We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arundel Mansion
Nearby Hotels
The Met Hotel(New Westminster)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Inn at the Quay(New Westminster)
US$168
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Queens Hotel(New Westminster)
US$113
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
US$152
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Surrey(Surrey)(Great Value!)
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$193
Autograph
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
15
21
8
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
21
8
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roombottle of winestay there againgas stoveclawfoot tubantique elevatorowners and staffsmall kitchenfloors creakhis headfull kitchenhigh ceilingsfraser rivertrain stationapartmentstuaparthotel
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Old, but nice place. Top notch service from the attendant who checked us in. They will show you the rooms prior to agreeing to stay. They provided a bottle of Sawmill Creek Merlot on the House. Our booking included a bedroom with a king size bed, closet, full living room, kitchen and bathroom. Within close walking distance to a few bars and restaurants, as well as the New Westminster metro line stop.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Clay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Our experience was extremely disappointing. After we got the initial walk through, we realized we were almost on top of the Skytrain - the curtains were drawn & the light was low....... at this point the odour of the apartment became clear when a number of areas were noted to be soiled (sheets included) - after attempting to check out an hour later, were were refused a refund. Don't waste you time or money!

Room Tip: go somewhere else
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

You basically have a lovely small apartment, much of it circa early 20th century. The living/dining room is quite large and nicely appointed. The bedroom had a wonderfully comfortable queen-size bed. The kitchen is quaint with lovely china but also has a microwave in addition to fridge, stove, toaster, etc. The bathroom was delightful with a an original toilet (1912) that worked better than many, and a footed tub. The location is 1/2 block off Columbia St. (the main street in town)--so an easy walk to everything. The only drawback was the SkyTrain is also nearby and runs all night long. The website has great photos of the suites but since we had an original element that not all rooms have I will post a photo of the nifty toilet

Room Tip: Rooms on higher levels have better views--a nice addition. We were on the 4th floor--there are five.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank foreigncarnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

A "charming historic building" is one thing; a run-down old building that is one step above a flop-house is another. Perhaps other rooms in the Arundel Mansion were okay, but ours was in sad need of help. This place advertises itself as "not being for everyone", which is an unfortunate apology for letting things go.

We did not know that we needed to make prior arrangements for someone to be there when we checked in. That was obviously true with three other guests who waited outside of the building with us. We were greeted by a padlocked gate and a note on a nearby door to enter via the padlocked door. We did not have a special phone service set up while we traveled, so there was no way to reach them. After leaving and returning later, we spied someone inside the building and knocked on the window. A cleaning lady opened the door and seemed quite flustered because she did not know how to handle the check-in process. One guest's reservation had been lost.

On the positive side, much of the old style trim boards and staircase have been maintained and are attractive. The sitting room included a table and chairs and old decorative plates similar to those we saw in the Salvation Army store nearby that were placed around the rim of the upper trim board. There was adequate tableware for all four of us, a full-size refrigerator that kept food adequately chilled, and a microwave. We did not use the stove. The location of the building is excellent for access to the light rail and the esplanade. There are several parks and restaurants within walking distance.

The rest of our experience was unfortunately not very good. The photo on the building of the "mansion" was greatly misleading as was the area near the door which would lead one to think that there was a dine-in option. There wasn't. The building is flanked by a half-way house for recovering addicts and a last-chance school.

The windows in our top floor room were falling apart, literally. Pieces of the sash near the exterior fire escape ladder had disintegrated. There were huge holes in the curtains that hung on all of the windows, a pile of mismatched towels and washcloths in the bathroom were so old that they were shredding at the edges; we were told we would have two queen beds but were given one queen bed and a pull-out couch that was so bad that we did not dare sleep on the mattress. We were given a roll-away cot that had a stained mattress cover and loose dirt on top of it. The linens were shoved in a pillow case that was falling apart, and the bottom sheet for the cot had multiple holes in it, each more than an inch wide. Mouse traps seemed to keep the vermin at bay, though we did find mouse droppings beneath the sink. The bathtub drain was difficult to use, at best. The area rug in the sitting room was badly stained. Internet connectivity was spotty.

The morning after the first night, we found that a window on the fourth floor had been shattered during the night. During the second night, there was a potentially dangerous occurrence on the roof top above us that involved people yelling and crying and climbing up and down the fire escape outside our bedroom window. When we tried to call the landlord, we found that the phone did not work.

The building has potential, but it needs replacement of basic items such as linens as well as a huge infusion of money for repairs that will enhance safety, wiring, and wifi lines.

Room Tip: If you must stay there, do not choose a room on the fifth floor.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

I am a big fan of historical sites, including hotels.
That's only reason I marked that hotel as Very Good, since it was built in 1912 and I love old British atmosphere in the hotel, that is located right for getting meal and cook in your room's kitchen. New Westminster Skytrain station next to the hotel, if you want to get to DT and have some drinks.
There is no reception and Stew (liked him) was very helpful & hospitable Host.
We found few old things that you never have these days:
1.old elevator, but in a good working condition - you need to close/open doors and that is one of the first elevator with buttons.
2. there were two wooden kind of floor pedals in front of kitchen and inside the kitchen and we didn't realize until we stepped on them accidentally - those are doors openers.
3. Bottle of Red Wine complimentary
4. Parking for free inside the backyard

Bed was quite comfortable.
All items were old, but clean, including kitchen stuff (excluding TV, Internet, microwave and gas stove).

We stayed at Red Dwarf Room. We could hear Skytrains, but it never bothered us during the sleeping, we were tired and slept quickly.

If you appreciate historical atmosphere and don't mind street noise (strong nerve system or maybe younger ages) - try this hotel for some experience, you will never get the same feeling in new modern hotels with old accessories and things inside the room.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nadia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews