We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ultimate B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanaimo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MGM Seashore Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 34 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We've stayed at a lot of bed and breakfasts over the years but this one tops the list. We were welcomed by Marilyn and Glenn who made us feel right at home. The house is exquisitely decorated, right out of House Beautiful. The views from our room and patios were amazing, so much so that in the evening, we just sat there enjoying the vista. Marilyn and Glenn are gracious hosts and we can see why they've made friends all around the world. Breakfasts were excellent and tailored to your tastes. Glenn makes his own fabulous bread and butter. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend their home for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Go for the honeyroom suite. It's amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dragebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2017

We returned to MGM after nearly 2 years, and it was like coming back to visit old friends. Glenn still makes the best lattes, and Glenn and Marilyn combine to produce the tastiest and most well-presented breakfasts we have ever had. They were also very accommodating with our 6-month old, who, shall we say, doesn't yet sleep through the night. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, which has floor to ceiling windows with incredible views over the water. We highly recommend MGM and hope to return again if circumstances allow.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite has the most incredible views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Brad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Having enjoyed our visit 4 years ago we decided to stay here again on our tour of the island. We were greeted like long lost friends by Marilyn and Glenn when we arrived and spent some time catching up on events. The B&B was as we remembered it, nice room, lovely breakfasts and great hosts. There is a large common area with a fridge and coffee making area. There are Nanaimo bars available as well and very tasty they are too.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Nanaimo, walking round the waterfront and spending some time on Newcastle Island.

A very enjoyable stay, thank you. We would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank oldgang598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We spent three wonderful nights with Marilyn and Glenn at the end of September. What a lovely, relaxing stay! From the moment we walked in, we felt like close friends who had some to visit for a few days.

Our room, the "Honeymoon Suite" was amazing: it was spacious, comfortable, and had an incredible view and a lovely balcony. In fact, the whole house is incredible. The honeymoon suite is on the main level. There is a common area downstairs with coffee/tea, a refrigerator, books, games, etc, and another amazing view. There is a hot tub on the downstairs balcony.

Breakfasts were delicious, innovative, and beautifully prepared. I'm highly lactose intolerant, and Glenn and Marilyn still prepared amazing breakfasts for me. Glenn even made me espresso for breakfast and cappuchino for my husband!

Marilyn and Glenn were generous with their time, helping us figure out what to do, and just generally talking about the area and whatever interested us and them. The experience was truly like visiting with friends, except that, in this case, we actually made two new and wonderful friends.

I don't know what more to say. Everything about our stay was exceptional. You will love staying at this amazing B&B!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

This was our second trip and it was just as great as our first time. You can see the ocean from the front door, through the kitchen, diningroom, livingroom, honeymoon suite, downstairs from the gathering room, pool room, second bedroom, etc. The views are spectacular. But so are the hosts, Glen and Marilyn. They are thoughtful, attentive, great listeners, and all-around superb hosts. Be sure to taste Glen's waffles, and Marilyn's crustless quiche and egg white and spinach omelet. If you sit outside on the lower deck, you stand a good chance of seeing Hector, the lonely seal. If you get really lucky, you may see also see whales and eagles, heron, deer everywhere, and in the country, spot bears (hopefully, from a distance). This destination is definitely worthy of your bucket list!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanaimo
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,522 reviews
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nanaimo Ocean View B&B
#5 of 34 in Nanaimo
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Seashore Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Seashore Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4950 Fillinger Cres | British Columbia, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9V 1H9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range: $180 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular oceanfront B&B in our modern executive home in north Nanaimo on Vancouver Island. All three rooms offer ocean view, decks with hot tub, a beach deck, with garden steps between. Included is an games/entertainment/sitting area, coffee/tea/cappuccino bar, fruit bowl and the famous Nanaimo Bar dessert, gourmet breakfasts, menu changes daily and caters to any dietary needs. Enjoy our smoke and pet free environment. We promise a memorable stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing