We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and functional”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Great location in heart of Jasper, clean and friendly, tho the trains make it noisy at night and the rooms are small and expensive. Be warned the rooms are on second floor and there are no lifts. Nice family restaurant next door. Whole experience was utilitarian but pleasant

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LisaKathmandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliverga, Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear LisaKathmandu,
Thank you for your review. And we thank you for acknowledging the location of our hotel rooms and the fact we do not (yet) have an elevator at our hotel. We are a heritage hotel standing on the same foundation as was originally built for the hotel in 1925. Part of our charm is an authentic heritage Jasper experience, although we regrettably cannot host guests who are unable to climb our staircase to rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017

We paid $C208 per night for a Twin Room, expecting something reasonable. We got: a one person room, two lumpy uncomfortable children's sized single beds stuffed into a tiny space; a micro shower and toilet - old and had no fan, old linen, not enough towels, no fridge (the did deliver one after complaint but then we had to rearrange the furniture to fit in the microwave sized item), no housekeeping save a change of towels, no lift, no service, inoperable wifi, a dirty room, parking across the road at the railway line, an over priced restaurant next door with surly staff for breakfast. Why did we stay? Like many Australians we booked 4 months in advance. The on-line booking services claimed Jasper was booked out, which was a blantant lie. To secure our booking we paid months in advance so couldn't get a refund. We learned on this trip most accomodation in Canada or the US is available on spec before summer. We paid an adult price for a backpackers mini-room. Not impressed at all, but it got worse in Banff, which waas even more expensive. We are sick of being ripped off for accomodation in Canada in popular places, price is no guide. But don't stay here.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bryonia2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASTORIAJASPER, Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear bryonia2015,
A "micro shower" would be a term best used to describe a shower that a LEGO figurine may use. Our showers, bathrooms, and hotel rooms are full human size and are best suited to accommodate our guests during their stay in Jasper. You paid an 'adult price' for a hotel room, and are therefore expected to act as such during your stay with us. Being given a refrigerator upon your request for a refrigerator and then complaining about said refrigerator is hardly an adult way to handle the situation. In fact your entire review is based on childish complaints; For example complaining about the fact that housekeepers are in your room folding your towels and fluffing your pillows while you are out enjoying the great outdoors.
Canada's Rocky Mountains are a splendid destination enjoyed by many and critiqued by few. And there is plenty more room for those who come here to enjoy the beauty of it all rather than those who seem to find pleasure in smashing the very businesses who are there to provide convenience during their vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Better to book online, impossible to get through on the phone. Located centrally. Lots to see and do.

It's worth it when you arrive. Rooms are nice and the beds are comfu. Great restaurant and pub. Super friendly staff. We miss the crazy Redhead guy. Always stay here.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GlobeTrottr411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

I have been staying at the Astoria in the spring or fall for years. Can't beat the location. Staff always treated me well (hint to travellers: what you give is what you get, especially in the crazy busy summer season). Great to see the 2017 renovations to update this heritage hotel. Gone are the old beds, dodgy carpets and clunky furniture. The room was clean and bright, and even had an air conditioner this time -- yay!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank walkaboutdoug22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliverga, Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hello walkaboutdoub22,
We are very pleased you were able to find our recently updated hotel rooms satisfactory for your stay with us. The Astoria Hotel now features vinyl flooring, new paint, new hallways, lighting, electronics, linens and bed frames. All which give the hotel a modern, comfortable feel. It brings us great pleasure to hear that we have made a returning guest out of you and hope to see you again during your next visit to beautiful Jasper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

It is a small old fashioned style hotel with no amenities such as free b fast/pool etc. but you know that going in. Rooms are small as well. BUT it is centrally located. Extremely well kept and clean clean clean. You park your vehicle across the street which might not sit too well with a lit of I travelers but was not an issue for myself and my vehicle is a motorcycle. Overall a very nice place to spend the night.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria J, Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Hello mike d,
Thank you for your review. The Astoria Hotel is a classic old fashioned, boutique style hotel located in the center of the lovely village of Jasper. We do not have a pool or a spa however we do have a popular local pub and a reputable restaurant on site. Both with excellent outdoor patios to enjoy the stunning mountain views Jasper has to offer. We are not a 5-star resort, yet we are centrally located, small, quaint, and make up for being Jasper's smallest hotel with a large amount of character and charm.
We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was exceptional. And hope to see you again during your next visit to the Canadian Rockies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1 km away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
984 reviews
0.8 km away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
890 reviews
1.2 km away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
454 reviews
1.2 km away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 17 in Jasper
744 reviews
0.9 km away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: 404 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range: $112 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astoria Hotel is an historic Jasper hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies since 1925. This small hotel features Jasper National Park lodging with character and charm. Perfect for a Canadian Rockies vacation, the Astoria Hotel features an excellent restaurant, as well as a lively pub. At The De'd Dog bar&grill, you can find a wide selection of domestic and imported refreshments, all in lively atmosphere. A great place to watch sports or ski & bike videos. No matter what time of year you choose to stay at our Jasper hotel, you will be able to truly enjoy everything the Canadian Rockies has to offer. In winter, skiing, snowboarding, and ice climbing are all popular activities. In the summer months, the Canadian Rockies provide excellent opportunities for fishing, hiking, mountain biking, and much more. Built for a different traveler in its day, the Astoria offers a quaint abode with rooms situated on the second floor. Although there is no elevator, our staircase is short and manageable for everyone. In our classic setting, you will find that our beds will be comfortable. We have many return guests week after week, month after month, and so on. For your next Jasper vacation, stay with us at the Astoria Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing