We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,805)
Filter reviews
1,805 results
Traveller rating
1,038
550
144
48
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,038
550
144
48
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great view minnoz restaurant parking garage cheesecake corner room room service small balcony harbour view downtown nanaimo front desk staff hotel restaurant very nice hotel king bed central location nice room comfortable beds chaise
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 1,805 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2018

Consistent good quality hotel . Stayed twice in last 6 months good views clean rooms good service in bar restaurant . Rooms basic but very clean and comfortable . Parking convenient and cheap at $9 a good bet for accommodation in Nanaimo area

Room Tip: Upper floor
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank howards201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren A, Interim Hotel Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for the review. Hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Our friends recommended this place and we were so disappointed. The reception when we arrived was rude. For a price of $190 a night the place is only nice in the lobby. Hallway is old. Rooms are small. Beds are only in doubles and we have 2 teenagers. There is no pool !! No free breakfast. Nothing . Plus the location is unsafe because it is near the hostel with so many homeless people . On top of hay they charge you for parking !!! What kind of hotel charges you for parking. And they don’t tell you that until you pay your bills.
I gave one star cause of the nice man who gave us extra blankets and pillows. Other than that no star for this place for us. Not staying here again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Amor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

The Coast Bastion is a nice hotel in downtown Nanaimo. We had a large room on the top floor with a view of the ocean, port, and harbour. Everything was clean and comfortable. The staff were professional and welcoming. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank R4814HZjamesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren A, Interim Hotel Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Happy to see you enjoyed your stay at the Coast Bastion. Hope to have you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

I recently contacted the Coast Bastion to secure a group booking for my hockey team. I had the pleasure of speaking to Anita who provided excellent customer service. The booking was very short notice (less than a week) and required upward of fifteen rooms. Anita confidently booked the block of rooms, and provided me detailed room information and rates on all level of rooms available for our stay. While on the phone with me she secured the room for my family and sent me an e-mail confirmation. Within minutes of ending the call with Anita I had all the group booking information in my inbox. I was worried about the short notice booking of rooms but thanks to Anita it was very easy and went smoothly. Our team is very excited for our stay at this property and are thankful they are able to accommodate us on such short notice.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank StephanieB685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren A, Interim Hotel Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for the review. So glad we were able to accommodate your hockey team. Looking forward to having your team to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

The great hotel at the great location with the great services. Totally worth your money. The restaurant was great, and the food is the best. We will be back again. Their staff were so friendly and service great!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren A, Interim Hotel Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for the great review. Happy to see you enjoyed all the offerings of the hotel. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews