We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Northgate Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Stayed at the BW Northgate for 2 nights, and was very impressed. Check-in was quick and easy, the room was nicely appointed and comfortable with everything you could want/need for a couple of nights. (Although, I wish they still provided bottled water in the mini-frig). Found the room to be very clean, and "fresh" smelling. The bed was so comfortable I wanted to take it home (: My only complaint about the room - there are 3 LED clock/temp.displays that glare at you in the night - guess that's unavoidable. The breakfast room is very large and nice and bright with lots of windows. Breakfast is the usual fare - this morning I had a freshly baked waffle with fresh berries, sausages, and decaf coffee. Lots of choices and well stocked.
I was very impressed with this BW - I always stay BW, but this one was particularly nice. Would certainly stay here again, and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelynx00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

We would like to thank travelnx00 for their review and for highlighting some of our many great features. We also really appreciate the recommendation to fellow travellers consulting TripAdvisor. We installed these fantastic highly efficient air conditioning systems with our latest renovation. Everyone's been raving about how great they have been during this exceptionally hot spell that we have had. The one thing we weren't prepared for was the brightness of the LED displays. We have a product designed to cover the LED lights on the Air Conditioners which effectively reduces the light output by 75%. In speaking with regular guests many have found this to be the improvement needed. For those guests who find it still too bright, we can bring up and lend a remote control to turn off the display lights on the unit. It's not a perfect solution but feedback from impacted guests has been very positive. So if you're reading this and you find the LED lights too bright, please contact our front desk team. They are eager to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

A tad on the pricey side but great staff and clean comfortable rooms. The staff are very helpful and super friendly. I forgot utensils for our meal and they had them on the spot for us. Also very accomodating when we requested a room near our friends

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank DandA95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

We would like to thank DandA95 for their review and for the feedback on their stay. Our staff are eager to help and we appreciate them being acknowledged as "super friendly". Pricing is always somewhat subjective and our rates do fluctuate day to day like most of the travel industry. A few tips for our guests to find the most value with us. November to February is our quietest season, and we always suggest to avoid Tuesday's and Wednesdays where possible as these are usually the two busiest days of the week for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

I was very happy with this hotel. Cleanliness is a must for me and this hotel met my standards. The staff is very pleasent and the location is close to everything and easy to get to and from. I appreciated the security safe, fridge and microwave in the room as well. I would recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank randyw962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

We would like to thank randyw962 for their review and for highlighting the many great features of their stay. All of our rooms have safes and refrigerators, and some of our room types have microwaves. Just a friendly reminder to please ensure to reserve a room type with a Microwave if you would like use of one during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

This is a great place to stay. Newly renovated place, clean and bright. We are glad we booked it. It is close to.... everything (tourist attractions, highway, food, shopping, liquor store, etc...). Nice friendly staff. Decent breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 389mihaelam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

We would like to thank 389mihaelam for their review and for highlighting our decent breakfast and our close proximity to many convenient amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Newly renovated but find Canadian hotels way over priced. Very difficult to find a decent hotel at a reasonable price. XIXONYebirnalklI have said all i need to say. looks like I will not be posting anymore comments

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank grantvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

We would like to thank grantvee for their review and for their feedback. I'm sorry to read that Canadian hotels appear to be overpriced but we're confident that our hotels pricing reflects good value considering the needs in our immediate market area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
10.7 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,587 reviews
9.4 km away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
310 reviews
2.6 km away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
2.4 km away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#12 of 18 in Nanaimo
182 reviews
12.4 km away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Northgate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Northgate Inn

Address: 6450 Metral Dr, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 2L8, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nanaimo
#6 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range: $141 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Northgate Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Northgate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Northgate Hotel Nanaimo
Best Western Nanaimo
Nanaimo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing