We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soothing and Restful at the Cove”
Review of Ocean Gate Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Gate Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2009

On our second visit, we love this resort yet again. What is not to like? The staff are resourceful and responsive. The amenities are fine for those seeking a Maine restfulness with a beautiful, timeless view. We have nothing but praise for this well-run, established inn.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MedianTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 338 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2009

We just returned from Ocean Gate Resort for our second time in 3 months. Our first visit in May was so wonderful that when we had an opportunity to return to the Boothbay area this summer we did not hesitate to make a reservation at Ocean Gate. We were curious to see how our August experience would compare to our May experience. Would we feel just as spoiled as we had during our May visit? Would everyone in our party, ages 4 to 80, enjoy it as much as my husband and I had enjoyed it? The answers to both of these questions were a resounding YES.

This weekend was one of the busiest of the summer, according to the staff I spoke with. However, despite the high occupancy we still felt we had the place to ourselves. The grounds are so spacious and there is so much to do, that we really felt we could enjoy the beauty of coastal Maine in peace and quiet. Other guests I spoke with and observed were all also having a wonderful time. The staff were extremely professional, friendly, and attentive. I would not hesitate to ask them for anything, and am confident they would help me out right away. They truly want to make their guests happy.

Our young children just loved the pool, kayaking, and mini golf. My elderly in-laws loved the views, hearty breakfast, and proximity to town. My brother-in-law appreciated the internet access to catch up on his work. And my husband and I were thrilled that it was so easy to keep everyone entertained!

Would we return for a third visit? Without a doubt! Thanks again to the Ocean Gate management and staff!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaineMom15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Ocean Gate Resort, near Boothbay Harbor, Maine, is almost a total opposite to the Maine coastal resorts we have visited in recent years. There is no four or five story building that resembles a hotel, no large asphalted area devoted to parking, no terrain from which all the pre-construction trees have been removed. Instead, Ocean Gate has six widely dispersed two story buildings surrounded by mature trees that extend down to the edge of the waterline, on the resort's private peninsula surrounded by ocean on three sides. All the amenities you expect in a coastal resort areavailable: canoes, kayaks, boat or dock fishing, tennis courts, hiking trails, fitness center, heated pool. But the overall ambiance separates Ocean Gate from its competitors. There is no concentration of resort activity. Environment friendly walkways, curving or rising and declining on what has to be the original small hills on the property, preserve that unique Maine sense of a merger of pine trees and ocean frontage. If you like uncrowded openness in a resort where the ocean is forever in view, Ocean Gate is the place for you. In recent years we have sampled various Ocean Gate units. Our favorite, when available, is an oceanfront cottage less than 100 feet from deep water where lobstermen daily haul their traps. Like all Ocean Gate units, it is a great value when compared to the typical rates in Boothbay Harbor, three miles distant, with four and five star restaurants, upscale shops and home port for one day boat trips around the most beautiful islands off the Maine coast. The entrance road to Ocean Gate runs through a pristine forest and passes a small pond almost hiiden from view by pine trees. At the end of that road is the Ocean Gate office, where there is a good chance you will be welcomed by the owner, something that has never happened to us at other resorts. But that warm welcome is what you would expect in a resort that we beieve is unique and special.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
4  Thank joeodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Place is definately "campy" and overpriced by approx. 25% compared to other options that we later discovered in the area.

The kids didn't mind since there's a pool, mini-golf, okay breakfast, and some nice views of the "lobstah boats".

The management needs to sterilize the rooms. My recommendation is for the GM to go into EVERY room and look at the mildew, peeling wallpaper, and test the drains/plumbing. One of my kids rightly told us that their bedspread "was stinky". We threw it into a pile with the towels. The same bedspread was put back on the bed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wequarium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanGate, Owner at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2009

Although we appreciate candid feedback from our guests, we find it even more productive and satisfying for everyone when guests communicate any concerns with us during their stay so that we can make a concerted effort to correct any problems. It appears as if we were not given the opportunity in this case. This is especially unfortunate since I'm confident that all of the writers concerns could have been resolved. We, along with every other waterfront lodging facility in the Northeast have been challenged by the unusual amount of rainfall and moisture this season. Fortunately, the bulk of the reviews on this site indicate that we been successful in achieving our goal of complete guest satisfaction. We are always personally disappointed, however, whenever we miss the mark. Regarding our pricing, the added value of the complimentary canoes, kayaks, full hot breakfast buffet, heated pool, hot tub, tennis and other amenities along with our private 45 acre site and spectacular views, position the Ocean Gate Resort as one of the best vacation values in Maine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights over the July 4th holiday in the cedar building. Recently remodeled room that was very nice, very spacious, comfortable beds and entrancing view from the lovely porch. Grounds are beautiful, set in the woods with a wonderful view of the harbor. Breakfast was ample and tasty (especially for the price - free!). Would definitely return. Kids loved the mini golf (nothing fancy) and heated pool. Everything well-maintained and clean with friendly staff. Boothbay itself is about a 5 minute drive.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TAtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.8 km away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
385 reviews
2.8 km away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
468 reviews
3.0 km away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
240 reviews
3.8 km away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
939 reviews
18.2 km away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Gate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Gate Resort

Address: 70 Ocean Gate Rd, Southport Island, Southport, ME 04576-3053
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Southport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Southport
Price Range: $194 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Gate Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Gate Resort is a 45-acre oceanfront resort surrounded on 3 sides by tidal inlet and less than 3 miles from Boothbay Harbor. The nine buildings are nestled among the majestic pines and perched on the rocky coast line of Maine. All rooms include a full breakfast, refrigerator, coffee maker, A/C, cable TV. On-site free amenities include a heated pool, canoes, kayaks, fitness room, mini-golf course, tennis and basketball court, playground, and stocked fishing pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Gate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Gate Hotel Southport
Ocean Gate Boothbay Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing