We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$144
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buccaneer Inn(Nanaimo)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$166
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
190
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suitehot tubvancouver islandperfect hostsquiet place to staymagnificent view of the oceanpacific northwestwonderful friendsdelicious breakfastfloor to ceiling windowslarge bedroomb bsenjoyed breakfastmemorable staywe loved our stayking roommarilyn
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2017

We returned to MGM after nearly 2 years, and it was like coming back to visit old friends. Glenn still makes the best lattes, and Glenn and Marilyn combine to produce the tastiest and most well-presented breakfasts we have ever had. They were also very accommodating with our 6-month old, who, shall we say, doesn't yet sleep through the night. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, which has floor to ceiling windows with incredible views over the water. We highly recommend MGM and hope to return again if circumstances allow.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite has the most incredible views
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Brad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Having enjoyed our visit 4 years ago we decided to stay here again on our tour of the island. We were greeted like long lost friends by Marilyn and Glenn when we arrived and spent some time catching up on events. The B&B was as we remembered it, nice room, lovely breakfasts and great hosts. There is a large common area with a fridge and coffee making area. There are Nanaimo bars available as well and very tasty they are too.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Nanaimo, walking round the waterfront and spending some time on Newcastle Island.

A very enjoyable stay, thank you. We would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank oldgang598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We spent three wonderful nights with Marilyn and Glenn at the end of September. What a lovely, relaxing stay! From the moment we walked in, we felt like close friends who had some to visit for a few days.

Our room, the "Honeymoon Suite" was amazing: it was spacious, comfortable, and had an incredible view and a lovely balcony. In fact, the whole house is incredible. The honeymoon suite is on the main level. There is a common area downstairs with coffee/tea, a refrigerator, books, games, etc, and another amazing view. There is a hot tub on the downstairs balcony.

Breakfasts were delicious, innovative, and beautifully prepared. I'm highly lactose intolerant, and Glenn and Marilyn still prepared amazing breakfasts for me. Glenn even made me espresso for breakfast and cappuchino for my husband!

Marilyn and Glenn were generous with their time, helping us figure out what to do, and just generally talking about the area and whatever interested us and them. The experience was truly like visiting with friends, except that, in this case, we actually made two new and wonderful friends.

I don't know what more to say. Everything about our stay was exceptional. You will love staying at this amazing B&B!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

This was our second trip and it was just as great as our first time. You can see the ocean from the front door, through the kitchen, diningroom, livingroom, honeymoon suite, downstairs from the gathering room, pool room, second bedroom, etc. The views are spectacular. But so are the hosts, Glen and Marilyn. They are thoughtful, attentive, great listeners, and all-around superb hosts. Be sure to taste Glen's waffles, and Marilyn's crustless quiche and egg white and spinach omelet. If you sit outside on the lower deck, you stand a good chance of seeing Hector, the lonely seal. If you get really lucky, you may see also see whales and eagles, heron, deer everywhere, and in the country, spot bears (hopefully, from a distance). This destination is definitely worthy of your bucket list!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

From the moment we arrived at Marilyn and Glen's beautiful home we were made to feel like the most special guests they had ever had quickly chatting to us like old friends. We were blown away by the stunning views across the bay and after a miserable drive,in the rain, from Campbell River the sun came out and gave us a fantastic sunset so we could sit out on the deck and enjoy the evening. We decided not to eat out so prepared a supper in the guests well equipped kitchen and sat out on the deck until we fell into our very comfortable beds. (We had the Honeymoon and King rooms)
Breakfast was served to all of the guests by Marilyn and Glen in their kitchen, Glen's homemade bread was delicious. We really didn't want to leave as soon as we did but are sure we will return one day.

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the bay but the King Room has a bathroom on the floor above and would not suit guests with mobility issues.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews