We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Carbonara”
Review of Vaticano Cucina

Vaticano Cucina
Reserve with OpenTable
Vaticano Cucina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 2,527 Restaurants in Edmonton
Price range: US$4 - US$24
Description: Vaticano Cucina is much more than an Italian restaurant. In the spirit of the widely celebrated Vatican City, our restaurant is a place to be delighted by the restaurant's trademark inventive, artisanal fare, rooted in Italian tradition. Our Chef, Dione Harwood, creates the authentic cuisine using the freshest, carefully selected ingredients and the passionate, creative approach to cooking. In the
Restaurant details
Description: Vaticano Cucina is much more than an Italian restaurant. In the spirit of the widely celebrated Vatican City, our restaurant is a place to be delighted by the restaurant's trademark inventive, artisanal fare, rooted in Italian tradition. Our Chef, Dione Harwood, creates the authentic cuisine using the freshest, carefully selected ingredients and the passionate, creative approach to cooking. In the
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

I had the carbonara dish which I've eaten at other restaurants. This was truly the best one I've ever had. I was also really impressed by the zeppole. Definitely going to be back.

Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VaticanoCucina, Owner at Vaticano Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Thanks Brad! The Carbonara is our specialty and a secret family recipe. We worked very hard on making this just right. The buccatini is a special addition to this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 150 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2017

Came with work colleagues and we loved the food. Pizza named after saints and pasta are the best in Edmonton.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jmbober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VaticanoCucina, Owner at Vaticano Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to make the review! Our culinary staff does a great job and making amazing Italian food :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

Don't walk run to this restaurant. The caramelle is amazing. Little pasta candy wrapper style filled with butternut squash. If you don't want to marry the owner after eating this try the bucatini carbonara- it's amazing. Joe and Holly the owners are lovely but more than that the food is Amazing.

1  Thank Mollymoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VaticanoCucina, Owner at Vaticano Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Wow...Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate it. When you come into our restaurant we want you to feel like you are part of the family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

We had heard so many great things we finally got the chance to check it out. We were blown away by the food! The polenta bruschetta was a perfect sharing appetizer. The St.Francis pizza was delicious. My friend had the butternut squash Caramelle and it was definitely the highlight of the meal. The transformation of the room is incredible from the old dirty katouki Greek place to a clean, well lit modern room. Our only complaint was we were too full to be able to order dessert which only means we have to go back!

1  Thank Joyousjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VaticanoCucina, Owner at Vaticano Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

It feels so good to be appreciated! We worked very hard on the inside design and menu to make sure our guests felt like they were amazed by the transformation. We appreciate you taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

We visited this newly opened (just three weeks ago) Italian restaurant for dinner. The staff are very welcoming and attentive. The manager came to the table to check if everything was good and so did the server. We had ordered a wood fire baked St Francis pizza, a pasta dish, two glasses of wine, one large dessert to share (ended up taking 1/3 home), and two coffees which came to just under $70.

The restaurant is located in the building formally occupied by a Greek restaurant on Gateway Boulevard just north of 51 Avenue.

I would recommend this new restaurant for their great food, wonderful service and value for money. It will no doubt become very popular as the word gets around so be sure to make reservation. I did not this time but for sure in the future it will be necessary.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RHJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VaticanoCucina, Owner at Vaticano Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Our pizzas are truly a highlight of our menu...we are constantly trying to ensure that these are made with perfection. Our wood fire oven gives a taste that is second-to-none. Thank you so much for your positive outlook on our restaurant - we really hope to be successful in Edmonton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vaticano Cucina also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Vaticano Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing