We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,143)
Filter reviews
1,143 results
Traveller rating
721
313
70
25
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
721
313
70
25
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrove suiteshot tubcavell suitegas fireplacepyramid mountainbbq areashort drivewhistler suiterent canoesevery eveningfull kitchenliving roomthree nightspeace and quietbeautiful settingstayed longergrizzly bear
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,143 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Had enjoyable stay in 2 Douglas suites. Most people covered the good points so won't detail those. Slightly more basic than we expected due to so many 5 stars but good for rustic cabin living. Not wholly clean when we arrived but reception were good at requesting a thorough dust and also to ensure rooms done by noon. Our 2 teens had 1 suite and one was on sofa bed. We read here about adding a mattress and we requested the same. Hairdryer and shampoo, conditioner, soap and body lotion. Shower grouting looked a bit shabby but generally ok. We had aircon in our bedroom and boys had aircon in their lounge. We had Douglas 1 and they had Douglas 3. Lake really pretty and we hired a row boat. Lake area gets busy and quite small but pleasant. Used laundry room. They had an iron and board there. Bring mosquito spray. Saw elk once by back door. Saw a moose at moose lake near maligne and bear on road near medicine lake. Beds bit lumpy and made a noise every time we moved and could hear a bit of noise from next door. Dishwasher useful though top tray broke and window catch broke too. Definitely recommend and grounds are lovely.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patlake, Front Office Manager at Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Lisa,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It sounds like you did a great job of helping us make your stay as comfortable for you as possible. We truly appreciate that!
We are happy to provide extra creature comforts at anytime, all our guests need to do is ask :)

Glad to hear that Moose lake lives up to its name and you were able to spot one of these beautiful giants.

Sincerely,

Jalessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Have just stayed here, for the 4th time, for a 5 night family stay as part of a Canadian holiday from the UK. Patricia Lake was as good as ever - the resort is lovely, the lake is beautiful and there’s plenty of wildlife nearby (we spotted bears, elk and deer either in the resort or on the road between Jasper town and the resort, with dusk or early morning seemingly the best times for spotting).

We are a family of 5 so had a 2 bed unit with 2 x double rooms and a sofa bed. The room is spotlessly clean and has been updated slightly since our last visit a couple of years ago, with, for example, the TV and choice of channels improved and the WiFi service better.

The main thing that stops me giving resort 5 stars this time
Is that the unit we were allocated was close to Reception and, as a consequence, we had a constant stream of cars coming into and out of the resort, parking outside of our unit with, on occasion, people talking loudly from early morning as they checked out. However, it did mean that we had a decent WiFi signal.... Also boats are available for hire at $25+tax per hour - it would’ve been nice had we been offered a preferential rate as residents

During our stay, we had a fairly long power cut (wasn’t an issue and battery lamps were provided in case the power couldn’t be restored before dusk) and a 3 day period when the tap water was not safe to consume (instead, small bottles of water were provided free of charge). Neither of these were the fault of the resort and the owners’ response was good - however, I mention these as I think it’s important for prospective guests to realise that they will be staying out in a remote location and, as such, there are compromises and you need to expect the unexpected. For me, the location, setting and wildlife are well worth it - for example, on the 1st morning, I was sleeping on the lounge sofa bed only to be woken up by a herd of deer eating the flowers in our window box literally 3 feet away from my head on the other side of the window. Not many hotels can offer that.....

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank AntonyL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patlake, Front Office Manager at Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear AntonyL4,

I find it outstanding that you r family has traveled from the UK four times and have stated with us each time. We have many return guest, but only few from so far away. We appreciate the ongoing support and love hearing that you were able to experience all that Jasper has to offer while you were here this time.
Please look forward to more updates to come :) Perhaps by next time there will be something new for you to try out!
We do our very best to offer the best Wifi as we can given our remote location, I am happy to hear that you have seen some improvement. We are limited in what we can offer but are thankful that most of our guests are finding the service adequate.

Next time you are booking, please let us know that you prefer a location further away from the office area, we will always do our best to make sure you have the 5 star stay you deserve!

Thank you again for your understanding with the power outage and water advisory. We certainly are a bit off the main grid when it comes to some aspects, and were very grateful that most of our guests shared the same views throughout their stays.

See you next time!

Jalessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

I just spend 4 days in a suite in Patricia lake bungalows. The campground is great right next to the lake which you can see through the trees. You can swim and rent a boat or just go and sit by the lake and enjoy the wonderful sunset. You really feel part of nature here and the service is very good. There is a place to grill food, a small playground and lots of hikes just outside the ground. It takes about 10 minutes by car to jasper.The suite we rented was nice and clean but the reason why this place is not given 5 starts from me is that we had expected to get a bungalow closer to the lake. The suites are located right opposite the reception and therefore close to all the cars driving in during the day. So remember to ask for a real bungalow or appartement close to the lake. we were compensated by a 5 pct discount of the price, a bottle of wine and free boattrips.

Room Tip: ask for bungalow close to lake
Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank nannafischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patlake, Front Office Manager at Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Nannafishcer,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We do appreciate the feedback!

It sounds to me like you had booked one of our Cavell Suites and you are correct that these are located directly across from the office and our reception area. They do not have any lake view.

On our website, we do offer Virtual tours, and of this specific unit, we had asked the developer to make sure to get the view from the front door. We did this in an attempt to be as transparent as possible and ensure our guests are able to see exactly what their unit has to offer.

Please keep in mind that our property on a whole is quite small, and although there was no lake view, you are always within 2 minutes from the water.

I would just like to let any of our future guests know that we are not a campground, in Jasper this can cause a bit of confusion. We are classifies as a Cottage Resort, and camping is not permitted on property (or out side of any designated campgrounds).

Thank you again for the feedback and the opportunity to let future guests know about the information available so we can avoid any confusion in the future.

Sincerely,

Jalessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

I don’t rate 5 star all that often but this place is holiday perfection as far as I am concerned - very comfortable, affordable, family operated self contained accommodation in a picture perfect lakeside forest setting. No wonder it books out completely for the months it’s open (they have to close in winter when the lake freezes solid!). We stayed here three nights but could have stayed much longer. It has everything- canoe hire, kids’ play area, even two friendly border collies! We stayed in one of the Aspen lakefront villas which I would recommend for the view and seclusion. The villa had everything needed to self-cater and the staff checked regularly that we had all we needed. It’s an easy 15 minute drive from Jasper and you are likely to see wildlife by the road on the way. If you are lucky enough to get to stay here make sure you go for a canoe - also get out of bed early to see the hills perfectly reflected in the glassy lake.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank dpolites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patlake, Front Office Manager at Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Dpolites,

Thank you so much!! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and met the pups! Those two love their jobs more than anything and even when we try to keep them inside, the simply won't have it. They need to be outside at work the the maintenance team.
There is nothing better than having the pups at work, and I am excited to see that their energy carries over to the guests (even though they are mostly only focused on playing fetch, or stealing toys from kids at the playground...).

You are 100% correct! The views early in the morning when the lake is glass flat and everything is still are unreal! Thank you for passing along that suggestion.

Overall, thank you very much for your review, we greatly appreciate the feedback and information you have passed along to our future guests.

Best regards,

Jalessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed here in 2012 and it was lovely to return here. So peaceful and a great location on Patricia Lake. We hired a rowing boat and enjoyed the views on the lake.
Saw Elk around the holiday chalets.
Would recommend this place as only a few minutes from Jasper town.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank UnitedKingdomWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patlake, Front Office Manager at Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear UnitedKingdomWendy,

Thank you for thinking of so many years later! We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again one day if you are ever travelling back through Canada :)

We may have made a few changed by then, but are confident we can offer another great stay!

Jalessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews