We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
40
34
15
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
34
15
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews olive bistro restaurant downstairs no elevator long flight of stairs great location convenience store coffee maker one night upper floor double bed stayed nights living room noise tv mountains town hairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2018

The TripAdvisor site just said upper floor. It did not mention there was no elevator. When we received the booking confirmation all I looked at were the dates, address and price. After climbing 27 steep steps to get to the hotel portion of the building I read the rest of our booking confirmation that did mention no elevator. The room had one bed, a desk & two chairs, 2 end tables, a low chest of drawers good for a suitcase, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and lots of towels. The power to our room went out because we couldn't use the microwave when the air conditioner was on. The last night we were there the power for the whole town went out around 5 pm and stayed off until almost 8 pm. When the power came back on our room didn't come back on. Later that night the power just to our room went off again. The free parking is across the street in the public parking lot if it is not full. The location was great, right in town where we could walk to all the restaurants and stores, except when the town's power went out right a dinner time.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filia I, Owner at Filia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Thanks for your review! We do make it clear in our confirmation email and our website that we are on the second floor of our building without elevator access. It is in fact in the very first sentence of our confirmation email and is prominently featured on our website. And people who book over the phone are also told this information.

We strive to make this clear to all of our guests and from my experience we are successful in conveying this message to 99% of the people who stay with us. Plus I am personally available to help every guest get their luggage up the stairs if needed.

We are not responsible for what is featured on our Tripadvisor page, as businesses have very limited control over what appears on this site. That being said, multiple reviews on Tripadvisor do mention the stairs, so this info is still accesible on Tripadvisor.

I also want to let future guests know that since you have stayed we have changed the power outlet to the air conditioner in that specific room so that it is not on the same circuit breaker as the microwave which has alleviated that problem. As you’ve mentioned the other power issue mentioned was due to a town-wide black out due to a thunderstorm and was out of our control.

I hope that the rest of your vacation went well!

Matt
Filia Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Clearly, this was once a full-service hotel, but now the reception area has been separated from the accommodation and has become an excellent restaurant.
What this means is guests have to negotiate a significant narrow staircase to access the rooms. There is no reception, only a desk on the landing that is not manned full-time.
Our room was clean, but overlooked the back-alley and loading areas for other businesses. Only a double bed was provided which was too small for us (we knew this when booking). The room felt very cramped.
We were not disturbed by noise or other guests.
The TV preformed badly (maybe due to the first snow of the season) and the WiFi woefully slow.
Overall, I cannot recommend this for couples used to larger rooms and beds, of for those unable to negotiate steep stairs.
Parking in the back-alley is limited. Open parking across the streets is often full.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The hotel is a series of rooms on the second floor (30 steps). Our room was surprisingly spacious with a bright, airy feel. The only thing missing was a work desk. The owner is offsite but available quickly using an in-house phone. We found him very helpful and full of good advice. Breakfast is not offered, but there are cafes within a few minutes’ walk. Location is central, just five minutes’ walk from the railway station and information centre. Excellent wi-fi. If the price is right, this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Compared to astronomical prices elsewhere, this is good value, but, I have stayed in Castles for less than a night in this place.

Up a huge flight of stairs, you get to a corridor of rooms. Simple, clean enough and comfortable enough, monopolising on significantly overpriced competition.

An easy walk from here to the town and around for amenities and meals.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank CodyMav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Not really what you'd expect from a hotel. Just a bunch of rooms run by a young guy (the owner). He's quite nice and helpful, but the room we had was a disaster. Mold stains on the bathroom ceiling, water in the bathtub doesn't drain and old dirt starts floating to your knee level. Everything else is very dirty and old. The view from the windows is of the garbage bins of restaurants.
The only reason to stay there is if all other places are fully booked. This place charges very high rates. During our 2-week vacation, we paid quite a lot for hotels and motels in some places, but here we definitely felt that we were ripped off.

Room Tip: There may be better rooms there, but the best advice: stay away from this place.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Ehud K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews