We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic and relaxing”
Review of Cedar Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Spring Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cedar Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Staying at the Cedar Beach Resort is a very rustic and relaxing experience. The resort itself is kept clean and safe. Shona and Gregor with help from a very dedicated and friendly crew(Stephanie) keep this place top notch. Three families came for a few days with a total of 8 children between them. The children were kept entertained from the minute they woke up to the minute they fell into their bunk beds without electronics. From the beach, pool, hot tub, baby park, small beach right to the dock to fish, they had a pick of activities.

Room Tip: I believe cabin 1 is the best one but cabin 7 has the best view. I would hesitate on picking any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank just_jackie_and_coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Well Thank you!
You and your group were a treat to host. I will forever remember the row of little faces lined up at the counter wishing me a "good morning Shona".
We are so happy everyone had a fabulous time. Guests like you and your friends make our job, not so "job" like. It was truly our pleasure to have you as our guests.
Please come and visit us again soon.

Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Went there with some friends and rented two cabins. Theirs was a stand alone cabin with two bedrooms and ours was a one bedroom above the pool and hot tub. Both were very clean and updated but small. Loved that canoes and paddle boats could be signed out with no trouble at no extra cost and the staff was friendly and accommodating.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Thank you so much for your input!
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come visit us again.

Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Situated on beautiful and tranquil St. Mary's Lake, Cedar Beach Resort is a great place to relax, unwind and experience the magical energy of Salt Spring Island.

Some of the cabins are rustic so as long as you're not expecting a "Hilton" experience you'll be fine. It's great to chill in the hot tub while the kids play on the beach.

We come here often and will be back!

Room Tip: Most of the cabins have a great view and all of them are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank spacehoggraphics_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Thank you so much for your kind words! It's so nice when our guests enjoy our rustic charm. September is a great time, the weather is still good but it's not as busy, hint hint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights, due to lack of campgrounds available on Salt Spring. Overall a bad experience. Our site was littered with cigarette butts, used dog poop bags, and food from previous campers. Beach area was COVERED in goose poop. Would never have let kids play there, and dogs are NOT ALLOWED on the beach.. Don't think I'd even let them play there either! Pool and hot tub looked to be in pretty terrible shape, and all the trailers & cottages seem very dirty and not well maintained.
If you are bringing your pets, the campground is not very dog friendly. We had 3 dogs, always tied up as per rules of campground. One dog broke off his lead and was wondering up to a dog being walked nearby, the lady shrieked and shrieked, probably waking the entire campground! Our dogs are all very friendly and are NO threat to anyone ever, the manager of campground later came by to ask what happened and acted as if our dog had eaten the other dog. He also blamed his colour (black) being what probably scared the other camper. We will not be returning to this campground ever again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chantael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Thank you for your valuable input. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit with us.
Please let me address some of your comments:
The site not being clean, we humbly apologize for and I will be speaking with my yard people. I have no excuse, thank you for bringing it to my attention. As for the trailers and cabins being "dirty" well, some of our cabins are quite old. Built in 1968, and we are on a stage 3 drought. One good wind storm really can make the place look a mess. Mother Nature does her own thing, the geese included. It is hard to stay ahead of them and the ducks and all the babies that visit the beach.The droppings are a constant battle,but getting to watch the babies hopefully helps soften the blow on constant clean up.
As for your dog. The other guest was quite scared. Your German Shepard ran at her and her pup hard enough to snap his lead! And he is a good sized dog, dark in colour and wolf like in appearance. Now I am an animal lover and I think I may have been nervous.I am sorry that you feel we are not pet friendly, we love animals. There are other guests in the Resort though, other guests may not be.
They aren't allowed in the lake because that is our water source, our drinking water.The local CRD mandates this rule.
I hope this helps clear up some issues for you.
Kindly,
Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Great experience, awesome people, epic scenery! :)
On-site managers were great, there was a hot tub, lovely scenery as it is right near the lake. Everyone was respectful of noise during late hours. Will definitely be back again. :)

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! It's a lovely place to visit, it's not too hard living here either. ;) We always enjoy have guests who love the Resort as much as we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
2.5 km away
The Cottages on Salt Spring Island
The Cottages on Salt Spring Isla...
#3 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
19 reviews
9.1 km away
Cusheon Lake Resort
Cusheon Lake Resort
#1 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
221 reviews
0.9 km away
Maple Ridge Cottages
Maple Ridge Cottages
#9 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Green Acres Lakeside Resort Salt Spring Island
Green Acres Lakeside Resort Salt...
#5 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
81 reviews
0.5 km away
Lakeshore on Salt Spring
Lakeshore on Salt Spring
#19 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
5 reviews
3.6 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ganges
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Beach Resort

Address: 1136 North End Rd, British Columbia V8K 1M1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Salt Spring Island
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Beach Resort is located on beautiful St. Mary Lake on Salt Spring Island, British Columbia. At our 5 acre resort, we have 17 cabins and suites as well as 23 fully serviced RV and camping sites. We have our own private, sandy beach right on the lake. Our heated, outdoor swimming pool (open mid-May to mid-September) and hot tub (open year round) offer fabulous lake views. The adjoining Beach House offers indoor and outdoor recreation space for our guests' enjoyment and is also suited for large group gatherings. An outdoor barbecue, bonfire and lakefront picnic tables are very popular features. The Resort offers an exceptional venue for family reunions, friends gatherings, and small group weddings. All of our cabins and suites are fully furnished, with cooking facilities. Some units offer such up to date amenities as televisions with cable or DVD players and propane BBQ's while others retain the feel of a rustic cabin in the forest without all the urban elements. We have a men's and a ladies' washrooms in the RV / campground area with complimentary hot showers. A fully equipped handicap washroom adjoins the main washrooms. All of our sites have water, sewer, and power (30 amp service). As a family oriented resort, you can enjoy the frivolity during the day and the peacefulness of the night. We are OPEN year round,come and enjoy the Island during the off seasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Beach Hotel Salt Spring Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing