We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bestest crème brulée ever!”

Vero Bistro Moderne
Reserve with OpenTable
Vero Bistro Moderne is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 3,760 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$23
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Sunnyside
Cross street: Kensington Road
Description: With an atmosphere that breathes relaxed elegance, Vero Bistro presents a menu that defines inspired Italian Fusion Cuisine. Vero's Chef Jenny believes strongly in the importance of fresh, healthy food while supporting the local community and strives to create flavourful inspired cuisine using quality ingredients sourced from a variety of trusted local producers, Remarkable starters and plates designed for sharing are offered along side hearty entrees, such as the house made pasta, grass fed beef, seafood, lamb, chicken and duck, with many gluten-free options available. Featured small plates include, Meatball 'Bolognese', Signature Sweet Potato Gnocchi with wild boar bacon and gorgonzola, as well as more substantial offerings, such as the Grass Fed New York Steak w truffle parmesan frites, traditional agnolotti with bone marrow barbera reduction "The Seafood Platter". No Menu Tuesdays $45/guest Steak & Frites on Wednesdays 3 courses $39/guest Brunch Sat & Sun 10 AM-2 PM
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Their food is always amazing! Excellent service & terrific ambience. They've got it figured out! Their gnocci, lamb shank, fish, chicken, amuse-bouches are incredible and second to none. They have the MOST unique passion fruit crème brulée with their fun touch of pop rocks that explode in your mouth! Vero Bistro is our favourite restaurant!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank DarleneandKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verobistro, Manager at Vero Bistro Moderne, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

We are so happy to hear we are your favorite restaurant! Thank you ! It's what we strive for everyday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 61 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2018

Chef Jenny's flavor combinations are fabulous, it's a great taste discovery journey to launch on. The ambience and service compliment her creations, a real treat!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeteJaffray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verobistro, Manager at Vero Bistro Moderne, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you very much for your kind comments and for experiencing exactly what we try to do everyday and that's, " giving you the best possible experience"
It just wants to make us try harder.
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

It might be that we had high expectations, but for the top trip advisor rated restaurant in town, the food didn’t live up to the expectations. The “feature” steak frites was nothing to write home about, while the seafood paella was also average. The service was with a smile, but the 18% default tipping option at time of payment seemed on the high end (there was an option further down to manually input a different tip amount).

Thank RAFI K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verobistro, Manager at Vero Bistro Moderne, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thanks for taking the time to express your thoughts. Sorry the food did not meet your expectations, although I cannot say we are perfect every time I can say that our kitchen team has tremendous heart and love what they are doing. Our kitchen team hashes our every single detail every day, from the ingredients they buy to the methods they use to prepare, cook to plating. Our seafood gets delivered 3-4 times a week (so very fresh), our steak is grass fed Alberta & gets aged minimum 28 days before we use it, meaning very tender. The truffle paste we use is imported from Alba, Italy where the famous white truffle comes from, even though it is more expensive to use than others our kitchen team will not settle for lesser quality, Chef Jenny's philosophy is "good ingredients make great food." We would love it if you could give us another shot and really show you what were capable of in giving you the best possible experience we can.
Please don't hesitate to call me anytime.
403 283 8988
Sincerely,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

We went there for dinner on a day where there was an office-XMas party. As they placed us on a separate area at the front of the restaurant, we could not even tell the group was partying a few meters away!

We ordered their special truffle menu (bruschetta with truffles, truffle risotto for me which was good but not outstanding and beef for my husband which was very tender and tasty) and had a few glasses of wine. Everything tasted very good but we found the price was too steep for what it was. They also have a good wine selection!

We would go back and try their regular menu. Given the quality we experienced, it should be worth it !

1  Thank Marie-LaurenceL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

Our first time to this wonderful restaurant, and definitely not our last! Fabulous appies and a great main course, with stellar service from James.

1  Thank Rory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vero Bistro Moderne also viewed

 

Been to Vero Bistro Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing