We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day paddling”

Wildheart Adventures
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us in our 29th season exploring gorgeous Vancouver Island. Kayak with orca whales in Johnstone Strait, grey whales in Clayoquot Sound. Our tours feature gourmet camping cuisine, fun-loving certified guides, premium kayaking and safety equipment and we have offer both camping and lodge based tours. Check out our Daytrips here in Nanaimo paddling the gorgeous waters of the Gulf Islands.
Reviewed 23 August 2017

A great paddle on the coast off of Nanaimo. Lots of wildlife, a fantastic scenery, and an amazing lunch!

Kim was a fantastic guide, with advice on what to do and see on the island as well as a superb ability to make details of the surrounding wildlife and scenery come alive with a gesture and a few words.

Thank huitseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayakBC_333, Guide at Wildheart Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Really glad that you joined us on our Daytripper and enjoyed your time with us on the water. It's always a pleasure to show folks this amazing area and thank you for your kind words. Hope you can join us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wild heart"
in 10 reviews
"johnstone strait"
in 8 reviews
"telegraph cove"
in 8 reviews
"kayaking trip"
in 8 reviews
"bald eagles"
in 12 reviews
"broken islands"
in 6 reviews
"guide kim"
in 5 reviews
"excellent trip"
in 3 reviews
"few words"
in 2 reviews
"home grown"
in 2 reviews
"night trip"
in 2 reviews
"sharing stories"
in 2 reviews
"camping gear"
in 3 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 2 reviews
"killer whales"
in 2 reviews
"paddling"
in 16 reviews
"orcas"
in 9 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2017

My wife and I just returned from a 3-Day Johnstone Strait trip with Kim. He's a great guy and an excellent guide. Kim provides quality equipment and delicious home-cooked (and home-grown) meals. He possesses a vast knowledge of the island and pointed us to some great hikes and establishments for our return trip to Victoria. Johnstone Strait is a beautiful stretch of water surrounded by mountains that needs to be experienced by anyone who enjoys paddling. Kim's guiding style allows both novice and experienced paddlers to enjoy themselves. We are looking forward to paddling with him again.

Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

This is an easy trip to manage, physically, with beautiful surroundings - feels like no place on earth with orange-hued sunsets and crystal clear (cold!) water. There is the opportunity to swim as much as you like, if you dare, but worth the plunge (although hopefully not in the kayak!). Kim explained what to do in case of tipping: just always make sure that the 'holy crap strap' is always at hand. The food was absolutely delicious, plentiful and beautifully displayed, even in the wilderness.

Just don't go thinking that you will absolutely see whales, because we didn't, although we did see porpoises and bald eagles and there are bears and cougars aplenty, but you probably don't want to see those!

All in all, it was a memorable, beautiful trip.

Thank happycanadian2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayakBC_333, Lead Guide at Wildheart Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Hey Guys, So good to hear from you and that you enjoyed your 3 days out with Emmy and me in gorgeous Johnstone Strait. Both my following trips had multiple orca sightings each day (so sorry we weren't able to see them on your trip) and we caught ample salmon as well. You'll just have to come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

We're just back from a wonderful 3 day/2 night kayak trip with Wild Heart Adventures. There were 6 of us on this trip plus our guide Kim and his assistant Emmy. The trip was transformative - gliding across the clear water of Johnston Strait surrounded by lush islands, majestic mountains and a mix of fog and clear blue sky every day was truly magical.
Kim took the lead and Emmy kept my husband and I company through most of the kayaking, sharing stories of her paddling adventures in BC's waters. Kim's home cooking was spectacular and there was lots of animated "campfire-ish" conversation (fire ban). Kim also threw in a mid-day bushwhacking adventure to the top of an island peak which challenged my 60 year old body, but I wasn't going to be left behind!!
It was a great 3 days - no Orcas this time - but hopefully we see them next time we paddle with Kim....cuz there will be a next time!

1  Thank 978gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayakBC_333, Lead Guide at Wildheart Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

HI Guys,
Thank you so much for your kind review and so glad you enjoyed your time out with Emmy and I paddling the spectacular waters of Johnstone Strait. It was a delight to spend 3 days with you and am thrilled to hear you hope to join us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Had a great day trip with my guide, Kim. He was very accommodating and provided excellent instruction before we set out. The islands are beautiful and the water was very calm with great weather. Lunch is provided on the day trip and it's substantial and delicious. I'd definitely recommend Wildheart based on the great experience I had.

Thank Mairead O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wildheart Adventures also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Wildheart Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing