We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
17 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$249
Hotels.comUS$249
Official Hotel SiteUS$292
PricelineUS$220
Vio.comUS$220
Lol.travelUS$337
View all 22 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,894)
Filter reviews
6,894 results
Traveller rating
4,260
1,590
599
267
178
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,260
1,590
599
267
178
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot springs primrose restaurant larkspur lounge primrose dining room banff gondola rim rock sulphur mountain beautiful hotel premium room spectacular views self parking free shuttle bow valley pool and hot tub canadian rockies lake louise eden
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 6,894 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2022

We had a wonderful stay here for 3 nights. The mountain view is amazing, as are the staff and amenities. The pool in particular was great. We elected not to have housekeeping which was a brilliant idea. The compliamentry bus pass was a great idea, we used it to travel all around Banff and get into the town for dinner in the evenings. Will happily stay at the Rim Rock whenever we are back in Banff.

Date of stay: September 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AGB795E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rimrock Management, General Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2022

Thank you for sharing your splendid review with us. Our team is delighted to hear all about your stay and that you had an enjoyable experience whilst your time at Rimrock. We wish to see you back again soon!
In Hospitality,
The Rimrock Resort Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2022 via mobile

We stayed two nights and would definitely stay at the Rimrock if we find ourselves in Banff in the future. Restaurant availability was somewhat restrictive but an easy city bus ride into town offers many alternatives.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rimrock Management, General Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2022

Thank you so much for sharing your kind review as we look forward to seeing you back with us soon again!
In Hospitality,
The Rimrock Resort Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2022

We love this beautiful place. Its Larkspur restaurant was a really nice experience. The food and service were great. Enjoyed sitting by the fireplace and listening to the lovely guitar music as we ate.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BRDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rimrock Management, General Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2022

Thank you for sharing your lovely comments. Our team is happy to know that you had an enjoyable dining experience at Larkspur and hope to see you back again soon!
In Hospitality,
The Rimrock Resort Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2022

This was an excellent place to stay for our recent 4nights in Banff. Despite it being approx half a mile from Banff itself, the regular courtesy buses allowed guests free travel to and from Banff.
Our room was large, well equipped and offered a good supply of coffee pods for the coffee maker. However, as tea drinkers there was no kettle or milk provided! As our time in the room was minimal I could have addressed this by asking them to provide these items. Situated on floor 2 we faced onto the mountain but the many trees surrounding the hotel obscured much of its splendour.
The outdoor seating patio offered a range comfortable cushioned seating with much welcomed fire pits. Blankets were also readily available for the cooler periods.
The Spa/gym area was well equipped with up to date equipment.
All the staff were welcoming, friendly and professional with no request being too much trouble for them.
The hotel was a regular pick up point for residents with arranged tours.

Room tip: Request a high room to afford the best views.
Date of stay: September 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mfE7753UF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rimrock Management, General Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2022

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback as our team is delighted to know about your experience with us. Please know our team is happy to provide a kettle and milk in room upon request. Additionally please do not hesitate to discuss many other room categories with our reservations team during your upcoming visit to us and we would love to offer you a room on higher floor with direct valley views.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you back again soon.
In Hospitality,
The Rimrock Resort Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2022

The hotel was very kind to accommodate an early checkin request for which I am grateful. Checkin process was smooth and we were given passes for bus (complimentary) and parking ($23/night). The room came with nice view of the mountain. Upon entrance there is one light switch for an entrance way light but no other switch is there to turn the lights on for the room itself. One must go to individual lamps (one of which was not functioning, table lamp on business table) to turn lights on in the room. Now, either this hotel is rated higher by other travelers, or some travelers have no expectations from breakfast, or the breakfast was simply poor approaching dog food at this hotel. I have had better breakfast for lesser price at nice hotels in Spain, most of Europe, and in Jamaica (an Island!). Charge more $ if you need to but please improve the quality of your breakfast offerings. There is no other breakfast option within walking distance unless I get up and drive to the town. Improve quality or change the chef that's making those horrible pancakes. I waited quite a bit to find if someone was even working at the omelette station. No server even bothered asking why I am just standing at the omelette station for such a long time until I asked one server if anyone is working here. Again, if I look back, I have never had an experience of this kind at Four Seasons, JW Marriott, Fairmont, Tensing Pen, Hayatt, or any big reasonably priced hotels. Needless to say, I didn't bother with their lunch or dinner. I did have snack on their Larkspur bar/bistro (don't get too excited) balcony with a beautiful mountain view with mediocre food (fish and chips) and mediocre level wine. Service was good though. For early risers, there is a small cafe on site with wonderful coffee and croissants (must try). Hotel reception overall is nothing to boast about. Never had a checkout like this from a top hotel (again is it top or too high rated here?). Full exchange was how was your stay. ok. How will you like your receipt emailed or printed? Printed please. Thank you. Yep, that was the full exchange. Likely casual racism at work against brown folks thinking everyone is some recent penny pinching immigrant to the land of glory: Canada. Or they don't feel the need to please anyone with 5M visitors each year or the Manager of this hotel needs to be fired for poor staff training and lack of feedback, follow-up from its staff. I work in product development and I would have asked so many questions to understand the full scope of the stay, that is, if I took pride in my work. Poor management period! Not sure if I will stay here again or recommend it. Make up your own mind.

Room tip: Don't get sold out on the ratings. Do homework on this hotel before booking. If you have up to mediocre standards, you will be fine.
Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank generoustraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rimrock Management, General Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2022

We’re extremely disappointed to see your review and apologize that we fell short in meeting expectations during your stay with us. Please know our team is dedicated in providing exceptional service to all our guests and will take this opportunity to review our processes specially regarding your comments on Food & Beverage side of thing and other services towards betterment in future.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review, however should you wish to discuss more details please do not hesitate to contact our team anytime.
In Hospitality,
The Rimrock Resort Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews