We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tonquin Inn(Jasper)
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$307
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
US$192
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$457
US$355
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge(Jasper National Park)
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marmot Lodge(Jasper)
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
44
78
98
72
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
78
98
72
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe de'd dogrooms are smallquaint hotelinformation centremiddle of townthe main dragbed was comfortabledowntown jasperpapamountainselk
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 408 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We paid $C208 per night for a Twin Room, expecting something reasonable. We got: a one person room, two lumpy uncomfortable children's sized single beds stuffed into a tiny space; a micro shower and toilet - old and had no fan, old linen, not enough towels, no fridge (the did deliver one after complaint but then we had to rearrange the furniture to fit in the microwave sized item), no housekeeping save a change of towels, no lift, no service, inoperable wifi, a dirty room, parking across the road at the railway line, an over priced restaurant next door with surly staff for breakfast. Why did we stay? Like many Australians we booked 4 months in advance. The on-line booking services claimed Jasper was booked out, which was a blantant lie. To secure our booking we paid months in advance so couldn't get a refund. We learned on this trip most accomodation in Canada or the US is available on spec before summer. We paid an adult price for a backpackers mini-room. Not impressed at all, but it got worse in Banff, which waas even more expensive. We are sick of being ripped off for accomodation in Canada in popular places, price is no guide. But don't stay here.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bryonia2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASTORIAJASPER, Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear bryonia2015,
A "micro shower" would be a term best used to describe a shower that a LEGO figurine may use. Our showers, bathrooms, and hotel rooms are full human size and are best suited to accommodate our guests during their stay in Jasper. You paid an 'adult price' for a hotel room, and are therefore expected to act as such during your stay with us. Being given a refrigerator upon your request for a refrigerator and then complaining about said refrigerator is hardly an adult way to handle the situation. In fact your entire review is based on childish complaints; For example complaining about the fact that housekeepers are in your room folding your towels and fluffing your pillows while you are out enjoying the great outdoors.
Canada's Rocky Mountains are a splendid destination enjoyed by many and critiqued by few. And there is plenty more room for those who come here to enjoy the beauty of it all rather than those who seem to find pleasure in smashing the very businesses who are there to provide convenience during their vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Better to book online, impossible to get through on the phone. Located centrally. Lots to see and do.

It's worth it when you arrive. Rooms are nice and the beds are comfu. Great restaurant and pub. Super friendly staff. We miss the crazy Redhead guy. Always stay here.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GlobeTrottr411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

I have been staying at the Astoria in the spring or fall for years. Can't beat the location. Staff always treated me well (hint to travellers: what you give is what you get, especially in the crazy busy summer season). Great to see the 2017 renovations to update this heritage hotel. Gone are the old beds, dodgy carpets and clunky furniture. The room was clean and bright, and even had an air conditioner this time -- yay!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank walkaboutdoug22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliverga, Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hello walkaboutdoub22,
We are very pleased you were able to find our recently updated hotel rooms satisfactory for your stay with us. The Astoria Hotel now features vinyl flooring, new paint, new hallways, lighting, electronics, linens and bed frames. All which give the hotel a modern, comfortable feel. It brings us great pleasure to hear that we have made a returning guest out of you and hope to see you again during your next visit to beautiful Jasper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

It is a small old fashioned style hotel with no amenities such as free b fast/pool etc. but you know that going in. Rooms are small as well. BUT it is centrally located. Extremely well kept and clean clean clean. You park your vehicle across the street which might not sit too well with a lit of I travelers but was not an issue for myself and my vehicle is a motorcycle. Overall a very nice place to spend the night.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria J, Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Hello mike d,
Thank you for your review. The Astoria Hotel is a classic old fashioned, boutique style hotel located in the center of the lovely village of Jasper. We do not have a pool or a spa however we do have a popular local pub and a reputable restaurant on site. Both with excellent outdoor patios to enjoy the stunning mountain views Jasper has to offer. We are not a 5-star resort, yet we are centrally located, small, quaint, and make up for being Jasper's smallest hotel with a large amount of character and charm.
We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was exceptional. And hope to see you again during your next visit to the Canadian Rockies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Took the train from Vancouver and stopped in this little gem in a valley of the Rockies. This is a small hotel which will bring you back in time. There is no elevator and the rooms are quite small. This being said, they were exceptionally clean and the place was conveniently located. I Would definitely recommend this place. Quaint and quiet.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria J, Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Hello David H,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. And thank you for choosing us for your anniversary trip! The Astoria Hotel will indeed bring you back in time as the hotel was originally built in 1925 and stood as one of the original hotel's in Jasper National Park. The building stands on its original foundation, however we have recently modernized the rooms to better suit our guests while maintaining our historic character and charm. Thanks for noticing!
We hope to see you again during your next visit to beautiful Jasper National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews