We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch date”
Review of Balkan Restaurant

Balkan Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 159 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$27
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 5 November 2018

My husband and I stopped in to Balkan Restaurant for a Saturday lunch. The food and service was exceptional. We ordered the appetizer tray to share. It came with Spanakopita, Calamari, Deep Fried Feta Balls, Dolmada, Olives and Tzatziki. The whole thing was out of this world delicious. The Calamari was topped with what I think was pickled onions and OMG it was so good. I would never have thought...but it was soooo good!!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TrailBlazer669634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

This was somewhere we wanted to visit for the food and had the BEST evening of Greek belly dancing and traditional green dancing and plate smashing. They got the restaurant involved and the atmosphere was brilliant. The food was FANTASTIC and the lamb did not disappoint - melt in your mouth! Highly recommend. Christie was our waitress and she was amazing, so so efficient and friendly. It was a lovely evening. :)

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank samhearne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

We visited Banff with a tour group. One of our companions recommended Balkan. We went and had the pork pita and the warm houmali salad. Both far exceeded our expectations. The pork was perfectly done and the fried houmali cheese was scrumptious. The atmosphere was perfect and our server Reese offered extremely helpful suggestions. It was so good we came back the following night and had the lamb shank. We liked it so well that we even asked for pork pitas to go to take on the plane the following day. My mother was traveling with us and had travelled in Greece and said she had never had such a great Greek meal, even in Greece

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank chaffeewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We ate here for dinner and two out of three of us loved our meal. My salad was spectacular but one member of our group didn't like their meal. The atmosphere is very average. If you want health food in Banff this is a good option as there's not many Greek places in town. If you're used to eating Greek food, this restaurant may fall short of your expectations.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HeidiM929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

We live in a great location for Greek food and this place is right up there with our local restaurants. Get the flaming cheese appetizer and the gyros as well! Service was off the charts as well. The interior design is something that shouldn’t be missed and it’s a historic building! Make sure you check it out!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank melissapT1133KR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balkan Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Balkan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing