We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, modern hotel - near shopping.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South
Ranked #33 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 April 2017

We stayed 1 night here while in Calgary. In this Southern suburb of Calgary, called Shawnessy, it seemed there were two options for hotels: Wingate and Super 8. We chose this one because they have a pool, mainly. Lots of strip malls and shops around, if that's your thing, plus a movie theatre, and a few restaurants (see my review on Hudson's Canadian Tap House)

We got the corporate rate because I'm a business owner, which was a nice perk, and overall a very pleasant experience. Quite a nice breakfast is included in the price (the usual cereals, fruit, breads, and so on, but also a waffle maker, and eggs and sausage). The pool and hot tub were good, but I was little disappointed that they closed it at 10pm. I've stayed at smaller hotels with pools that are open until 11 or 12. The rooms are fairly large, modern, and comfortable. Funnily, the toilet seat was not the most comfortable. The staff / service was about average. Overall, I was happy with the stay, and if I was in that area again, I'd probably choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Better views on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mac_tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Hello Mac_tina and thank you for your kind words. Comments such as yours help us to confirm the dedication from our team to delivering a good experience for all of our guests. I hope to be of service to you whenever your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

The rooms are very huge and the pool has a great waterslide for the kids. The pool isn't big but for kids under 10 it's perfect. The staff are very accommodating and everyone had a good time swimming. Close to everything but it is a little tricky to get in to the hotel area. We definitely would stay here again

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank 154919Michaelt29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Hello 154919Michaelt29 for taking the time to post your comments after your recent stay with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our rooms and the kids enjoyed the waterslide. Feedback from our guests is very important and it helps us to stay in tune with our guests. I look forward to being of service to you and your family during your next visit to our City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank geurteek
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 March 2017

I had a great stay here over three nights. I have stayed in both the double and king room. The king room was imcredibly spacious and lovely! The customer service was nice, the room was clean, and the complimentary breakfast had a great selection (yogurt, fruit, toast, eggs, French toast, coffee/tea, juice, etc.)

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FloatOn24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Thank you FloatOn24 for taking the time to post your comments after your recent stay at the Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South. We are pleased to see that so many aspects of your stay were "great". I hope to be your hotel of choice for all of your travel needs in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Hotel is very nice and modern. Highlites include the swimming pool, large rooms and great breakfast service. Our issue was with the heating/cooling in the hotel. We were on the fourth floor and the hotel hallway and room temperature was probably in the high 20s, this caused the ac unit to run nearly the entire night with the bed being beside it freezing cold and the rest of the room warm. I ended up unplugging the unit about half way through the night and my six year old shortly thereafter vomited from being overheated. When I mentioned this to the front desk there was a casual, "ya the hallways are hot" No apology, no recourse which i found disapointing. This seems like just a matter of adjusting the main thermostat, and a little better empathy training. Nice property though.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Thank you Sean H for taking the time to post your feedback after your recent stay with us. I will definitely pass along your comments to our maintenance team regarding the AC concerns in your room. We will address this right away. I would also like to apologize for the "casual" response that you received from our front desk when you brought your concerns to them. Please know that we will also address this. I am pleased to see that you found the hotel to your liking and we will endeavor to improve on the areas that you have noted. I hope to be of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Hotel Blackfoot
#21 of 110 in Calgary
547 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#45 of 110 in Calgary
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Wingate by Wyndham Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South

Address: 400 Midpark Way SE, Calgary, Alberta T2X 3S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Calgary
#15 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#18 Business Hotel in Calgary
#18 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $148 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business is what we do best at the Wingate by Wyndham Calgary. Use our 24-hour business center to fax, photocopy and use the net - all free of charge. You can also surf the net in your guest room with our free high speed internet access. Relax & relieve stress after a long day by working out in our fitness centre, swim in the pool, and finish off by relaxing in the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Calgary Hotel Calgary
Wingate Calgary Hotel
Calgary Wyndham
Wingate By Wyndham Calgary South Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing