We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“get a room facing the outside parking lot, avoid all rooms facing the inside of the building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Would you stay in a hotel a mile walk from the city center?

This was the hotel we stayed in Jasper, Alberta, Labor day weekend.  Walking from the city center to the hotel is exactly 1 mile or 1.6 kilometers, according to Google maps.  I did the walk three times during my stay, with times ranging from 21 to 23 minutes.  Twice it rained on me, but fortunately the route has lighted sidewalk the entire distance.  Beyond this hotel, the sidewalk ends.  You can't get any further from the city center, unless you want to live with the bears in the forest.  

Room configuration unusual in that half the rooms on the outside face the parking lot on all four sides of the building, and the rooms on the inside face an indoor atrium, or worse yet, the swimming pool and hot tub.  If you get a room facing the atrium, expect lots of noise from the dining facilities on the ground floor.  And if you get a room facing the, swimming pool, expect even more noise and no privacy, from rowdy kids playing in the pool -in which case I would immediately ask for another room!

Our room faced the rear of the building and had a balcony, from which we could smell cigarette smoking from the guy doing work in the tent working on the nursery of plants.  Beyond the fence was a very large vacant lot, with the Marriott on the other side.  Lot of highway and railroad noise when the balcony door was open,

Room was very spacious, at least 11' x 20', much bigger than your standard room, with two king beds, modern furniture, attractive wallpaper, clean relatively new rugs and refrigerator, but no microwave.  Electronic safe mounted on top of closet shelf, about 5'7"  off the ground, so difficult to see things in the back of the safe on the floor of the safe.

Bathroom was decent, with attractive wine colored marble countertop, plenty of counter space, low water flush toilet, and deep bathtub.

Furniture designed for visual appeal and not for ease of usage.  Comfortable sitting chair overlooking the balcony window.  Only one nightstand in the center for two king size beds.  Cabinet next to 44" flat screen TV full of coffee and tea packages and similar items.  Closet for hanging your clothes, but no dresser, even though plenty of excess space.  Ottoman  and luggage rack.  
.  
Strong wifi, except for the weather channel at 7am in the morning, when everyone logged in to see when the rain would end.  

Comfortable quarters, and relatively quiet, but stay away from rooms facing the inside, and run, not walk away from any room facing the swimming pool!  And bring comfortable walking or running shoes for the 2 mile roundtrip trek to town.

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony facing the outside, avoid rooms facing the inside atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for your detailed review. We are indeed about one kilometer away from the bustling town center. Many of our guests enjoy the serene 15 minute walk along the train tracks where you can often see the resident wildlife, and take stunning pictures of the surrounding mountains. What a great way to stretch your legs, and take in some refreshing mountain air! We do have several levels of bedrooms, including Atrium view rooms. These are accented by the natural light of our open air atrium and many skylights. It’s a shame that it rained while you were here. The moisture is a welcomed relief from one of the hottest and driest summers on record. We are very happy you found the room comfortable quiet!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 40 of 1,474 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

This would have been a 5 but for the air con. It was so noisy it kept us awake, when I complained they sent an engineer who played around a bit and told me it was quite normal. We asked for a different room, but none available. So we had another broken nights sleep. On the up side, the rooms were of good size. The beds were very hard, liked by some and hated by others. We enjoyed the pool and hot spa. The continental breakfast was very reasonably priced. It was also great to have a washing machine that could be used,

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Arrived at the hotel, painted really brown. Don't know if this was to fit in with the surroundings or a legal requirement, but it was really depressing. At the check in, there was a stuffed bear in a case, didn't find that the least bit inviting and unacceptable on so many levels.

Got to the room, was really beige and depressing, with the carpet in need of a dire clean, did not walk on this without my boots on. Could not open the curtains as the room overlooked the breakfast room, bizarre or what?

Did not complain about the room, this was the fourth hotel we stayed at as part of a fly drive and the third hotel that was unacceptable. Simply started to believe the standard in Canada at $350 a night is poor to say the least and really could not be bothered to complain after my previous experience. Not on vacation to keep complaining.

The staff were pleasant and had a surprisingly good meal at the restaurant.

Starting to guess the standards in Canada are not what I expected.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for rating us, and leaving some detailed feedback. We do indeed have a very neutral color scheme designed to fit in with our surrounding forest. The design team was very diligent in factoring in this concept. We do have several mounts within the hotel, all of which are tastefully presented, including our black bear. All have been donated, in fact some from Parks Canada. Many of our guests enjoy seeing these and reading the literature that explains a little about the species and mounts origin. We are very grateful you have also mentioned your great experience in our dining facilities and how friendly our hard working and dedicated staff are!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Perfectly adequate for a few nights while visiting Jasper. The Atrium rooms have no direct light which makes them a bit dark and virtually impossible to judge the weather. A good 20 minute walk from Downtown Jasper, but the hotel provides a one way (to town) shuttle. Staff, nearly all Aussies, very helpful.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Luckington2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

I had the pleasure of staying here on the labour day weekend. This is a nice hotel with above average sized rooms. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are fairly quiet with the exception of the air conditioner which is archaic and woke me several times during the night when cutting in and out. You still get a postage stamp sized bathroom and if small cosmetic things bother you, they do exist but the place is very clean and comfortable. The staff where awesome and it is in a great location with a slightly lengthy walk to the main strip of Jasper. The internet was average with congestion at times. It really is hard to complain about much except the air conditioner and the price. I realize hotels in Jasper charge a premium given the location but at almost $400 a night with taxes, this hotel is nowhere near that nice. I stayed at a hotel in Canmore for $270 a night that made this place almost look like a hostel. With that said, it would be easy to stay at this hotel for a week or longer and be very happy if you have the cash.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sask_Guss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.9 km away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
447 reviews
2.3 km away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,626 reviews
0.6 km away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
975 reviews
0.4 km away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#7 of 17 in Jasper
879 reviews
3.1 km away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper

Address: 76 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
#3 Business Hotel in Jasper
#4 Family Hotel in Jasper
Price Range: $130 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawridge Inn And Conference Centre Jasper Hotel Jasper
Sawridge Hotel Jasper National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing