We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,834)
Filter reviews
7,834 results
Traveller rating
5,058
1,608
621
346
201
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,058
1,608
621
346
201
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold floor banff springs rundle lounge stanley thompson wing the bow valley grill chop house willow stream spa waldhaus pub scottish castle iconic hotel bowling alley the outdoor heated pool bucket list lake louise the main hotel canadian rockies self parking
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 7,834 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were told by our Canadian friends to come here for drinks and enjoy the views. It didn’t disappoint. Our waitress was called sarah and was soooo friendly! The bar snacks were so yummy and we ordered a started to share. The cocktails were so unique and delicious. (I had a caramelized pineapple mojito!) You have to visit this hotel and stunning bar!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank samhearne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banffmanagement2016, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear samhearne1,

Thank you for the kind comments and coming to experience the castle! We are delighted that you enjoyed your drinks and hope we get the chance to welcome you back again soon.

-Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is soooo beautiful.
It is so well worth the stay and the service is unbelievable.
Restaurants are top class, rooms are clean and spacious.
Do yourself a favour and spend a bit of time here.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank CHRISWBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banffmanagement2016, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear CHRISWBI,

Thank you for the kind comments and for taking the time to post this review. Come back for a visit again soon.

-Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just returned from a 3 night stay. The first night we were there we had a couple of problems but first Valerie in housekeeping and then Jessica and Don the VIP concierges came to the rescue. We were given an upgraded room because there were problems with our initial room and it was wonderful. Jessica and Don kept in contact with us daily to ensure all went well. They even surprised us with room service that contained a food item no long on the menu because we had gone on and on about how we missed it. And on top of that the hotel itself is beautiful and the scenery exceptional. We can’t wait to go back!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banffmanagement2016, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Cheryl K,

We do apologize for any hiccups that occurred during the beginning of your stay but it sounds like it was able to resolve itself! Thank you for the kind comments regarding our colleagues - something we will be sure to share with them.

Hope to see you again soon!

-Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The place was lovely looking. The front desk help was pleasant but.... We were told we were in the Gatehouse. Go out the front door, go around the corner ... We had dinner reservations we were getting close to so we first went to dinner. When exiting dinner we saw a sign for the Gatehouse. So we attempted to follow. NOT so easy. It seem like a back way out and it was the LAST sign we saw directing us. We got to the base of the Gatehouse and saw no access. Eventually we went back the way we came and back through the hotel, out the front doors, along the front of the building, around the corner and crossed the little road to enter the Gatehouse. That too is like a maze. Down the hall looking for the elevator and found it because some people drew our attention with the sound of pool balls. Next day determined to find the walkover to the main part of the hotel we set off. We encountered two of the workers (in uniform) but we had a language issue. We attempted to follow what we thought they meant. We did encounter another guest who was sitting having coffee and asked him. He had been there a few days and said he too was wandering for some time and eventually finding his way. After talking to him about this and other things we had our laughs and he showed us the way! We all stated the issue was lack of signage. We had dinner with friends in the Vermillion. Dinner was good. We all find it strange to be eating a fine meal but french fries are what is the offering for starch. It was quite loud in there and very hard for all of us to converse.

Ok here we go to find our way back to the room without going outside. Lack of signs once again. And when we do find the way, we are cut off by a wedding that is inbetween closing off our route! This is the way we came in the morning. SO back track again and back outside, along the front of the building, around the corner..... I think you get the idea! OH and after we get to our room, our key is not working! So ........

Our room was quite large, we were shocked after hearing from our friends of small rooms. We did NOT pay for upgrade. Our room had a very comfy bed, an electric fireplace (that required a call to the concierge eventually on how to turn on!) Instructions for that would be nice. It was evening, low light and the writing is on black. The TV mounted above could be bigger because of the larger room it was a bit small to read when there was print. The closet was tiny but at this point we were living out of suitcases and a small bathroom. Our view was the roadway in front of the hotel. We were surprised that we were not bothered by road noise.

On check in we were asked if we wanted to upgrade to Club level. For $200 per person we didn't think there was value there. Our friends opted for this and found it was not worth the extra money. You got snacks and tidbits but you were on your honor to report what you drank and be billed for. Our experience with Club Level is drinks are typically included.

Someone stated the little deli in the lobby was a shining star and they were right.

It's a pretty place to look at, quite impressive actually but we would chose to stay some place else the next time we visit.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banffmanagement2016, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Kris M,

Thank you for your feedback, something we will be sure to share with our team here.

-Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was the 4th year in a row we took an October vacation here. The staff were extremely professional - I hope to be back again - I would highly recommend the hotel steak restaurant, the Chop House. My travel partner told me it was the best steak he ever tasted! The Willow Spa is a great experience though I wish it had more space around the indoor pool area for lawn chairs - I had an all day pass and could not get an unoccupied chair at any time. The regular pool area was also great with comfortable couch like chairs for clients. I’ll will be back!!!!!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Ernest S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banffmanagement2016, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ernest S,

Thank you for the review and taking the time to post this review and for the comments! We are delighted that you enjoyed the Chop House and will take your feedback regarding our spa to the team there. We hope we will see again next October (or even sooner)!

-Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews