We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Patio facing the river valley is a gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Edmonton Downtown
Ranked #37 of 91 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2015

The hotel itself looks like its had a facelift, however the inside has shown some wear and tear. My bathroom was clean but it could use a revamp as the tub had a chip in it. Also upon check in, there was a dead giant black fly by one of the chairs. Easy to miss but it shows that the room itself could have been paid a little bit more detail.

Parking is extremely expensive. $30 overnight but you get in and out privileges. I opted to park on the city street meters as I arrived after 6pm on a Friday for free. Careful though as the meter comes into effect in the morning at 9am -6pm Monday - Saturday. It is a way to save. $1/hour on saturdays, more on weekdays, free on sundays and holidays.

If you can't be bothered with moving your car or just want peace of mind, I did look around and see that the Edmonton Public Library Parkade is cheaper at $20 for overnight. The impark lot in front of the hotel is just expensive. Walk a block, its not that far in all honesty and save some of your hard earned money.

The bistro and outdoor patio overlooks the river valley and is a great view. Prices are reasonable for a hotel. If you are looking for a better drink (some scotch perhaps) there is a Fairmont next door. However if its beers and appetizers give their bistro a shot.

Buffet breakfast containing hot and cold items can be had for $18 and includes a coffee/juice. If you're hungry, great choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2015

Dear Allan C,

Thanks for your time in reviewing your experience. It’s encouraging to know you enjoyed our great location and pretty views. Please keep in mind that Valet parking in the Edmonton area is the standard and only our parking offers unlimited in/out privileges 24 hours per day. Our associates work hard to provide a pleasant stay and your feedback, both positive and areas of improvement, assist us in that effort. We hope to host you again on a return visit.

Sincerely,
Vivian Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 137 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2015

Stayed only one night but the location was second to none. Staff were helpful, check-in was fast and room was pretty nice -- a tad dated but it did the job. Would certainly recommend for those wanting to stay downtown. Nice promenade by the water.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Seat11A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2015

Dear Seat11A,

Thank you for your review and recommendation of our hotel. I’m pleased to hear that our great location and friendly service made for a nice experience. Our team works hard to provide a remarkable stay. I will be sure to share your kind feedback.

Best,
Vivian Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Good location in downtown, convenient for most things. Our standard room on the 9th floor had great views over the river and all the usual amenities one expects in an hotel room.. The reception staff were all great, very helpful. My only very minor niggle was that they don't seem to have any bell staff - we asked for help with our baggage on checkout and one of the girls from reception came up - I confess I felt a bit embarrassed asking a young lady to help with heavy bags.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2015

Dear QJH,

We take pride in providing the best accommodations and service, so your compliments are appreciated. I’m delighted to learn your stay was pleasant overall. I have noted your feedback regarding bell-service (this is something our brand does not provide but our associates are always happy to help). I look forward to sharing your feedback with the entire team. Thank you for your attention in reviewing our hotel.

Best,
Vivian Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

My most important thing in any hotel is QUIET.
WOW - this downtown Edmonton hotel delivered big time.
Great, great location.
Room was perfect size with all required amenities.
Staff was outstandingly courteous and helpful.
Bar and restaurant downstairs (with a great view) were both excellent.
And the price - for a downtown Canadian city - @ 129.00 was excellent.
This WILL be my Edmonton GO-to hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

Dear Alex R.,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience. Our team understands and believes that our guests deserve a pleasant stay and we continue to seek new ways to impress. I will be sure to share your nice comments with our associates; they work hard to deliver superior service. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

Best,
Vivian Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

I was here for a leadership summit with work and Marriott stood up to its name like it does anywhere I've stayed. Staff was friendly, rooms were clean. The outside patio was very nice, clean, comfortable and able to accommodate a large group of people. Close to the Shaw Conference Centre where meals and meetings took place.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
Thank hawkNiagaraRegion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2015

Dear hawkNiagaraRegion,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We love hearing that your stay was enjoyable. Our associates work to provide a pleasant stay in an effort to become your hotel of choice when in the area. We hope to host you again on a return visit.

Best,
Vivian Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#13 of 91 in Edmonton
1,099 reviews
The Westin Edmonton
#18 of 91 in Edmonton
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Edmonton Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Edmonton Downtown

Address: 99th Street & Jasper Avenue 1 Thornton Crt NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 2E7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: $129 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Edmonton Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Edmonton hotel is conveniently located next to Shaw Conference Centre and other Edmonton attractions. Experience the new state-of-the-art lobby at Courtyard by Marriott Edmonton Downtown hotel, Edmonton's foremost business-class hotel, specializing in casual riverside luxury. This Edmonton Downtown hotel features 177 tastefully appointed guestrooms with free WiFi and a mini-fridge for your convenience. Panoramic views of the river valley and our downtown business district add to the excitement of this magnificent Edmonton hotel. An excellent choice among Edmonton restaurants, our Riverside Bistro serves delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Meeting Rooms offer a spectacular view of the river valley with floor-to-ceiling windows. Facilitating groups of 2 - 100 people, our Meeting Rooms are designed to ensure that every need is met. Among Edmonton hotels and meeting facilities the Courtyard by Marriott Edmonton Downtown stands above the rest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Edmonton Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Edmonton Downtown Hotel Edmonton
Edmonton Courtyard
Courtyard Edmonton Downtown Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing