We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
95
102
67
49
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
102
67
49
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bow lake walls are thin venison medallions icefields parkway canadian rockies dining room is no elevator rooms are basic spent one night here hot breakfast log cabin mountain view recommend staying here incredible views guest rooms historic hotel stayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Very disappointed in the Num-Ti-Jah Lodge. We were expecting a rustic but somewhat classy cabin by the lake, but the place, on the inside, has the feel of a dilapidated, 1960 motor hotel. The rooms are seriously out of date, but not in an antique, charming way; instead, stains on the carpets and mildew in the bathrooms. Also, the lounge and 'games room' were small and uncomfortable. The diningroom is cool, but the food is way overpriced; the cold breakfast was on the pathetic side, with no fresh fruit to add to your granola. It was 15 bucks for some cereal and a slice of toast. You had to pay extra for a hot breakfast. Ridiculous considering the crumbling rooms are upwards of 300 dollars a night. Also, the service was bad; we watched employees playing cards, but there were dirty cups and garbage on the floor in the lounge - they were still there the next day. Whoever runs this place needs to raise their game; only the surroundings are great. This place is resting on its laurels from the past. Visit it in the daytime, but don't stay here.

Room Tip: Not sure - our room on third floor was noisy and ragged.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We spent one night here on the way back from hiking on the glacier and before going to Banff.

For what it is, Num-Ti-Jaf Lodge is hugely over-priced.. Yes, it's full of character, but that doesn't excuse rooms that clearly haven't been updated since the 1960's; zero soundproofing (you can hear every noise from the room above) and essentially holding guests captive with the cost of food.

Dinner was very expensive for something distinctly average, but it can be as there isn't anywhere else to go for miles...

The most frustrating part was finding out that breakfast wasn't included in the already expensive room-rate. The breakfast buffet was basic and seriously overpriced, but again, there wasn't an alternate option.

On the plus side, the walk from the lodge to the waterfall was one of our highlights and seeing the lake reflecting early in the morning was well worth it!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hb133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

After long drive oozing forward to good coffee. However, the snack bar and gift shop was awful. Grumpy manager advised us to make own overpriced coffee and whole shop looked run down and neglected. High prices for poor service.

Room Tip: Avoid staying here if gift shop and snack bar are anything to go by.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Miloj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

I'm going to disagree with several raters on Num-Ti-Jah. No issues with the history of the place, the mountain views or Bow Lake. But I'm rating a lodge in the Rockies, not the views. We found it very sub-par. Our room had an old tin shower that was rusted and had an old stained plastic curtain. The bedroom had carpet stains by the beds, the bed skirt all around the floor was dirty, our sheets were stained as was the throw on the bed. I have photos. Based on readers reviews and the Nu-Ti-Jah site description I picked this place as a treat for my wife for our trip through the Rockies. She is a retired nurse who doesn't mind rustic but who expects cleanliness. To top this off the room rate and the restaurant prices were extremely high. Normally I never complain, but this is not a lodge I can recommend. All this said, the staff were wonderful and I give them a big thumbs up.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank runninged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We really enjoyed our stay in this historic lodge in the most amazing setting on Bow Lake - a real treasure. The lodge is charming but quaint and rustic with aging facilities, so be prepared. We could hear footsteps from the room above! Food was disappointing, especially breakfast, but we really enjoyed our stay in this corner of history.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LisaKathmandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews