We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
126
83
26
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
126
83
26
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheritage hotelantique roomclawfoot tubno elevatorcommon roomwood floorslots of historystep back in timecharacter and charmgood nights sleepattached restaurantquiet at nightgreat stophotel is locatedcomfortable bedfree breakfastdefinitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Dropped in to book conference room and was given a tour of this little gem. Great service special atmosphere in early 1900 settings but updated with modern conveniences. Impressive romantic 'old west' style and unique spotless rooms in the heart of downtown Chilliwack. Nice surprise and amazing history within this comforting hotel.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank ROBOBORO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Thanks for your comments. We look forward to you joining us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

I stayed a while ago and gave five. But the area has become worse, Chilliwack has issues and the hotel feels less safe now. Including lots of noise outside, slightly worrisome people in the street and someone trying my door at 2am.

Shame because the staff are wonderful and the building is great.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank katey1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Thanks for making us your place to stay - we're glad that you came again. Certainly the area around the hotel has become a vibrant hub of activity and, like any other community's downtown, that includes sounds and people of all kinds. Not sure why your door was disturbed, that's something we will try to find out. We're going to work hard to provide the best service possible and ensure that what we do - with the atmosphere and service in the hotel, cafe and pub - continue to be the best to warrant your return visits. Thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

My daughter and I thought we would try the Royal Hotel, and see what the restaurant had to offer. The menu has an amazing selection of really interesting foods. The presentation is refreshingly nice. We both enjoyed the atmosphere, the service was good. Plus the prices are very reasonable.
All in all it was a good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank majordog19555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Thanks for your comments. You might wish to provide a review on the Royal Cafe site as well. We do appreciate your providing reviews to ensure that prospective guests and customers can make their choices to enjoy all that we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Stayed one night. Very courteous and friendly front desk. No issues with check in or out. I did not sleep well. Street noise was loud with some people yelling in the streets and siren in the early morning. Could hear running on the floor above.
It was a cute room with all you need, w/c, tub/shower, sink, mirror, tv, wifi...
Breakfast choices are good. Friendly server. But keep in mind the kitchen is not quick.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avg_40ish_woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Hmm thanks for the comments. We're disappointed that your sleep was disrupted and not restful. We'll continue to ensure that whatever we can control will be the best that it can be. Thanks for the comments and we do hope your next visit with us will provide a better rest for you. (By the way, we do provide slippers to our guests to encourage them to tread softly on the wood floors!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

My family and I stayed January 19-22 with 3 adults and my 3 yr old daughter. The hotel is located right at the heart of downtown chilliwack and has so much character!

We had originally booked an antique room which had an adorable large old style tub and wooden floors but did not have a fridge or microwave in the room. The front desk staff instantly offered us a more modern room that had the microwave and fridge at no extra cost. There is also a common room which has a large table for visiting and playing cards and two larger chairs for lounging as well as a computer if you want to browse the net. In this room is a full size coffee pot and fridge and microwave for all guests to use.

The beds in our room (double and queen) were sooo comfy! My only complaint was that our room was over the pub downstairs so there was a bit of music and chatter (not excessive, but loud enough to make falling asleep more challenging) happening so Friday and Saturday evening took longer to fall asleep.

Other then that this hotel is really really cute. You get free breakfast which is included for all guests. You get to choose from several items which makes options easy!

There is no elevator though so be prepared to walk a couple stairs!

If we stay in chilliwack again I will definitely stay here again!!

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Kristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Thanks for your careful comments and review - and recommendation. We do look forward to having you with us again.Thanks so much for choosing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews