We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
30
5
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
5
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed in the Emperor's Delight suite. The website photo looked grand. After arriving, we found the hostess to be a kind lady. Nice touch to have a wine fridge available for chilling a bottle or two. All amenities are a bit dated, but in decent working order. The suite was dark, and there is no view from the window. Nice to have the jacuzzi tub, but with the hot tub outside, better to choose another room. Room temperature controls not quite right. I don't mind dogs, but they were a little too much in our feet when we had to bring our belongings to & fro. Didn't see the husband all weekend, though he was around - a bit strange. Felt the suite was probably better worth $110-120/night, compared to other places we have stayed.

Room Tip: Choose one of the Royal Suite rooms for a couple - you'll get more value for what you pay for.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalBarb, Owner at Royal Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

We appreciate your candid comments. Hopefully your experience will help our future guests select the room that suits their preference. As you mentioned, pictures on the internet are helpful. But we also suggest you check our official web site, "Rooms Tab" for a comparison of our rooms.

For persons such as yourself, who put the view, bright natural light as priority, then the Kings Palace would be the room of choice. Guests who select the Emperors Delight, often request this room on repeat visits because they do not want to be awakened by the bright morning light, enjoy the leather reclining chairs in front of the large flat screen TV with surround sound, or appreciate the private steam shower in their room.

Our suggestion is that if in doubt when making your room selection, call the direct toll-free number to the B&B and discuss with us your vacationing style.

Please note that if booking on one of the booking directories, your rate will included the VIP package. If price is a concern - please consider booking directly with the B&B, so that you are assured that you are getting most cost effective rate/room/packages for your needs.

Also, about the dogs. I apologize for Pepper.... he's not quite 2 now, and new to the B&B. Since your visit in May, he's settled down some, but still thinks our guests are here to see him! My husband on the other hand, thinks you are not here to see him. So he tries his best to keep out of the way of our guests by staying in our own suite when he is at home. I will let them know your concerns and work at balancing them out! And for our future guests... please if either one our two little shih tzu dogs or my husband are not co-operating -- tell me while you are here, so that I can make your visit more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I was looking to stay somewhere comfortable and quiet for a week away with my boyfriend and Royal did not disappoint! The rooms were spotless, very comfortable and far exceeded any standard room you would get at a "chain" hotel. The towels and linens were soft and luxurious and towels were plentiful. You can tell Barb spent a lot of time ensuring these rooms were above and beyond standard with attention to little extras like the addition of a steam shower, reclining chairs in the room, and the generous jet tub.

Breakfasts were amazing! Each day Barb created something new and fresh. There was almost too much food and I felt bad not being able to finish everything. The leisurely breakfast, enjoyed in the dining room overlooking Penticton and the lakes was the perfect way to start the day.

Royal B&B is located in a peaceful subdivision which was a nice escape after a busy afternoon at the local wineries or downtown Penticton. We enjoyed sitting on the deck in the evening enjoying the view and having some quiet time.

Barb was always available and was great to talk with but she gave us space as well and I never felt intruded upon. She showed us around the kitchen and told us to help ourselves to wine glasses or cutlery etc. It was great after a day out to come back and open a bottle of wine, recently purchased at a local winery of course, and pour a glass and then sit on the patio and enjoy the evening.

Thanks again to Barb for the wonderful stay! I truly felt at home.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gusryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalBarb, Owner at Royal Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Good to hear that your stay in the Emperors Delight was enjoyable. And I'm glad you felt at home here and took advantage of the rest of the B&B as well. It was our pleasure to have accommodated you. Please accept our invitation to come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The name Royal did not even come close to the excellent accommodation, decor, clean spotless rooms! We so enjoyed the owner/manager Barb who made us feel at home and then some! The breakfast's I would rate 4.5 out of 5! The food and presentation was better than any of the restaurant that we went to including one that was voted 3rd best in Penticton. Our vote for Royal B&B would be 3 not 13! Thank you Barb for making our holiday so perfect!
Norm Fuchs

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Windy236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_BB, Owner at Royal Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Since the ratings with tripadvisor are directly connected to the number of reviews from guests, your effort in posting this review adds to the overall rating. So, thank you for your vote of confidence!

Penticton is a popular vacation spot and we enjoy sharing our part of this beautiful city with so many wonderful travelers that pass through. I'm so happy you felt at home in our house. Your gracious compliments are greatly appreciated.

Glad you enjoyed the breakfasts. I try to provide a variety of items on the daily menu, so as to give each of our guests an opportunity to have a great start to their day. And of course - being just a small B&B, we can take the time to ensure each meal is presented in an appealing way.

Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had the best time. Because we were meeting other family members from various locations we thought it would be good to have more home like circumstances to share time and space for visiting. We were so right. This was perfect. Gave us space yet togetherness, met all our needs and exceeded our expectations. Very comfortable, excellant value and we will definitely look to doing this again. Thanks Barb

Room Tip: Quiet location, exquisite mornings with lovely views and such great breakfasts, very comfortable. So welcoming
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalBarb, Owner at Royal Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Vacationing with family can present a challenge for some. I know I always appreciated accommodations for our family that gave us private sleeping quarters with a separate area for visiting. Therefore, we try to make our home "family friendly".

We believe that our Royal Suite provides families an opportunity to enjoy the B&B experience at a reasonable price. We are glad you enjoyed your time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I booked this Bed and Breakfast as a 2nd choice as my preferred option was not available. The rooms are better than many luxury hotels, large, well appointed and spotlessly clean, with lots of fluffy white towels and bathing robes. The lounge area was spacious. There were just 3 of us, and we had the place to ourselves but even if the other rooms were taken there would still be plenty of space. The view from one of the bedrooms, the lounge and the terrace is spectacular, overlooking both lakes and across to Naramata. There is also a lovely hot-tub, which we enjoyed using.
Barbara the host, was friendly and welcoming yet managed not to be intrusive. She was attentive to our needs and check to make sure all was good. She prepared really good breakfast, with fresh fruit and different kinds of eggs and baked goods, including scones, and frittata. She even managed to accommodate our need to leave early on the last day and served us a delightful early breakfast.

Free wireless, TV + cable and access to music and sound systems were all a bonus.
It is not the cheapest option but in terms of the cost, it was worth it but I could not always stretch to it, especially if I had been staying longer.

I know it is very difficult for them to accept refunds for cancellation, but perhaps they could consider allowing cancellation with refund or a percentage of the whole cost if one made contact before a 2 week deadline.

Altogether it made our weekend very special and enjoyable.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the garden is delightful, and has a door to the garden. The garage room is well appointed, with steam shower and jacuzzi bath and all very calming and peaceful but a little dark. However it has surround sound TV etc very comfortable
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill35dg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalBarb, Owner at Royal Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B. Observations from guests are always welcomed.

In response to your comment about our pricing. We have executive style one bedroom units with all the frills for travelers who want that to treat themselves to something special. Of course, in order to provide those extra perks you mentioned, it does cost a bit more than the standard room. On the other hand, we are pleased to be able to accommodate guests who have a tighter budget in our family suite. For example, had your party of three selected our two bedroom family unit, rather than two separate one bedroom suites, you would have saved almost $150 per night. You still would have enjoyed the same hot breakfast and overall ambiance enjoyed by the other guests.

Regarding our cancellation policy. We agree, in comparison to the large hotels, who only charge for 1 night if guests do not show up, our policy to keep the full cost of the reservation is quite brutal on anyone's pocket book. Once the reservation request has been accepted, we lock off the room to guarantee it is available for them. Since we only have 3 units, if one or more of our guests don't show up - we loose 33% of our nightly revenue. That is why we encourage our guests to be sure of their plans BEFORE they book their reservation.

Here's a tip for guests considering a stay at Royal B&B: Guests who book their reservation directly with the B&B, are subject to the policies stated on our company web page. So, guests who are able to inform us 10 days or more before their scheduled arrival that they have to cancel their stay receive 50 % of their deposit back. And if they are able to give 30 or more days notice, they are only subject to a $50 cancellation fee, When booking through a travel agent, or an online booking engine, there is no refund on deposits, therefore, we suggest guests consider trip cancellation insurance to cover the costs should an unforeseen occurrence require them to cancel their reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews