bistro.
We are please to hear that you had a great time enjoying the food and breathtaking views from the restaurant.
I will make sure to pass your comments on to Jack and the team as I'm sure it will make their day.
We hope you had a good time here in the Rockies and made some great memories.

Kind Regards,
Lauren S.
Sky Bistro | Banff Gondola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Had some nice cocktails and great appetizers and mains. Tyson's service was excellent just a really good evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ali- M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PursuitCollection, Food and Beverage Coordinator at Sky Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Hi Ali,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us, we are glad that you had a good evening enjoying cocktails and appetizers.
I will be sure to pass on your comments to Tyson I'm sure he will be very happy.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Lauren S.
Sky Bistro | Banff Gondola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sky Bistro also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sky Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing